Removing tire sealant the easy way

in OCD3 years ago

Some Hivers may remember a few months ago I did a post on 6 nail braking hours and sore fingers removing the old tire sealant from my bike tires in the Philippines. Well, I'm back in the UK and it was time to do it all again on my Whyte T129s full suspension bike here.
IMG_0037.jpg

The main problem is with being away in the Philippines for 9 months the latex has pooled in the bottom of the tire and gone hard so you cant just pour in a fresh batch of sealant.
IMG_0042.jpg

This time the job was much quicker even with the 29-inch wheels at about 15 minutes a tire with the pressure washer.
IMG_0040.jpg

There is still a little hand finishing to pull the odd bit from the tire bead where the pressure washer jet just bounces off the corner, but most of it stripped off really easy.
IMG_0041.jpg

But overall it's a great result as the latex just peals away from the rubber leaving the tire ready to go back on.
IMG_0038.jpg

Given the current lack of use and possibility of going back into lockdown in the UK, I have put ordinary tubes back in for now and I guess if we are back in home quarantine again my Time Trial bike will make its way back into the house.

The only real downside is the view isn't half as nice as the one from my apartment in the Philippines.
GZNX2217.jpg

And it is a lot colder. Two pairs of socks under the wellies colder.

Well, all for now Hivers time for some dinner and see what Boris the Buffon has cooked up for us this time.

Sort:  

Congratulations @diveratt! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 700 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 800 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the January 1st Hive Power Up Day
Happy New Year - Project Activity Update

I've been thinking about going tubeless on my Sonder, but when I see the care it takes. Is it worth it?

It certainly is worth it if your riding regularly. Getting tire to seat the first time can be a bit difficult as you need to get quite a high volume of air in to pop it onto the bead. if your lucky you can do it with a track pump but I normally use a compressed air cylinder and inflator just one of the advantages of being a diver.

The only reason I've gone back to tubes in my 29er is I'm usually only home in the UK for about 3 months so every time I come home the sealant has gone off. With the covid issues at the moment, I might be stuck here for a bit longer so I could end up going back to tubeless anyway.

Yeah, just in the interval between my comment and today I've got two annoying punctures--those little wires that come off truck tires. Going tubeless soon

Hi, Prof sorry about the delay UK lockdowns make you really lazy.

If your wheels and tires are compatible tubeless would work.
I the Philippines I run tubeless on my hardtail. I'm always picking up thorns and bits of wire. Nothing has ever stopped me from cycling you just notice the little patches of latex on the tire at the end of the ride.