You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Am I ruining my manual curation?

in OCD2 years ago

I was just going through some of my lists on PeakD today to see if any of my favorite accounts had stopped posting. I found so many users that have seemingly just disappeared. It's pretty sad to witness. People like @lowlifevzla08, @nioberojas, @enderlouis, and countless other users. A lot of these people were super dedicated and got to create great content that I could tell they were passionate about. Some were even being heavily rewarded consistently. Yet they still left. Even with all of that support, there has to sometimes be a bigger reason for their absence.

I imagine something else is going on in their life that they haven't made public. That or they just don't have the drive to continue producing stellar work and giving up is far easier than grinding. That's the only way I can see why for instance, somebody who lives in a country where money is scarce, would ever give up the potential to earn Hive rewards because it could be what puts their next meal on the table. Plus, this job is so much better than most regular jobs. I'd have to be forced due to stop doing this, but maybe that's just me.

The crappiest thing about it is, that I don't really have any ways to contact most of these people outside of Hive. I would love to send them a reminder that they are missed within the community. Maybe it would reignite their love for creating. Sadly, the best I can do is comment on one of their posts and hope that they see it at some point, which is unlikely since they are never active anymore.

This makes me wonder if there is any type of weekly Hive newsletter that gets sent out to an email list of all users. As long as we had an option to join the list when creating an account, rather than being forced to provide an email and opt-in. I think that a newsletter about Hive that could reach those users that haven't been on Hive in a while would be a great way to get people who left to come back. Of course, now that they are already gone it would be difficult to get them on the said list... but I think something like this would be good to keep more people around in the future and prevent these sudden disappearances, or at least shorten them from forever to a week or so.

Sort:  

Hi @daltono
This was unexpected, I didn't think I would be missed around here.
I had a couple of problems that stopped me from posting in the last few weeks, and I needed to earn some money to solve them.
My internet connection went down (and the phone too!) a few months ago and I had to switch internet providers.
Last week we found a fiber optic company and here I am, ready to post again. I was taking pictures and creating art during those days, so be prepared to see me every other day haha.
Thank you so much for this, I really appreciate it.

This is wonderful news that you will finally be back! I look forward to seeing some new work from you.