Confession: I am on Hive even when dreaming - OMG It's just my first week

in OCD3 years ago

Today marks one week since I joined Hive. So I thought I will share with you guys what I have been up to for the last 7 days. Especially, my weird dreams about Hive.

Brown and Green Clean Grid Color Inspiration Moodboard Photo Collage.jpg

Day 1: Engaging & Join Community

Top 3 suggestions from the post 3 things Newbie should do in their first week on hive are engaging with people, joining community and writing an Introduction post. I already wrote my introduction post so I decided that my first day was mainly replying to all the warm welcoming comments from our lovely Hivers & getting to know them.

I feel overwhelmed with all the support from everyone. It has been long since I didn’t receive that kind of support in a social network. With Facebook & Instagram I only got emoji reaction nowadays, no meaningful comments anymore. I thought might be that my posts are boring, and no one really likes them. That’s why when I received encouragement & lovely comments from other hivers, I can feel something special about this community.

A big thank to @livinguktaiwan for doing the survey and putting together the lists of things that Newbie should do on their first week on Hive. It helps me a lot in planning what I should do.

Day 2: My first photo quest & my new page cover

My plan for the second day was to read the resources that I collected from other Hivers’ recommendation. This is one of the recommendation on the list too. However, my dear @trangbaby hooked me up with a photo quest – Gratitude for nature. At this time, NZ has been in lockdown for two weeks and I actually had time to reflect and observe things around me. I am exploring new aspects of my life, so I couldn’t wait to share with you right away.

Image is posted on the Photo Quest - Gratitude for Nature

Later that night, I wanted to spend a bit of my time to create a profile banner as it is also a suggestion from other hivers. After putting together a couple of options, I chose the last banner as its quote resonates with my goals to join Hive. I want to be in the community where respect & honesty are encouraging. Every individual is unique in their own way so we should be proud of ourselves. One of the things that annoyed me so bad was that by following the recommended size (1920x240), it still looks funny on smaller screens. I don’t know where things got wrong – any suggestions?

Brown and Green Clean Grid Color Inspiration Moodboard Photo Collage (1).jpg

Day 3: Time for learning – Yay!!!

On the third day, I really wanted to focus on my reading lists. There are new things and terms everywhere. I took my time to read the resources for newbies and get a deeper understanding of the platform. I want to know what I have to do if I run out of Resources Credits, if should I reply to comments or not, is it true I shouldn’t upvote when my RC is low… And that’s when Hive started following me in my dreams. One of them was me panicking when I post a long comment and then it disappears because I run out of RC. Later on my dream, I was talking with other hivers while reading their posts at the same time.

Day 4: Slow down

Waking up the next day, I know I need to slow down. So for that day, I reached out to those who wrote amazing guides to help a beginner like me. Let them know that I appreciate their efforts. And I started to read posts from hivers & communities that I followed, spending time to engage with other users.

One of the hivers that I’d written to, replied to me with a recommendation to a topic of my interest: Marketing & Design. In fact, even more interesting, I saw his post with suggestions to change the PEAKD interface. Now for me that is brave and thoughtful. I can learn a lot from this community. In real life, I got recommendations about reaching out to people who work in the same industry so you can connect & learn from them. I’ve never felt I had enough confidence to do so. Thanks to Hive community, I feel at ease when reaching out to people.

Day 5: Start Writing

On the fifth day, I thought it’s time to choose a topic and write something about it. I know we need good content but I still don’t know my main focus yet, so I started with a travel post about the city where I am living in at the moment. However, I don’t want my travel post is just about good photos & how I feel. I want to do better than that. I want to paint the whole picture of a place. Everything you should know like the best places to see, activities to do & tips for those who want to travel on a budget – just like me. All based on my experiences. It was a long post so I couldn’t finish on that day. Also, I learn a bit about formatting. For me, it is too simple with what PEAKD is offering, I don’t see how to colour my words or making fancy stuff with the default editor mode.

Brown and Green Clean Grid Color Inspiration Moodboard Photo Collage.jpg

Day 6: Finish my first travel post

Yesterday, it was my weekend so I don’t want to spend much of my time online. Since joining, I’m spending almost 10 to 12 hours every day on my computer (8 hours for work and another 2 to 4 for reading, replying to comments & writing posts). So, I decided to just finish my travel post and then called it a day.

Day 7: An update about my first week

I think it’s best for today is to do a quick update to let you know what I had been doing for the last 7 days. I think it’s a good way to share with you my progress. I am still on my way to find out what I can do on Hive and topics that I want to contribute. There are a lot to think about, but one thing I know for sure is I am learning new things everyday and that feeling is amazing.

Thank you for reading my post. If it’s possible, I would really appreciate if you can share with me how did you do on your first week. Did you see yourself on Hive while dreaming?
Many thanks & enjoy your weekend.

Sort:  

Uh... first 3 or 4 months are all time very fun here 😅👌👌👌🍷 the key is .... not stop and try every day something to do here 😋👌🍷🍷

And very good post 👌😋

Thanks @foxkoit. that's good to know 😊

I am aiming to participate in different contests/challenges and engage with people & community I follow everyday. One thing I notice the more I connect with other people, the more things to learn. That's a really fun & exciting part for me. Cheers, Dora

Happy that it makes you more find out what HIVE can do :)
I have used it 5 years ... it was help lot.

Hi @dora381, I very like your comment in some other posts on Hive and your post here. Your mind and work are so special. I can learn a lot from you. Thank you for becoming a part of Hive

Hi girl, thank you for your kind words. You are so sweet. I am so happy with your huge support. We are special and we can all learn from each other. This community helps us grow and thrive.

Congratulations @dora381! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.
You made more than 50 comments.
Your next target is to reach 100 comments.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Quick feedback
Feedback from the September 1st Hive Power Up Day
Introducing the Hive Power Up Month - Let's grow every day!

Have just gone through your whole post, I love the spirit that you've never stopped learning, you're doing very good, girl!

oh girl, I really appreciate it. The fact that you read all my post just made my day. I am afraid that this post has too many words and don't have enough photo examples might make it hard to read. Thank you <3

I !LUV 2 the way you approach Hive, spend time looking into it and write down what you've learned. Great job !! Keep it up ♥️♥️

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@dora381, you've been given LUV from @trangbaby.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. LUV changes soon. (2/3)

I actually love the fact that Hive is challenging for beginners now. I mean the more I read about it, the more I want to learn :)

Yes, it's challenging but you have me :))

You are absolutely right and I am so grateful about it. Love you girl

!LUV 2

<><

<><

LUV

Connect

Trade


@dora381, you've been given LUV from @trangbaby.

Check the LUV in your H-E wallet. LUV changes soon. (2/3)

Bài viết thật thú vị. L phải học hỏi thêm từ b.

Cám ơn Loan. Bọn mình đều may là có @trangbaby rồi. Muốn tìm hiểu hay thích topics nào là nàng ấy đều có thể giới thiệu community và những hivers mình có thể follow :)

Bài viết hay quá c ơi! E phải học từ c nhiều mới đc ạ

Cám ơn em nhé. Có bạn học cùng lại càng vui và càng nhanh :)