You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: erm... today... let me tell you something NEW pals.

in OCD4 years ago

Nah man.. I didn't say that. You're not the whale. You're the dev making the tools that ruin this place just so the whales can get rich on its destruction.

And maybe the fact that you're not making money is a sign that you should go do something better with your time. Just a thought.

Sort:  

Would be nice making something out of it but not everything is about money, I got a job for that :)

I personally don't downvote the re-posts (will probably add downvotes only for plagiarism in the future) but at the same time my bot lets people know about suspicious activity, and then they can act freely.

If someone keeps re-posting their post every week and makes 50 $ every time, then they may downvote them, if they do it once because they wrote a 2000 words post and no one voted it because they published it at night, then people will decide accordingly, not my call.

I could also use a separate account for downvotes and auto-replies in the future instead of keys-defender as the name of the latter is not really consistent with this new feature.

Don't quit your day job. lol! J/K

In all seriousness though... why are you really doing this if not for $$?? You want the whales to give you a pat on the back and say "good job"? Or you just enjoy messing with people or what? What is your personal incentive that drives you to do this?

And I actually don't know much about your bot in particular, but if it alerts "suspicious activity" it sounds just like the cheetah bot... the most ridiculously annoying bot on Hive... ok.. maybe 2nd after that stupid Haiku bot. lol!

why are you really doing this if not for $$

Honestly, for the technical challenges and to learn something new.

  • I learned how to integrate bots in discord and I was always too lazy to look into that even though it was on my list.

  • I like to code and solve problems and that looked like an interesting problem that automation could help attenuate.

it alerts "suspicious activity"

For now only on discord. It will start publishing comments on hive only for convalidated re-tips (eg. republished a post and made more than X dollars on both).

For sure. Gaining knowledge and experience. I understand and respect that. But IMO you should work on a bot that's actually helpful instead of one that is likely super annoying (like cheetah) and very possibly harmful for bloggers that are just minding their own business and not actually hurting anyone.

I’m open to suggestions for new bots and features.

The plan is not to annoy the normal user but only to attenuate what I think is misbehavior (eg. systematically re-post the same plagiarized post every week to exploit the system).

Can you make a bot that makes upvotes that would counter unwarranted downvotes? I'd delegate some HP to it. I had a friend do this back in the Steem days to counteract MMMKKK311's malicious downvote campaign. Unfortunately it never got a lot of support.

That would be easy. What's the criteria to counteract the downvotes though? Define unwarranted.

And there's already freezepeach for that: https://discord.gg/MTXfzAp