You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Creating a positive social beginning.

in OCD3 years ago

I'm sorry to hear of your experience in school, xplosive. Children are much like chickens... they have a pecking order. The one with biggest attitude wins, and the more timid and mild-mannered ones become targets. I know because I had onion skin (i.e. extremely thin-skinned). I experienced some bullying in Jr. High, too, although not as badly as you did. My low self-esteem was what made me a target. One of the most liberating experiences of my life, though, was when I found out years later in college that the girl who bullied me had had a "rough home life". Amazingly, the instant I read those words (in a letter from a friend) her bullying made perfect sense to me and all of my hatred for her evaporated.