Guess who’s on a Dove commercial? πŸ•Š

in OCD β€’ 2 years ago

Helluuuuu Hivers! πŸ™‹β€β™€οΈ Remember how we all made Dalgona coffee and banged utensils during the COVID lockdown? (Indians would know what I’m talking about πŸ˜‚) Apart from all the kitchen experiments and utensil banging, I happened to get an opportunity to be a part of a Dove deodorant commercial around the same time. So this post is about how an Instagram DM led to my debut on National Television ( I like how unnecessarily fancy this sounds πŸ˜‚)

Flashback to January 2019 - I receive a DM on my Instagram from a random account telling me that she liked me from my profile and asked if I’d like to be a part of a Dove campaign. My immediate response in the head was - SCAM. I mean, how often does one wake up to an advertisement offer from a global brand? That too on Instagram? I usually do not reply to messages from unknown sources but I wanted to mess around with the supposed conman πŸ˜‚ So, the first thing I did was reply to that message and asked them to send me a mail from their official email. I got no reply and was convinced that this was clearly a sham. The very next week, to my surprise I found an email from the casting agency with full proof documents. I also happened to learn that this was a paid project and I immediately signed up for it because the joke was on me now πŸ˜†

9206E536-1D00-42AF-BB0F-A63BF3AF7CFE.jpeg

I filled up the form and got no response for about two years. I forgot about it too, until in January 2021 when I received a call from the agency again. The next thing I know, I am signing contracts and speaking to lawyers for confirmation. They saw my sister on my profile and liked her too. Both of us received our package - ring lights, deodorants, mobile stands, etc etc .

A8B0D13A-AB1D-4AF7-9F52-02DFC2B08C52.jpeg

We had to self shoot it because we couldn’t go to the studio due to the lockdown. It was a 14 day campaign and each day we had to send a one minute video giving our review of the deodorant. They tracked our daily progress and took tiny clippings of our daily videos. Finally, they chose 4 girls from the shortlisted batch (both me and my sister were chosen) and we made it to the final commercial.

68567087-0CAD-4909-9E20-417F62351222.png

Honestly, this was a new but fun experience. Also, the payment made it much more fun than expected πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Lesson to be learnt: Check your Instagram DMs. You may have an exciting offer waiting for you , you never know πŸ€·β€β™€οΈ πŸ˜‚

C00441B3-7836-4C9C-BCE8-4FF2010BB599.png

Until another story, cheers! πŸ₯‚

Sort: Β 

Woah I Know Celebrities πŸ˜‚ ❀️

Thank you very much for the validation sir lol πŸ˜‚

πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€˜πŸΌ

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

Wow this is so cool! Congratulations to you and your sister for making the cut and getting the commercial spot. I don’t blame you for being cautious and thinking it was a scam, you just never know these days. I like how creative brands were getting with their commercials during the social distancing. Anyway, nice job on the commercial. Have they offered any more spots to you since then? πŸ˜ƒπŸ‘€πŸ˜

For future reference there is a community called the Daily Blog where you can share about special days, occasions and events. Sharing about opportunities like this would definitely fit there too.

The OCD Community is for general topic posts that do not fit in any of the other communities.

Thank youuuuuuuu. Yeah, glad it wasn't a scam tho πŸ˜‚ Nah, no more offers. Infact they don't repeat their castings as their campaign is about having real women talk about their experience and not actors. So, I don't think they'd repeat us again - unless of course I received another DM πŸ˜†

Ohhh, I did not know about that community. Thank you so much. Will be mindful, going forward πŸ€—

Β 2 years agoΒ Β 

You’re welcome. Oh okay that makes sense. πŸ‘ŒπŸ½

No problem at all. πŸ˜‰

Congratulations @eisha.shetty! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1500 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Yay! πŸ€—
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @blackdaisyft.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!