You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: erm... today... let me tell you something NEW pals.

in OCD4 years ago

I'm pretty sure I agree with everything you just said. I just thought that you complaining about "getting flack" meant that you were a little upset about the retaliatory downvotes... if not why would you even bring it up? Everything else I agree with 100% and never said anything otherwise. I'm not really even sure what exactly you're arguing against at this point?

Sort:  

I'm not arguing, just stating facts. I was part of SFR for a long time and still work with them. Abuse exists on Hive and some of us choose to deal with it regardless of what you and others think about it. You do seem a little obsessed with the topic judging by the number of comments you made. Oh, and I think @themarkymark does a lot of good for Hive. I don't envy him for the flack he gets. I've not suffered death threats, although some guy did get a bit nasty.

C'mon Steve. "Just stating facts"... ya the facts that you are arguing are true. That's called making an argument. It's ok.. we can argue and still be friends.

"Abuse exists on Hive" ... ok ... define what YOU mean by abuse?

I'm actually not obsessed with this at all... first time I've ever really voiced my opinion about it. I just happened to get quoted and tagged in this post and so here I am.

You can think whatever you want about Marky... but I know what a POS he is. His "flack" is just what happens when you go around being a jerk.

Abuse can take many forms, but it largely comes down to taking more than you give. e.g.

  • Upvoting all your own stuff. I have seen cases of people making junk comments (such as just random numbers) just so they can vote them up. Not so bad if your posts are actually interesting to others and you also vote for others. Often people create multiple accounts to do this.
  • Churning out automatically generated posts to harvest automatic votes. One of the reasons I dislike auto-votes is that they can be exploited like this. Can happen with the projects/hives that reward those who use their dapp.

It comes down to judging each case. If I think the rewards are not justified and have not been given by an engaged community then I may consider it worthy of a downvote. I want rewards to go where they are earned and this is why the platform has downvotes (see white paper). I see the Blurt fork does not have downvotes, so we shall see how that turns out.

I can guarantee that Hive would be pretty shit if nobody was downvoting. Luckily the big accounts are generally doing a good job of that. There are some rogue whales and cases where it gets out of proportion. I would hope people could settle those issues and find compromises.

Hive can never be perfect and the freedom is a big plus point, but without vigilantes it will never achieve its potential. I think we should each use our votes to nudge it in the direction we want and not purely in self-interest.

It's a big experiment that I have got a lot out of. I have met so many interesting people, many of them in person. I have not met Marky yet, but I have had good dealings with him so far.