You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Hot and Cold of Hive

in OCD3 years ago

I like that thirds perspective you mentioned. I don't think i have ever heard of that before and it makes a great deal of sense as far as expectation is concerned. I never really considered 'social capital' before until this thought-provoking post here. It made me realize the naivety of my way of thinking. I come from a land and ideal where your word is your bond. Not that i trust everyone to give their word or honor it... but since that's how i roll, i guess i took for granted giving benefits of doubts. I can't expect people to be honest... i guess i just hope they will be. I try to wear my heart on my sleeve... and i know some folks don't have a heart or if they do it's black and withered.

Social Capital could be false... but i tend to think of this quote by William J. Groo, "You can fool all the people part of the time, or you can fool some people all the time, but you cannot fool all people all the time." I would think a person couldn't be bullshittin' up close and personal forever. Real connections have truly been the currency of this blockchain experimental experience. In many ways it has shortcomings but i have been blessed to connect with folks from all over the world i genuinely consider to be my friends (rather i like them or not! hahaha)

Even where i come from, a word is no longer much of a bond except among those that are made of the fabric of ideals and values from times past. It's sad that trust is at an all-time low these days. The folks of ingratitude, like what you mentioned, are probably the same ones that feel entitled to say or do whatever gets them the greatest profit and popularity. Before i start going too far on a ranting tangent... i will stop here. This one got me thinking... so thank you for that. Hope you get and stay warm and get to feelin' better bro!

Sort:  

I come from a land and ideal where your word is your bond. Not that i trust everyone to give their word or honor it

I think the Nordics value this a lot, so they develop a lot of social trust, but have very small circles of friends to keep it trusted. I also think that this creates the enduring relationships people have here from child to death.

I would think a person couldn't be bullshittin' up close and personal forever.

Precisely. Which is why there are so many lonely "personal branders" out there. The best bet and my approach is to be as authentic as I can be. It doesn't mean spilling every detail, but it does mean being honest in what is spilled.

In relation to the thirds rule, this means that an authentic person will attract the correct third for who they are, not the third that thinks they are someone else. This means that without having to be fake, support is honest support and not based on lies. I take the same approach going into relationships of any kind. If I want a partner who loves "me" - I can't be someone else when the relationship starts. The problem is that many people desire unsuitable people and look to impress them by being someone else and then wonder why down the track the "you changed" statement arrives.

In many ways it has shortcomings but i have been blessed to connect with folks from all over the world i genuinely consider to be my friends

And this is the result of authenticity and by extension, social experience and quality of interaction.

From a blockchain perspective, I am hoping that for example a web of trust system can replicate and scale out to larger groups, by helping build relationship bridges through the acknowledgement of past relationships in some kind of algorithm to trust.