You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Most Original Title You've Seen in Your Feed All Day

in OCD3 years ago

Yeah, I don't know if I could be civil to someone after they said shit like that. Belgians. You ever read Heart of Darkness? Coppola just moved the setting from the Belgian Congo to Vietnam to make Apocalypse Now.

I had a 'friend' that once greeted me with "you dumb, ignorant, redneck hillbilly". . . so I kicked the shit out of him. Couldn't have him string together that many stereotypes and leave out violent. . . he never said anything like that to me again either :D

I still think we should go back to calling condoms prophylactics. I found an old box of them that my grandfather had been selling in his store (circa 1960s) labelled thusly and my friend that was with me had no clue what they even were.

Sort:  

Yeah, he even said "the." Never ok context. That's how white he is. Before I forget, thanks for the update on Nagdy.

Is red neck offensive? I've used that one a lot but I'm always referring to a farmer--non overall changin type, southern drawl talkin, straw chewin, chaw spittin farmer.

I have not read that book. Each time you recommend a read I pay attention. Should that be my next book? C'mon man.. make it count. Which one?

Heard of Darkness, nah, it's interesting but not that interesting. I read it because I love Apocalypse Now.

Redneck isn't offensive, although some people try and use it that way. That and hillbilly are ones that kinda depend on context. I think of the UMWA and the battle of blair mountain when I think of redneck.