You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Your only guaranteed returns on Hive are those of your Hive Power APR

in OCD2 years ago

The point is to be true to yourself first and then to your followers or other curators.

Service to self and service to others are both integral to obtain actual fulfillment.


I know that in the past I have fit into the mold for many of the tactics you’ve mentioned in this post. Each time that I’ve misstepped, I’ve awakened to the fact that I was being lazy, ungrateful, etc. Looking back at those times it’s a mixture of embarrassment and thankfulness to have been able to learn those lessons.

I can admit that I used to desperately crank out content on ocassion, knowing that the autovotes would come. Most of the autovotes have died off for me, but I remain hopeful about it all because I know that if I’m manually curating everyday, so are others. This way of using our accounts feels a million times more rewarding than posting something decent and nobody caring to comment about it, yet rewards were a plenty after 7 days thanks to automation.

I actually feel a desire to post daily now, not a need necessarily. I’ve got a family beach trip coming up next month and I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to film/edit/post daily videos while gone. After reading this, I think it may be okay for me to just take that week off from posting and then get back to it when I come back home. That would honestly be the best for me to actually enjoy my trip. I don’t think people will forget about me in just a week’s time, at least I hope not.

Sort:  

Well written and very humble! I think when people are not afraid to talk to you about what could be described as 'difficult stuff' (I read some of the recent discourse) it means they care more than anything else.

Enjoy your holiday, whack a few Liketu out. Everyone likes to see smiley faces :-)

We are lucky anytime somebody decides to care about us, it's far easier to only care about yourself. So even when it stings a bit, it's better to suffer a tiny bit of pain in order to grow and become better at whatever the subject may be.

Thanks! I'm very excited. I will get to see my only brother for the first time in months. Here lately all we get to do is play PS5 together online, I guess that is better than nothing though.

I'm sure you'll get better autovotes in the future if you keep it up, and not those in exchange for your vote. But yeah since I knew what you've been up to in the past it was hard to ignore your intentions the last few months which is why I brought it up in the first place, I think I downvoted one of your low effort posts and upvoted another that was better and had less rewards. If only autovotes were smarter. But you can see the value in manual curation there and I'm glad to hear you are enjoying it, we need more of that stake being used that way and downvotes can also help disincentivize bad autovotes.

Your decisions are logical. I need to be less stringent on how often I downvote content. As of now it’s fairly rare.

D4718107-8581-434C-BC91-288AB97A846C.gif

🤝