You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Disgusted!

in OCD4 years ago

Thanks for your response! I didn't mean to put words in your mouth :) Guess this topic is still getting me into a state of wanting to fight and be vocal about some of the stupid things happening.

I am not a politician but I have never understood why this is not how the COVID crisis was dealt with in Europe. Let's just test everyone, and confine those who are positive. A matter of money, maybe?

The narrative is that the number of tests in NL was way to little to test everybody. Not sure this was a money thing, possibly more intellectual property rights and the owners not wanting whatever factory to produce the tests. By now, the statement in NL is that anybody who feels ill, can get a test. Guess we have larger quantities of test available by now.

I am afraid that rules are needed where common sense should suffice. That is sad.

Agree, when we need government rules for people to act 'responsible' we can forget about societies without rulers. Though I think the majority of citizens (community members if you will) will start 'behaving' more when we don't have rules, or too many rules. Not that the mass will start thinking themselves, but they will start following people in their own circles and copy what they do. But we need to get to a state where the government is not imposing rules, and we need to work more on spreading the awareness to do what is right, regardless of a rule to try and enforce what is right. But that in itself is a whole other topic then what you commented with :)

Sort:  

Also, regarding on how the government is dealing with that, trust must be restored. Governments people cannot tell people they don't know things when they actually don't know things. Instead, they prefer to be vague and invoke some nonsense bullshit. This is not how people will start listening :(

Anyways, let's see how those things evolve.

PS: concerning the tests, another issue is the number of false positives / true negatives. I think the situation is a bit more controlled now, but I can't be sure (this is out of my zone of comfort and I need to do some research about that, which I didn't find the time to so far).

So much information is available, and also contradicting. This indeed requires lots and lots of time to research everything. Something I didnt find the time to as well. That said, I wonder if we can make solid conclusions based on all the information available, but I'm always in favour of assuming various 'truths' and start trails/tests based on the various possibilities. Like scientists do, I would like to see different scenarios being tests around the country, even better, around the world, ie we all work together.

I have chatted earlier tonight about this 2.5 meters thingie and I thought about our discussion. At the hospitals, it is a 2m distance that is in order, as this is the distance relevant for most existing viruses. So while there is no "proof" in the strict sense, at least there are some reasons behind it. But then enter the politicians... :D

Thanks! :) Cool to learn its 2 meters in hospitals in France. FYI, the WHO says 1 meter, in my country its 1,5 meter. Sure there is some reasoning behind it, that I understand, still dont understand the truth in the varieties. Today I signed a petition against the 1,5 meter distancing law that is planned for July to become effective. 200k+ signed up already, so large enough for it to pass our parliament. I do hope our government can be convinced to throw the law into the bin. Every day, I see more people becoming activists. But the official news channels are not talking about this, they simply follow what our government says. Smells fishy.

From today in France, now it is 1m, but only laterally... Now it starts to really make no sense... Just pack everybody one behind each other, it will be fine :D

Hahahaha, you see?

Our minister of health says: we shall have no fear for flying, sitting next to each other at close distance is not a problem due to aircrafts having good ventilation systems. But the same minister wants this law for 1,5 meter distance. As if outdoors we don't have any ventilation?

A few days ago the chief editor at one of our best newspapers said: "its our duty to only publish articles following the narrative of the one and only institute advising the government, otherwise people get confused." He admitted he bins any story that goes against what this institute (RIVM) says and states: "When people dont agree, go and knock on the doors of this institute". Really?

And of course we can find all sort of links between this minister and pharmaceutical companies. He's signing deals with several of them to get vaccines when they found one, and some of them involves his family and friends.

I thought the Netherlands was more honest than many countries. I definitely was wrong... Too bad. I hope enough noise will be made about this!