Twisted

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

4.jpg

Work Unveiled

I have already shown you some sneak peeks of this illustration work I did last year, but couldn´t get to show you the full art. So let's get to it.

This was commission work for the cover artwork of an educational remake of the popular game called Twister (Below). I actually could never get to play it, but supposedly the gameplay was similar to the original game with the twist of the colors each representing emotions. The purpose of the game was to teach children about them. The name of the game was "Carpet of Emotions" (translated from spanish).

S304510.jpg
source link

Choosing the Right Sketch

I really wanted to make this piece pop out by making a very dynamic design. I tried different perspectives and sketches, but in the end I chose a similar one to the artwork of the original, not to copy it, but because of its dynamic nature. Also, the client had suggested an isometric perspective, so I thought it would work fine. I actually really liked the perspective from below, but it probably was too unusual to use it. For me, odd = awesome, but it's not the best selection when working for a client (actually that depends on the client and the work haha 😋)

I handpicked some of the sketches I made to show you. I made a total of about 10 sketches.

18 (Custom).JPG

19 (Custom).JPG

17.JPG

16.JPG

162.JPG

15.JPG

The FINAL sketch

1.jpg

Learning Human Shape

As I mentioned before on the other post, I put a lot of dedication into this illustration. I put a lot of effort into studying how to draw the human shape. I learned some anatomy, and also practiced drawing heads, hands and feet. I'm not new to drawing humans, but for sure I was rusty, and it's always good to get some more study. I've always kinda have ran away from this, so this was a great opportunity to learn more and put it in action.

This piece was very nice to do because I could 'twist' the forms. I really liked the idea of making cover artwork for a game, because it can be fun and colorful. An example of this play can be seen in the girl's arm, which bends in a funny way, and also stretches longer than it should.

The final result took 40+ hrs to make

2.jpg

Tapete de los Sentimientos - Copy.jpg

1.jpg

Tapete de los Sentimientos - Copy - C.jpg

3.jpg

mano.jpg

4.jpg

Tapete de los Sentimientos.jpg


Please support the dream

All links: Linktree


Dreaming life into bliss through colors, sounds, shapes and good vibes

Artboard 19 (Small).jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @doodle.danga! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 20000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 21000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 7
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day