Am I ruining my manual curation?

in OCD2 years ago

I got a @hivebuzz message the other day notifying me that I've reached a new milestone with the amount of votes cast at 115k. I used to be proud of that number cause with this account I've always curated manually.

Curation is such a word with many meanings on Hive, but what it meant to me and to this account was that I'd read or at least try to read the whole post, though I'd be lying I didn't some times not read all of it and some times just glance at the post before casting a vote. There's that reputation factor there, you don't have to read everything of a certain author in your feed to trust that he's not abusing Hive in any way at a certain point. Either way, the reason I liked the amount of votes I've cast is because I've also not missed many days of curation throughout my years on this chain, knowing they've all been manual, none been any of those small votes splattered all over the chain that some like to do, but each with some impact and strength behind it. So the author knew I've read the post and cast my vote and it having been done manual.

There's this thing with manual votes I've been thinking about lately, in some ways it's great, actually in many ways, but there are a few aspects of it you wish you did some auto votes or a hybrid version of it. Not many but those times you wish you had it set up that way really hurt after finding out certain things. There have been certain authors who I really enjoyed the content of and was happy to see them posting on Hive and welcomed them nicely with some votes early on and a follow. As time went on and they were authors who wouldn't post that often, only when they really had something amazing to show and the content took a long time to be created they would post. Due to me being stubborn about voting manually it just so happened that I'd miss them from my feed every now and then and when I'd look those authors up after some time wondering what happened I'd see them having posted a few more times after my upvotes, commented a bit here and there but then stopped which made me wonder that if I had autovotes on those certain authors, would they have continued posting? Would they have stuck around to find what else Hive has to offer them? Did my initial bigger upvotes discourage them when the upvotes stopped?

Curation has gotten a lot better these days and moments like those are why we at @ocd focus on newcomers and retention.

Lately I've been weakening the meaning behind my manual votes, they're still being done manual but I've shifted quite a lot of focus towards the @poshtoken comments to reward sharers with Hive rewards. The process is basically I go to the comments of the account and scroll all the way down to where I last was, give the tweets some time to age and then open 10-30 in new tabs and go through to see how the tweets did. As you can imagine with 300-500 daily tweets this is quite some work and might get quite dull at times as it is so repetitive. So over time you start getting a bit bored and tired and start just casting votes from the comments directly if you see a username that sounds familiar and you have a slight memory that he usually does well with his tweets.

It's something I realize needs to get done, though, because driving traffic to our front-ends which could result in new users from the twitter sphere is important for a social media platform trying to take over the evil giants. My question with the post title is that now, to be able to cover as many tweets as possible and maybe even give some "participation rewards" to certain accounts for trying, I've had to lower my upvotes quite a lot so my mana wouldn't get drained beyond the point of recovery. There was this one time I went through a whole week's worth of poshtokens in one day and my mana went from 90% to 12%. I've also delegated the stake of @ocdb while its powering down over to this account just to manage my voting power a bit better and make my 1-2% upvotes worth a bit more. (Don't worry, our payout bot notices the delegation and deduces it from the amount that ocdb gets from its stake so I'm not "cheating" delegators out of rewards this way, although I will have to undelegate it soon due to the powerdown needing a restart which won't let me delegate it back until it starts earning the HP yet again.)

Anyway, what I mean with weaken is that my amount of votes is now going up a lot faster than in the past and I'm one of those users who I usually didn't appreciate as they seemed to just spam the chain with tiny votes trying to cover as many users as possible. Or possibly just avoiding getting penalized if certain posts got downvotes or they just figured doing that gives them a higher APY, who knows. At the same time it has also cost the users I follow some curation by focusing on poshtoken. Dunno, just feels iffy to be doing 300+ votes per day even though I know that the outcome could be amazing if we had a lot more users sharing their content onto Twitter and due to the upvotes and the way they earn POSH tokens attempt to formulate their tweets properly to gain a wider reach which all results in more attention to Hive, of course.

I've also been thinking of a way to automate it, maybe instead of @poshtoken just autovoting content creators who have been curated and whitelisted who have _earned posh in the past is not enough. Maybe we could create a smart bot that would also upvote the comments depending on who the receivers of the rewards are and other factors in the equation such as maybe followers on Hive x followers on Twitter x amount of likes received x amount of retweets received x posh earned so far, etc. That'd be quite an equation and I wonder as I'm writing this if it's even possible or feasible, @rishi556 may start to hate me more soon as I've already made his life harder considering how complex posh has already become in the backend.

Maybe some of you reading this would have some cool ideas on how to automate that rewarding process? I also wonder if that would get the poshtoken account some more delegations in exchange for POSH, though I'm also wondering if we should tweak the way the issuance works to favor delegators a bit more as every hive/hbd it earns will stay with the account and only be used to further evolve and grow POSH.

Oh well, trying to post a bit more often now and this was something I had in mind today. Hope ya'll are doing well during these markets, I know it can be tough for many here and in general things are going well in your lives. I watched some football today and was surprised to see Arsenal lose. I'm kind of looking forward to the world of warcraft wrath of the lich king classic expansion to be released and might create some content around it. If I find the time for it of course as most other things I do is and will be surrounding Hive. That's how it is, though, I think there are more and more people figuring out that a lot of their daily lives and activities can be spent on Hive as there's a wide range of things one can do here nowadays. Although I some times wish me and others would spend less time on Discord and more time directly engaging with others on chain.

Anyway, chain you later!

Sort:  

okay so I read through most of your post, except the last 2 columns. Id like to give a reply before your comment feed get spammed by the thousands.

I'm sorry to say that I cant think of a creative way to automate the rewarding process or well at-least your rewarding system. I would say you can curate a small amount on what the other curators are curating on ( I hope that makes sense) But if you do that youd only end up giving a small group bigger upvotes and not really spreading your votes across more people.. I dunno seems pointless..

The matter where you refer to people maybe leaving or not posting as often after getting big upvotes, that factor might be true or it might be false..
Yes people get discouraged especially when they really put in effort to make a post/article good. I myself get discouraged from time to time, but the point is not to make something great in order to get great rewards? or is it? I mean its nice getting rewarded. I get a good up-vote here and there and then I have a few weak one's .. more than often weak rewards.

None the less I'm trying to post regularly even though I was away from Hive for a long time shortly after the hardfork happened with steemit, why I went away I really cant remember. But im back now sharing daily stuff I do and some noob photography... What makes it more fun is that I also attracted my life partner @misshugo to Hive which makes it I dunno? It makes it more enjoyable being able to write stories and share stuff together (Again I hope that makes sense)

Although being rewarded is very nice. But what I would like to experience more is actual and genuine interaction with people and so far there were only a hand full of people that actually provided meaning full interaction and genuine conversations such as @futuremind @meesterboom @erikah and @bertrayo @jesustiano (Apologies for mentioning you here) I really cant think of more people? The rest gave of that feeling of saying something nice just for an upvote on a comment.

Anyway that's my little piece of useless input.

I've had interesting conversation with @futuremind and @anttn. And some others here and there. The interaction means a lot to me. Anyone can give a short and useless comment, but there are a few who truly wants to have a conversation. I abandoned social media due to the fact that everything became one sided. And so far I'm enjoying the interaction, even if it's just from a few peeps.

I was just going through some of my lists on PeakD today to see if any of my favorite accounts had stopped posting. I found so many users that have seemingly just disappeared. It's pretty sad to witness. People like @lowlifevzla08, @nioberojas, @enderlouis, and countless other users. A lot of these people were super dedicated and got to create great content that I could tell they were passionate about. Some were even being heavily rewarded consistently. Yet they still left. Even with all of that support, there has to sometimes be a bigger reason for their absence.

I imagine something else is going on in their life that they haven't made public. That or they just don't have the drive to continue producing stellar work and giving up is far easier than grinding. That's the only way I can see why for instance, somebody who lives in a country where money is scarce, would ever give up the potential to earn Hive rewards because it could be what puts their next meal on the table. Plus, this job is so much better than most regular jobs. I'd have to be forced due to stop doing this, but maybe that's just me.

The crappiest thing about it is, that I don't really have any ways to contact most of these people outside of Hive. I would love to send them a reminder that they are missed within the community. Maybe it would reignite their love for creating. Sadly, the best I can do is comment on one of their posts and hope that they see it at some point, which is unlikely since they are never active anymore.

This makes me wonder if there is any type of weekly Hive newsletter that gets sent out to an email list of all users. As long as we had an option to join the list when creating an account, rather than being forced to provide an email and opt-in. I think that a newsletter about Hive that could reach those users that haven't been on Hive in a while would be a great way to get people who left to come back. Of course, now that they are already gone it would be difficult to get them on the said list... but I think something like this would be good to keep more people around in the future and prevent these sudden disappearances, or at least shorten them from forever to a week or so.

Hi @daltono
This was unexpected, I didn't think I would be missed around here.
I had a couple of problems that stopped me from posting in the last few weeks, and I needed to earn some money to solve them.
My internet connection went down (and the phone too!) a few months ago and I had to switch internet providers.
Last week we found a fiber optic company and here I am, ready to post again. I was taking pictures and creating art during those days, so be prepared to see me every other day haha.
Thank you so much for this, I really appreciate it.

This is wonderful news that you will finally be back! I look forward to seeing some new work from you.

Manual curation Is the best way of enjoy this network, usually you Select your favorite contents AND read this or enjoy the photos, but sometimes Is Hard because we do not have the time for do it.

Yeah, I think 10-11 votes per day is a good number and there are some projects around these days where one could quickly cast a few votes if they don't have the time to curate but want to keep it manual that would go towards the betterment of the platform. Hint: poshtoken posts :p

but also things like hbd.funder comments that go towards helping stabilise hbd and send back funds to the DHF.

I have a couple of autos set up, but not many. I think all up, my account has probably handed out 500-1000 auto votes, but similarly to you, I have 100K+ now, so I don't feel too bad about it.

I don't have great ideas for automating, but I understand the need for it when it comes to these kinds of initiatives.

Posh caught my eye, haha, I started a small business reselling clothes this year- ApparelzNY - and my biggest platform is called Poshmark. Poshing has become a regular term for me, but I imagine the two are not related- what does the token do?

It stands for proof of sharing. Basically when you take a hive link and share it in a tweet along with the hive tag you can earn tokens and hive depending on how well the tweet does. it's an attempt to drive more traffic and possibly new users to our frontends.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @papilloncharity ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

I always swore up and down that I would "only curate manually," but some months back I went to more of a :hybrid" system... basically as a result of not having the time on my hands I once had. These days I have to put more time into income producing activities, meaning I have less time for Hive.

I feel a bit sad about that, remembering days when I'd sometimes leave 30-40 comments (in the style of this one) across the network. But the cost of living keeps rising, and my income as a self-employed individual is stagnant to declining, and while Hive is nice I can't pass it off as a "part time job," only as a chance to squirrel away a few dollars to long term savings.

With some reluctance I went to auto-curating a list of some 50-ish favorite Hiveans IF, and only IF my voting power goes above 95%. So the auto-votes ae only activated sporadically. I saw that as a way to still give out a bit, and gain a bit from curation, on days when I simply can't find the time to contribute otherwise... but it still leaves plenty "in the tank" for manual engagement. Is it perfect? Hells, no... but it's better than nothing.

I like that idea! Thanks! I am always out of voting power!

I think you should look as alternatives to manual healing those projects that are emerging, I have little time in hive and of these great projects I decided to delegate and as I increase my hp will be growing investment in delegation because I think that although my voting power joins with others and make a giant power, it is difficult to make manual healing, but to support with a small amount of votes knowing that they are responsible in their work and make as much effort as you would do, that is better than leaving your automatic votes assigned to certain people when healing projects as they will give you more and better use, being meticulous in the selection and trying to do that work that is now uphill for you.
With so little time on the platform, I stumbled upon a hispapro hispanic project, which is given the task of working daily doing what it can in this part of the world to promote hive, support each of the users has three live programs, there guides people on how to make quality publications, recently implemented a project called hispaup which is to make a pot between all with a hive makes a draw and the winner is empowered, is a way to grow the power of Vito of users and reinvest in your account, but support is always needed, it would be good if those manual publications could be delegated in a percentage so that others can do a little of their work, and that they do it from their heart, those who believe that it is worth investing time, support new accounts, guide them in the publications, truly that support from you would be fundamental, to grow and evolve ideas that capture more users but also to support them in the growth and learning through their first publications.

yo pienso que deben buscar como alternativas de curaciones manuales esos proyectos que están surgiendo, tengo poco tiempo en hive y de estos grandes proyecto decidí delegar y en la medida que aumento mi hp va a ir creciendo la inversión en delegación porque creo que aunque mi poder de voto se une con otros y hacen un poder gigante, es difícil hacer curaciones manuales, pero apoyar con una pequeña cantidad de votos sabiendo que ellos son responsables en su trabajo y se esfuerzan tanto como lo harían ustedes, eso es mejor que dejar asignados sus votos automáticos a ciertas personas cuando los proyectos de curación pues le darán mayor y mejor uso, siendo meticuloso en la selección y tratando de hacer ese trabajo que ahora es cuesta arriba para ustedes.
Con tan poco tiempo en la plataforma, me tropecé con un proyecto hispano hispapro, que se da la tarea de trabajar a diario haciendo lo que puede en esta parte del mundo para promocionar a hive, apoyarlo a cada uno de los usuarios tiene tres programas en vivo, allí orienta a la personas a como hacer publicaciones de calidad, implementó recientemente un proyecto llamado hispaup que es hacer un pote entre todo con un hive hace un sorteo y el ganador se le potencia el poder, es una manera de hacer crecer el poder de Vito de los usuarios y de reinvertir en tu cuenta, pero el apoyo siempre hace falta, sería bueno, que esas publicaciones manuales pudieran delegarlas en un porcentaje para que otros puedan hacer un poquito de su trabajo, y que lo hagan de corazón, esos que creen que si vale la pena invertir tiempo, apoyar cuentas nuevas, orientarlos en las publicaciones, de verdad que un apoyo de parte de ustedes sería fundamental, para crecer y evolucionar ideas que capten más usuarios pero también que los apoyen en el crecimiento y aprendizaje a través de sus primeras publicaciones.

I wouldn't worry about potentially being the reason for someone not sticking around on chain to be fair, lots of people have things going on in their own lives, and the reason for them not posting after a while could be anything, like losing their keys, getting burnt out, being anxious about posting, forgetting about the platform, spending so long away that they felt they couldn't come back. I'm a bit of an over-thinker though, so maybe it was your fault haha

Also, I heard about the WoW classic remake.. re-release.. old release, made new? But I haven't gotten onto it yet, I used to love that game so I think I might get on and check it out! Funny though, over the years I've played so many MMORPG's but, I've never actually max leveled a character, I'm close in Guild Wars 2 though.

!PIZZA

So the author knew I've read the post and cast my vote and it having been done manual.

I remember at first I thought that the big upvote meant a curator read the post (I'd even try to track down a post of theirs to say thank you, which in several cases put me in posts over a year old 😂)

I'll try to think on the Posh thing, but the math would give me a headache! Is this only for Twitter? Before I started focusing so much on Hive, I used to share my Hive links on a Twitter style crypto site. It did get a few good members :) ...

This post has been manually curated by the VYB curation project

It's only on twitter for now. :p

Still doesn't stop me from bringing them in though :) ... But I must admit that I really should use my neglected Twitter account more 😂

!PIZZA

I think ordinarily, users should not get too disturbed or discouraged if upvotes does not the way it used to. Maybe I am only talking relative to how I was taught too - that I should just keep on with quality contents and engagements, I'd be noticed somehow. Also, newbies should be told that everyday ain't Christmas too.

Manual curation for people with high upvotes like you will be quite tasking. Sometime ago when I was scrolling through @lazy-panda curated posts. At times when I post to the Hive learners community, it may take days before I get curated. But I understand that the handler may not be more than a person and it has to be done manually after the MODs have read the posts. And they themselves are not machines either..😅

I believe anything can be automated. So for that idea you mentioned, somehow it can be done. We just do not know yet or you have not met with more people concerning it yet..

And I think it is high time I came on board this posh-twitter of a thing!

I think a more fun way to do manual curation is to see how traffic from the outside comes into HIVE, and vote on that content. That means people need to write those big-ticket posts that are medium articles picked up by various news outlets that then drive hundreds or thousands of clicks to a source.

Have we had such an event on chain yet? If so, what will be that event?

Manual curation is the most sincere way to connect with the content creator, drinking from the source directly. But, we cannot ignore that it is a time-consuming process. From my side I think that a curation mixed between automatic and manual, is the most feasible... An automatic curation with authors with whom you have developed links, could offer an extra time of "freedom". Time that you can use to remember that you also have a life "outside Hive"... I am sure that after a deserved enjoyment, you will bring a fresh solution.

Note: Translation made with Google Translate. My mother tongue is Spanish.


La curación manual es la manera más sincera de conectar con el creador de contenido, beber de la fuente directamente. Pero, no podemos obviar que es un proceso que consume tiempo. Desde mi lado pienso que una curación mezclada entre automatica y manual, es lo más factible... Una curación automática con autores con los que has desarrollado vínculos, podría ofrecer un tiempo extra de "libertad". Tiempo que puedes usar para recordar que tienes una vida también "fuera de Hive"... Segura estoy que luego de un disfrute merecido, traerás una solución fresca.

I still believe manual curation is the real reward. And if it comes with appreciative constructive feedback.

For me and some of my friend, you are one of our role model in hive community. It doesn't matter manual or auto, getting upvote from you will make my whole day happier and us to better in future. 😊😊😊

Lol, even a role model is happy to hear about some suggestions/opinions/ideas of their fans from time to time. :)

I think the development that Poshtoken is doing is already great and @rishi556 is doing a really great job with it. I have no idea how this can be automated. But I will think about it.
I didn't watch Arsenal's game but I was surprised when I saw the result. I was expecting at least a draw. I also enjoy seeing your game posts. Last time you made a game post in Wow when you tried something 100 times and it was fun to watch.

Although manually curation is good to pick best of all and reward their efforts, but from what you said you have many project and now that your focus is on posh that will be a difficult to come regularly and do manual curation. But I suggest you should do this " Do your research on authors that provide good quality of content to the chain by adding them for curation automatically weekly, at least 40 per week. Those authors you add will have your upvote on any content published that week. Then after, you can add another set of people for another week and get them curated too.

At least with that you can reach and spread your vote across many people that create quality post

I always believed in manual curation because it has a way of making you to screen the post you are voting on whether at that particular time it qualify to your standard of voting at that particular time or not. But when it depends on large voting, one can make use of automatic curation but I believe automatic curation must be to provide who you really trust that they always create quality content per time

That's interesting. I still haven't got the hold of all the things I can achieve through Posh, but at least I know I'm getting more traffic in my Hive content.

About the last bit, I'd absolutely love watching some Wrath of the Lich King content. That's the only expansion of WoW I ever played and those raids at Icecrown were one of the best things I remember doing during my gaming addiction. 😂

I feel like at your level, a manual curation should be like when they have the manager or brand ambassador sign the label of the product.

I also feel missing out on upvotes should not stop people from posting. Anytime I see people stop posting here, they slowly start posting somewhere else where they earn nothing. There is this mentality that if you post on hive, you lose some respect because the monetary value of your post is out for the world to see. Might be a me thing but I'm trying to lose that mentality.

More power to your backend developer. Developers are the real problem solvers. I wish I had passion for the field or time...

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
killerwot tipped acidyo (x1)
@wrestlingdesires(8/15) tipped @acidyo (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

I really appreciate your afford. You are doing a great job here

Those who don't abuse Hive time or anything else can be upvoted. Manual curation is a very important part of Hive blog. You have achieved a new milestone which is really commendable and 115K vote cast means a huge amount of achievement. Good luck to you.

Interesting and congratulations for voting value 115 k reached

Thanks so much for your great support, especially to the younger ones in the system.

Sharing Hive posts on other social media is very important. And please sir, can the sharing be extended to other social media platforms like Facebook and not limited to only Twitter?