When Corona Ends: Life Continues

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Times are changing. Times have changed they say. Times will never be the same again is a common saying in these corona virus days. Or so tells the mainstream media us.

Of course, the lives of many - both citizens and countries - are being challenged and what was the normal for many may not be the common when life “restarts” after restrictions are lifted and economies slowly open up again.

Hiver @theycallmedan started a new content initiative #whencoronaends some days ago, calling the community to share the first three things they would do when this is all over.

Of course, I am living my own “quarantine” and my #coronalife is so to say almost half a year old. There is no doubt that when in some weeks first restrictions are lifted, I will still be at limited capacity myself or not yet fully capable to do what I would otherwise have done.

At the same time there is no doubt either that I am going to do what I haven’t done anymore since way too long.

1. Hit the Beach

One of the beautiful things about living on a mega archipelago is that there are beaches all around. While the beaches of Luzon aren’t the most amazing ones, there are nevertheless two relatively cool surfing spots, Baler and the famous La Union. From Manila both are only few hours when traveling by bus and a perfect escape, with reasonable hospitality rates as well. Even if La Union has been hipsterized massively in recent years, much like any other instagrammable location.

I would be tempted to leave for another spot, on a slightly more remote isle, only accessible by boat (after first flying to Cebu) but I won’t be to blame to immediately scale our carbon footprints again by hopping on a plane ASAP.

Neither do I expect that #whencoronaends I will actually be capable to do much surfing anyway. So being closer to home and hanging in an area with normally a decent degree level of known regulars will be a good thing. Even if as expected on most days I will merely be able to watch the fun they’re having on the waves.

After recent few months, the beach and some time on a board is something I need

2. Hit an Old-Fashioned Gym Again

After months of suffering, with constant fever, I have lost a decent amount of weight. In fact, I am rather underweight right now.

While I always wanted, I have never managed to get myself to the gym in recent years either. That mostly because I am not the type who enjoys the modern style gyms, with cardio, rhythmic whatnots, and then plenty of dancing fitness too. No, a gym need to me is a collection of lots of barbels, dumbbells, and weights to adapt to your maximum capacity and keep pushing, always more.

It smells sweat, the room is rather small, members are loud, people push hard.

If it doesn’t make you suffer, you’re doing it wrongly.

Sadly enough I am not the type who easily puts on volume, no matter whether I adopt a specialized diet or not. But I can already feel the soreness the morning after working out.

To me going to the gym is like CrossFit but minus the rope work and minus the apparently compulsory social media showing off. Nobody cares about my WOD and I don’t care about any hashtag follower’s double taps either.

Besides, it’s not like I have an Instagram or Facebook account I maintain anyway. But shortly before falling ill I did find my type of gym near to where I live in Manila.

3. Return to the Founders Life

One of the things I have missed most in recent years is the special buzz found in startup scenes.

Due to various life circumstances it’s a world I have mostly left behind in recent years. Even my previous hunt to discover the newest thing and what ideas people are starting has flattened. But it’s also a scene I miss very much.

It’s all about the special buzz created by people who love building new and disrupt the status quo.

And, of course, it’s also been a job for me for several years. Possibly one of the most enjoyable activities I’ve ever done.

It is not a given that the world of angel investing will be what it was #whencoronaends. It may be even more consolidated in few funds only than it was before and small funds may participate more than before to aggregated rounds, rather than hunt for the potential on local grounds.

Returning to the scene, and profession, may be harder than it ever was post-dotcom crash. But there will be also new opportunities for new starters, new founders to grab their chance and make things happen.

While I can not say it is the third thing I will do, I will definitely give it a shot. More than a shot even because it’s a world I thrive in myself. And that, that’s most important of all.

It would be stupid of me not to make it a “third thing” priority and mention as third thing something like a holiday trip or a sumptuous party with mates. Those can follow later.

Those will follow later.

Many will have to rebuild their lives #whencoronaends. I certainly do, so setting the right priorities matters.


Images via Unsplash