Disgusted!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

While I was hoping for ending a busy week and starting my chill weekend with a happy feeling and a smile on my face, I feel absolute frustrated! Some is work related, but mostly it has to do with what is happening in my tiny country and my mini city of Amsterdam. By writing this post, I not only like to inform you how uncool many Dutch citizens can be, but I hope it is therapeutic by helping me to deal with my frustrations to allow the flow of positive and happy feelings through my veins again.

Protest against Racism in Amsterdam

Last Monday - four days ago - a protest against racism was held in the middle of my home city Amsterdam (in the Netherlands). Obviously, the result of the drama around George Floyd! Regardless of Corona and our social distancing rule with a minimum of 1,5 meter (soon to be law...seriously?), more than expected number of people attended. While in London and Berlin the number of protesters was hundreds and 1.500 respectively; More than 5.000 people gathered together at the Dam Square. Most people with mouth protection, but certainly not all kept the 1,5 meter distance. Against the rules, our Major did decide to continue to allow the protest, since 1) right of demonstration is an absolute right and shall never be forbidden 2) the demonstration was 100% peaceful while halting the demonstration could lead to troubles.


image: published by RTL Nieuws (source)

Corona over Racism

What should've been a re-start of discussions and debates around racism, took a big turn and took a whole different direction. Many people - including our ministers and national politicians - are shouting and screaming about the actions of our Mayor: She should've stopped the demonstration! It was against the Corona rules!

The topic is not George Floyd. The topic is not Racism, something we still see happening in my country as well. The topic is not about how we shall evolve our society towards a society where we can all feel equal, regardless of where we are from and how we look like.

The topic is about the actions of our Mayor, and if she should step down or resign. Seriously?


image: mayor of Amsterdam to the right - published by Parool (source)

Rules are Rules

Many people from other countries who know about the Netherlands, think of my tiny country to be very liberal, openminded and forgiven. Though we tend to be quite liberal in the sense that we allow everybody to execute its freedom in any way they like; And we can be quite openminded; We are also a society where Rules are Rules no matter what. Certainly not all Dutch citizens think like this, but I would not be surprised when the majority of the Dutch people go by this motto: Rules are Rules no matter what. No exceptions can be made. Those who don't follow the rules, should be very much ashamed. And our mayor should step down. 1,5 meter is the rule! Rule is rule. No matter what. Even though most protesters did wear mouth protection; Even though the topic was so much bigger than Corona!

Social distancing rule is made more important than racism. Actions of our Mayor is made much more important than racism. Seriously?

I'm simply disgusted. Don't have other words for it!

Interestingly, the 1,5 meter distance is based on nothing. The World Health Organisation (WHO) settled at 1 meter (source). This 1 meter can also be debated, since by now we know much more about how COVID-19 is transmitted and when and where the risks of transmission is negligible: namely outdoors.


image: at the protest - published by Parool (source)

New Society

Does any of you know where we can acquire a piece of land where we can start a new society? A society where we start with the Rule: Rules are not more than Guidelines; Circumstances define if a Guideline becomes Mandatory or Not. Since I don't know yet how many people would like to be part of such new society, we need a location where we are flexible in how much land we can acquire. Let us find a location, soon!

End Note

Now an hour or two after I wrote my first sentence of this article, the evening long started, I do indeed feel a bit less frustrated! Guess writing about my feelings, did the 'job'. Somehow I also believe some of you HIVE community members will read this article with interest. Maybe it'll be liked by none-HIVE readers as well; I'll send the blue birdies right after the HIVE chain accepted my writing.

Did You Know?

Now, HIVE has a place for something all of us can contribute to: Music and Stories. The Q community is all about our Personal Stories and Music. Stories can be anything: our Experiences, our Thoughts, our Knowledge, our Dreams, our Opinions, our Preferences, our Favourites, our Creations... We all have stories around music! How easy it is to write these down?! We just need to write what we remember! Its that simple! :)


I Dare You: Click Me!

CARPE DIEM

a HIVE original
all images by edje unless stated otherwise

qsounds music & story library | A...K | L...Z |
hive curator for curie / c-squared / c-cubed

Sort:  

It seems social distancing is taking a back seat to other matters...I guess the media feel that COVID-19 has outlived its usefulness to them and there is something that provides more of a drawcard, more sensationalism for them to push in a constant drive for ratings and more advertising-space revenue. The same is happening here, all over the world I guess.

You mentioned the 1.5M ruling is becoming law? I was a little shocked to read...I wonder if that will roll-back when the virus threat is over, and what possible reason could they have to not roll it back right? Still, the government will only ever lean the way of their own agenda.

I don't think the media is getting tired of this whole corona thingy. Our ministers are continuously in talk shows and discussion programs around the new normal. FB, Twitter and all is full proponents and opponents of all sort of measures and what we shall do and not and how to further unlock our society. Though, I see some people taking it all a little less serious. I guess for good reasons, since the media started to allow people with a different narrative (scientists mainly) to tell their story. Like the whole aerosol debate, the super spread events (all indoor) was never talked about in TV programs until a few weeks ago. But maybe the biggest change is the fact that we started slowly unlocking our society with children going to school again. Restaurant and bars allowed to open again (with 1,5 meter distancing). First tourist I see in Amsterdam again. The southern European countries allowing tourists again and our ministers saying they may allow Dutch to go to these countries. And so on and so fort.

Yea, the law thing. The law is gonna be a special Corona law which they want to instate from July onwards. Currently the country is in state of emergence giving mayor special privileges to deal with the situations, like policing the corona rules and allowing to give fines to those who don't follow them. When the rules are part of a law, the state have more power and the mayor have less, ie a mayor can't go against the law, while in the state of emergency they have more freedom in deciding what they do with or against the rules, and if they send out their police officers around to force the rules and/or to hand out fines to those who dont follow the rules.

I'm pretty sure the law will be a kinda temporary one, but what is temporary? When they need months to create the corona law, what will happen with this one when we don't need it? Our government was initially a bit like: nothing much will happen, we go for group immunity. Since then they changed quite a lot and I see them being very very slow. We had a kinda soft lockdown (ie not the strongest lockdown some of the other neighbouring countries had), but by now most of the countries around us allow their citizens much more than here in the Netherlands. Am afraid this will continue. Our prime minsters is continuously talking about the new normal as being not temporary but can last years, or longer. Really? So when the corona rules become a law, I predict we'll have to live with this law for some time, and it'll take long time before the law are changed, like when to allow outdoor gatherings again with eg less than 1,5 meter.

I think we'll be seeing more and more people becoming unsatisfied how our government is handling things. I do hope mayors will revolt at some point in time to give a push back to the national government.

Personally I can't see a society living with social distancing for too ling anymore. Humans will not be able to do so. Humans have this group instinct. We like to touch one another. Will we continue not to do so for years to come? Not really; I know I won't :)

The First „Test“ is over .....what next!?

Thats a good question; I dont see the Dutch government going through test and not really thinking how to allow spending social time outdoors in a pleasurable way. Theme parks are allowed to be open, but carnaval (the oldfashioned street entertainment like one can get in theme parks but then around the corner) are not allowed, even when they have solid plans how to go about the social distancing. Outdoor festivals: Well, they are banned for the season :((((( While they could test with this. Like they could've done with the demonstrations done in Amsterdam. Most people I know tell me: Ed, you shall accept all of this. When I told my father: "Well, I dont have to accept the Dutch government!", he told me: "Well, you do". When I repeated my statement, he said: "Well, I need to think about what you are saying". Guess I need to be prepared to leave the country that I love for many reasons. That said, not sure what other country would fit more my believes. Maybe I shall take a look at Sweden. Lots and lots of countryside and nature and likely one can live life in more freedom, also because the Swedish government have less strict rules around Corona. Not sure yet...

Time will tell I suppose. Let's wait and see.

Sure, time will tell, and yea, wait and see is one way to go. I start to become more vocal about the stupidity of our national government and start living more according to my own rules instead of simply obeying the government instated rules and soon to be laws. That is how I go through time. Am not at all an activist but somehow this whole situation pushes me a bit into the direction of becoming one! :) Interesting experience, for sure :)

All governments have their own agenda, and mostly people have to accept it. Not always though.

The problem is actually quite complex.

It is really great to have such a demonstration against racism and I won't argue that, of course. The problem is the timing. The coronavirus is still among us. The first wave is over, and we manage to avoid the worst. But a second wave could still happen and we need to behave responsibly if we want to avoid that. Now, why is it not possible to enforce a demonstration where such a responsibility is built in? And I don't talk about the "1.5m rule". This is just one drop in the whole "responsibility context" I mentioned.

We had more demonstrations in Netherlands last week for the same topic. One was in The Hague at a prime location where always protests are held. This locations is huge, so the 1,5 meter was held mostly. People sitting instead of standing. In Rotterdam, similar thing, though the mayor stopped the demonstration when it became to busy. I guess, in Amsterdam it could've been stopped as well, Dutch are not know for rioting when we are told not to do something.

I hear you regarding being responsible and all. But I personal doubt the danger outdoors. Lots and lots of research and scientific information is becoming available that tells us that transmission of Corona outdoors is practically zero. Larger indoor events at which many people ate talking, singing and so on are seen as causing the super spread. So do I act irresponsible when I dont follow the 1,5 meter outdoors strict? I go against the rules instated by the government, thats true. But one can debate if the rules are the right rules. No scientific proof is available the 1,5 meter is the solution. Why not 2,5 meter? Or 4 meters? When somebody sings in open air and I'm down winds of such person, will droplets and aerosols not travel more than 1,5 meter? For sure, they travel up to meters to maybe even 10 meters or more (we can have a lot of wind on Holland :)) That said, scientists say: Aerosols are not of danger outdoors, they are evaporated within a split second. Droplets maybe not, but nobody can proof what the best radius is for that. For sure the wind is important. When I meet somebody that strictly want to keep distancing rules, I always move myself downwind.

Coming back to the protest in Amsterdam. Most people did wear mouth protections, so that shows these people acted responsible. The mayor allowed the protest, since the protest organisation didn't expect so many people showing up and the 1,5 meter distancing should not have become a problem at all with many people around helping to keep the social distancing rules. But she also didn't want to stop the protest for safety reasons, and I think because she felt this protest was just too important (which it was indeed in my opinion). The protest could've been held at a different location, larger in size. But here is the thing: Protests are always held at the Dam Square in Amsterdam. It is more than a tradition. When another location would've been enforced, we would've had a whole different drama unfolding. People would've protests against not being allowed to protest on Dam Square. Fact is that Dam Square is not that big.

Wrt timing, well, this timing was not debatable. The George Floyd drama did set all of this in motion. So timing, was more on the side of these police officers who went after George Floyd.

What I dont understand is after this protest happened, the government officials, advisors, and ministers didn't urge all the protesters to get a corona test done immediately: now and in a few weeks. This could've been so valuable for science! No, they just said: Please get a test done when you feel ill. Seriously? Its such government I have to trust doing the right things? They simply seem to be quite stupid. They don't see the opportunities when they present itself. Instead, they all bashing our mayor for five days now. As if that is what we need to get ourself back to the old normal again. I'm loosing all the trust in them. Though I do follow the rules most of the time, I'll be following my own rules more and more. These are not necessarily the government rules (and soon to be laws).

Just to make it clear: I have no strong opinion in one way or the other with respect to this demonstration itself. I am in fact quite divided. Yes it is important to have it happening now. What I meant by "timing" was having the two events occurring at the same moment (organising demontrations in a COVID-world). I was not really discussing anything else except the matter of facts the two were happening simultaneously. This is a bad timing and we need to live with it.

This means that the sanitary conditions should be accounted for. We don't want any demonstration to be the trigger of a disaster in two weeks (in any case, we will know in about two weeks...). In an ideal world, both could be dealt with together. Has it been done? Well I don't know, I wasn't there. According to what you said, I feel that it was not done. Just testing everyone would have been the thing to do, probably. I am not a politician but I have never understood why this is not how the COVID crisis was dealt with in Europe. Let's just test everyone, and confine those who are positive. A matter of money, maybe?

For the record, I did not say everyone should be separated by 1.5m from each other and all this distance thingie. I have said that everyone should be responsible. I agree with you there is no proof behind this "rule". Seeing however how people in France behave, I am afraid that rules are needed where common sense should suffice. That is sad.

Thanks for your response! I didn't mean to put words in your mouth :) Guess this topic is still getting me into a state of wanting to fight and be vocal about some of the stupid things happening.

I am not a politician but I have never understood why this is not how the COVID crisis was dealt with in Europe. Let's just test everyone, and confine those who are positive. A matter of money, maybe?

The narrative is that the number of tests in NL was way to little to test everybody. Not sure this was a money thing, possibly more intellectual property rights and the owners not wanting whatever factory to produce the tests. By now, the statement in NL is that anybody who feels ill, can get a test. Guess we have larger quantities of test available by now.

I am afraid that rules are needed where common sense should suffice. That is sad.

Agree, when we need government rules for people to act 'responsible' we can forget about societies without rulers. Though I think the majority of citizens (community members if you will) will start 'behaving' more when we don't have rules, or too many rules. Not that the mass will start thinking themselves, but they will start following people in their own circles and copy what they do. But we need to get to a state where the government is not imposing rules, and we need to work more on spreading the awareness to do what is right, regardless of a rule to try and enforce what is right. But that in itself is a whole other topic then what you commented with :)

Also, regarding on how the government is dealing with that, trust must be restored. Governments people cannot tell people they don't know things when they actually don't know things. Instead, they prefer to be vague and invoke some nonsense bullshit. This is not how people will start listening :(

Anyways, let's see how those things evolve.

PS: concerning the tests, another issue is the number of false positives / true negatives. I think the situation is a bit more controlled now, but I can't be sure (this is out of my zone of comfort and I need to do some research about that, which I didn't find the time to so far).

So much information is available, and also contradicting. This indeed requires lots and lots of time to research everything. Something I didnt find the time to as well. That said, I wonder if we can make solid conclusions based on all the information available, but I'm always in favour of assuming various 'truths' and start trails/tests based on the various possibilities. Like scientists do, I would like to see different scenarios being tests around the country, even better, around the world, ie we all work together.

I have chatted earlier tonight about this 2.5 meters thingie and I thought about our discussion. At the hospitals, it is a 2m distance that is in order, as this is the distance relevant for most existing viruses. So while there is no "proof" in the strict sense, at least there are some reasons behind it. But then enter the politicians... :D

Nothing to do with your thought-provoking post above @edje, but you're in spot #42 for this week'sThe Hive Engagement League 🏆 post by @abh12345. I'm sponsoring it with a 0.500 Hive @tipu tip, so here goes -

!tip 0.5 hive

Hahaha thanks :)

🎁 Hi @edje! You have received 0.5 HIVE tip from @traciyork!

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

the birdies are enroute...

Congratulations @edje! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 8250 replies. Your next target is to reach 8500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Sure, time will tell, and yea, wait and see is one way to go. Only when we become more vocal about the stupidity of our government and start living more according to our own rules instead of simply obeying the government instated rules and soon to be laws. That is how it goes through time. Am not at all an activist but somehow this whole situation pushes me a bit into the direction of becoming one.

Seriously? You're copy/pasting one of my comments to this post?