Gather'ound Everyone Let's Bring it in For Group Exercise in 3.... 2....

in OCD3 years ago

Ever compare yourself to another content producer and it progresses to a virtual competition inside your mind and your mind only until you're monitoring rewards like a scoreboard: "Yes! I'm in the lead!" or "Dammit! I lost!"

Me either, it was rhetorical

I'd periodically remind journeymen working for me 'each of you are better than me at something.' 10 of us together, nothing we can't accomplish. Individually, I can't say the same. It was my job to determine where they excelled and adjust job assignments accordingly. One of my best strategies in management was to partner the bull in a China hutch together with the meticulous craftsman who can't sleep unless their T's are crossed identically in length, shape, size, and color.

Individually the two work against me. The bull in the China hutch is the hand capable of destroying everything in their path using nothing more than a No.2 pencil without incident. The job won't be pretty, but it'll be complete in record time whereas the meticulous hand can spend all day programming one occupancy sensor but it'll be perfect! Most reliable occupancy sensor ever programmed. Individually, they're a liability. Together, regardless of intentions, they're incapable of making me appear anything less than genius.

They did all the work, earned the reward and gratification the instant that turbine conducts energy. The fellas caught their beer tab that night. By consistently identifying individual talents and bringing them together in one place where they would've otherwise been discarded or unnoticed, management enjoys comfortable retirement 20 years before their peers.

When I look at Hive with that same strategy instead of a one-sided virtual competition that only I'm aware of, I like what I see. Unlike leaches and pharmacies, we're prodigious.

30C4ADDE-FADE-455E-A9A0-7A3A9EBA0E81.jpeg

I wouldn't flip a u-turn at my earliest opportunity to go back and snap a photo if the joint said Leach. And it's no different than any other pharmacy if all it said was Pharmacy. Together, regardless of whatever the hell they got goin on in there, Leach Pharmacy made the cover.

Not that you would, that isn't what I'm suggesting, but should you find yourself comparing content of another producer around here against your own 🛑 stop. It's bad for morale. If it was just your content here, we were over it a long time ago. If it was just their content here, we were over it a long time ago. Variety is our strength. Wallet balances are proof.

We're not a platform with countless accounts across the globe who claim to be registered strictly to stay in contact with family, "I hardly go on there anymore." We're not a platform so engulfed in celebrity lives we're an unnoticed number amongst 10's of millions of numbers who share likes because Paris got a new Louis bag.

Hive's different. We can't be censored or worse. We're an Arts & Entertainment community who isn't countless, a lot of us have been here going on four and five years. Not too long ago there were roughly 10,000 active accounts and I wouldn't be surprised if that number has since doubled.

Any food recipe you can think of you'll find here. Jokes, education, comedy, the entertainment of your choice is here—everything. Outdoorsy type stuff, indoorsy type stuff, check and check! DIY, music, travel, it's a long list. Graphic design and art, farming tips like harvesting your own maple syrup, off-grid life stuff, up-to-date cryptocurrency information, non-financial advice, it's all here. Whatever you can think of.

It's what separates us from the others. Humans are competitive by nature, anyone who says they enjoy losing either isn't human or can't be trusted. But next time you're disappointed or discouraged because your content gained 'x attention' and so-in-so got 'y attention' 🛑 stop. Stop comparing yourself to other content producers, you're better than them at something—your time will come.

But in the rare event (happens to the best of us) you're running low on ideas that tip the scale toward positive thoughts in your mind and your mind only in respect to fellow producers, I've noted a few alternative thoughts worth considering. :cheers:

  • You fuckin suck! (Kidding!! This felt a little heavy on the serious side)
  • High earners attract attention to your content. Without them, your own following wouldn't be what it is.
  • Trending figures attracted you in the first place.
  • Comparing yourself to a virtual personality is like comparing yourself to a physical personality only worse and a lot more childish.
  • You've evolved by learning from them.
  • Jealousy's exhausting. Try getting to know that producer and see what all the buzz is about. You might be surprised.
  • "Congratulations!" (It holds more weight)
  • Only you think that. A mental competition too embarrassing to discuss publicly isn't worth thinking about anywhere 🛑 stop.
  • Days of purchasing attention are over, producers leading the platform today earned it.
  • I asked nicely and only dropped one curse word the whole time.

9B13E162-1A27-427A-8E52-B77024044B63.jpeg
Thoughts Worth Considering

FAC9D1F02A3847C8B80EA048A93E898A.jpeg

Sort:  

Could not have said it better.... "Those here for illegal purpose...."

Stop comparing yourself to other content producers, you're better than them at something—your time will come.

Best way to learn is to read, watch and ask questions if really stuck in the doldrums, most have done that, some faster and lot still plodding along getting there!

@tipu curate

You're definitely one of those we learn from. Thanks for the tip!

The weirdest thing right now, I have like six or seven articles started which isn't something I've done. I've never had more than two if that, usually start to finish is one at a time. This babble should pretty much sums up whatever I'm trying to say.

I'm getting about half way through'em lately and they're not getting finished. This is the first one that did, I'm glad you liked it. Thank you. 💖

Sounds familiar, "deer caught in headlight" moments, light bulb switches on then... LOST!

Keep going... one at a time, war is won by doing one battle at a time 😂... Too much confusion 7, 8 or....

Do you experience the same thing?? It's not just me? Cuz this is a first for me, I'm not sure wtf's going on.

Thank you for the reblog @joanstewart. I feel about this big when I forget to say that.

Too much information, whittle down to short and narrow... have a fun day exploring wtf's ☘️

Probably the only positive post I read so far that made me less negative about the proof of brain we have going on. When x author churns out more shit posts per day vs y author churns decent content for their niche and all the generic metrics that make the content good. X author still wins the wallet race.

Now I'm not really against the freedom to upvote whatever people want to support as it's a free chain. But I kinda subscribe to the idea that we have an ecosystem that we pretty much deserve as a community. If majority patronize shit posts with their stake, we can't expect anything less. The battle for the spot on trending isn't even worth the time as I hardly see anyone enthusiastic to check out what's up on the list.

Great to see a positive twist to the status quo though.

I hardly see anyone enthusiastic to check out what's up on the list.

No worries, I don't even know how to get there. I reference the word occasionally because I know people tuned in are familiar with the word and my autocorrect just had 'family' instead of 'familiar.' Stupid thing.

I'm glad you appreciate this post, thanks! I'm sure an author or two questions others at some point. A little reminder why we shouldn't do that isn't a bad idea.

One more thing. If you're gonna leave nice comments like that, you should stop by more often. 👍🏿

I try to be around online but work got me away often. This is my social media 90% of the time and the other mainstream sites.

And even then, the past few weeks have been hectic for me to keep up with what everyone else has been doing. I just happen to see your post on my feed so I checked it out. I do just pick out titles and read, stop by a comment or two if I finished the post, then be my own way.

Doesn't feel right to just comment without finishing the post but it also doesn't feel right to comment without taking the time to understand the post. So would just leave the post be if I can't find the time to read all of it than waste the author's time or mine telling nice post this is great.

Fair enough.

What do you got going over there that eats up your time?

This is my first and only social media type experience to this day. I still haven't even looked into what it takes to register an account at any of the other facegram ones.

The smoking emoji is my favorite.

Do you make patches? I need a couple Hive patches to sew on my sleeves when riding my bike. You that person or know who is? Bet you didn't know you'd be asked so many questions.

I sure as hell didn't know I was gonna ask'em

What do you got going over there that eats up your time?

I'm a doctor. Not the type you see on TV but the type that goes behind the scenes cutting up dead bodies and looking at laboratory results, and microscopes kind.

This is my first and only social media type experience to this day. I still haven't even looked into what it takes to register an account at any of the other facegram ones.

Best not to bother unless you plan on making a name for yourself cross platforms. Having a lot of social media can be lucrative when you got good branding but can be a waste of time for most people.

Do you make patches? I need a couple Hive patches to sew on my sleeves when riding my bike. You that person or know who is? Bet you didn't know you'd be asked so many questions.

Never done them before, I did a few tattoo designs on paper but as an amateur for kicks and giggles. You could ask @kothy for the specifics of the patch design if she can nail it. You won't have any problems with cutesy forms? ._.

I'm not sure what patches are ;-;

So cool! And all so good to know when still relatively new to this world of blogging and blockchain. Thank you sir! Still figuring our the Leach angle 😂

I edited this to say, 'see, I edited it anyway.' You're a pleasure to have on this platform young lady. I can't tell you're new at all, you're a quick learner. The joint wasn't the same without you.

My pleasure. I mean, it's not like I ever have those thoughts go through my head or anything. Naahhh... this one's for the mirror everyone else.

Thank you for the reblog! YES!! I hate it when I forget to do that and then have to come back and click edit to squeeze in a thank you. From the looks of this paragraph, though, I'm probably saving time the other way.

Muah! 💖

Time is valuable thing.You just need to see yourself and improve yourself. Don't focus on any other person. You will get the success soon.

Hey dude. Welcome to Hive. I'm @dandays - The Luckiest Guy I Know. Pleasure to be met.

You've been here less than a week and already releasing content like Weekend Trip Almora. That was a nice trip, welcome to Hive. Well done.

Are you familiar with communities? I ask because when I post travel articles, I post them in the HaveYouBeenHere community.

My autocorrect spells it when I get to the 'Y'

Don't be a stranger. Let me know if you need a hand with anything.

No i am not too much familiar but one of my friend suggested me , if you are posting the travel post so tag haveyoubeenhere community.

Communities are a fairly new thing. What front end are you using? Hive.blog? Peakd? Or??

I am using hive.blog and sometimes peakd?

Sorry for being late and Thanks for appreciating my post.🙂
Actually I got to know about this platform from my friend and its good platform.

😁 just gotta keep on bringing our best. Yesterday my best was a smoothie that I didn’t really know what to say about. Today it was a 1218 word essay on my most favourite hike yet!!! Can’t wait to see what happens for the next I don’t know how many hundred days til January 15th! (My 1 year of blogging anniversary 😳) take care friend!

It's taken me nearly for years to amass 365 posts. Big applause to you and your ambition.

😂 and now I saw your edit! Thank you again for the kind words!

Nicely put. Whenever I see someone that I am following get a big payday I may be more excited for them than they may be for themselves.
Pulling for each other and supporting each other can only make us stronger as a group.
Who's the guy making syrup, I'd like to read about it. Thanks my friend for that mention that is really not a mention, but a mention incognito.

How are things going?

Only great if that counts! We met another couple the other, they're Pura's age so the girls already set up some Sunday brunch and spelunking thing.

It's so difficult to not be happier for the author I've created as an opponent instead of myself when I'm watching the 'scoreboard.'

That wasn't incognito at all! Your Sweerup is blockchain famous. All I gotta say is something about home brewed maple syrup and it's no secret where it came from sir.

Thanks for checkin this one out my man! Anything exciting on the calendar today?

That's a lot of good points in one post. I don't personally spend a lot of time comparing myself to others, but I do spend too much time wondering about the relationship between some of these whales and some of these high-earning non-content producers. Some days it feels like the pool boy is paying people to shit in the community pool.

This should be a good confidence booster for the many people I'm sure are looking at your posts with jealously.

...are looking at your posts with jealously.

You should see some of my WhatsApp conversations!

This was to them.

I'd be lying if I said I don't monitor myself sometimes and keep track of so-in-so at the same time. But it's never spiteful or out of jealousy or anything twisted like that. It's just a little competition I create myself and watch it play out. I swear when I lose which is more often than not, I'm even happier for the virtual stranger Buddy of mine who won than I am for my own got dang 'wins.'

You're not, right? You and I are just happy for each other, I hope.

Well, I can't say how happy you are for me, but I'm certainly happy for you, and with your work here. I'm happy to see you and many others on here writing better than me. Hell, if everyone was only as good as me or worse, there wouldn't be much point in browsing the feeds!

Stop 🛑 selling yourself short dude. You entertain the shit outta me.

Oh, I'm not selling myself short. I know I'm not bad at this stuff, and every once in a while I'm going to hit one out of the park. I also know I'm not the very best, but I'm not trying to be. I don't really believe in the very best, as a concept. Very, very few competitions are every dominated by a very best anyone, and even fewer are dominated for very long. I'm only ever interesting in being good enough at things to suit my own purposes, and I've never really craved recognition for being good at things. From a personality standpoint, I'm a much better judge than competitor :D

I do like to entertain people, though. I like being useful, so if people get something from what I do here, even if it's only a chuckle, that makes me happy. So if you're entertained, I'm happy, and neither of us had to sell ourselves in any form. I call that a better gain than any amount of Hive rewards.

Well F'ing said dude.

I've always repeated this theory when it comes to the best. It's like saying a corner in the NFL is the best. There's just no such thing, each player is better at different things. But to be considered a top 5 or even a top 10 corner in the NFL...

Close enough!

Ps—I only used that 🛑 stop to go with the theme. 👍🏿

Well shit couldn't have said it better myself, wonder if that pharmacy sells leeches, good bait...

Good point and good advice.

As always keep writing and I'll keep reading.

Missed the swear words tho...

Well shit couldn't have said it better myself

It's a good thing cuz I wrote this to you specifically. Kidding, totally kidding. Like I'd dedicate anything to your cunty self-centered fuckin female doggish ass like that, it was a joke! Better?

I hate to disappoint

your cunty self-centered fuckin female doggish ass like that

Hahaha

!BEER
for you

Cheers!

Really excellent advice for newcomers, but even for old timers like us haha 😁
I love that you added CLASSATM in the tags, and also Group-Therapy 😆

Old timers like us? Funny you should say that, I wrote this to you personally.

Kidding!

Thanks for noticing the tags dude, those aren't typically noticed. I hardly notice them myself. Hell yeah ima run that #classatm til the wheels fall off. Join me!

#ClassATM

Coolest shit since drawstrings! <- I have no clue where that came from.


Hey @dandays, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.