Creating a positive social beginning.

in OCD3 years ago

Life, the Univers and Almost Everything thumbnail_1.png
In my first post I introduced LUAE and one of the points of human nature I alluded to that has a profound detrimental impact has to do with the fundamental nature of human societies. Every human society that has ever existed, so far as we can tell from history, has practiced a form of exclusion. This practice will always devolve into conflict over time.

This practice stems from an unconscious twist to personal and social identity. As a matter of wanting to feel ‘accepted’ we tend to ally ourselves with certain social groups. These groups take an arbitrary set of characteristics as identifiers to say “this is who we are”, and say that those who conform to the standard are accepted. Those who do not meet the standard are not accepted. This creates a practice of exclusion and one of oppression also.

Because every person is unique no one can ever meet such a standard, particularly an arbitrary one, 100%. It simply is not humanly possible. Furthermore, in order to conform to such a standard it is guaranteed with total certainty that an individual will have to suppress some trait or traits in order to achieve conformity. This is a repression / oppression of the true identity of the individual in favor of the group identity. We can see this behavior most clearly in the common social practices of highschool age adolescents. One only needs to consider the prevalence of conflict, bullying and the emotional trauma that these youth struggle with to get a clear picture of how this issue ultimately causes strife in our societies. It is also worth noting that only a small number of the group members almost invariably cause the conflicts.

If our objective is to create a genuinely inclusive society that is far less hampered by conflict than our current state of affairs, we need to find a new standard upon which to base that community. In my introduction post I noted that, in order for our social evolution project to work it would be essential that we all accept the Kingdom of Ends as a prime axiom to our interactions and work. This principle mandates unconditional acceptance and that we each receive the same in turn. It is only through making this our common practice that we can achieve real social advancement, justice and positive progression. Clear, concise and objective communication is needed to create a common ground of understanding upon which we can build.

With that the floor is open. Best wishes to all.

Sincerely,
Jeff G.

Blessed Be

Sort:  

Congratulations @cowboyphylosophy! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the April 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2021 - Hive Power Delegation

One only needs to consider the prevalence of conflict, bullying and the emotional trauma that these youth struggle with to get a clear picture of how this issue ultimately causes strife in our societies.

I experienced bullying both in elementary school and in middle school. Both my classmates and some of my schoolmates bullied me. Both physically and verbally. The bullying in the elementary school was almost constant from the beginning of the school to the end of the school. The middle school was a little bit different. At one point, I had enough of the bullying, and I became a private student in middle school, and I finished it as a private student.

I'm sorry to hear of your experience in school, xplosive. Children are much like chickens... they have a pecking order. The one with biggest attitude wins, and the more timid and mild-mannered ones become targets. I know because I had onion skin (i.e. extremely thin-skinned). I experienced some bullying in Jr. High, too, although not as badly as you did. My low self-esteem was what made me a target. One of the most liberating experiences of my life, though, was when I found out years later in college that the girl who bullied me had had a "rough home life". Amazingly, the instant I read those words (in a letter from a friend) her bullying made perfect sense to me and all of my hatred for her evaporated.

I think it's important to distinguish that in this context "unconditional acceptance" does not necessarily require that one agree with, understand or like everyone else. It just means that pursuant to the Kingdom of Ends, everyone must acknowledge and respect everyone else's right to be who they are and hold their opinions without feeling the need to shame, bully or otherwise coerce them into changing - or "cancelling" them in the current vernacular. I think a lot of people miss that and think "unconditional acceptance" means you have to agree with and like everyone.