Lockdown reading: My current choice - What's yours?

in OCD4 years ago

I've been a voracious reader my whole life. I'm good it it, which probably sounds odd...I guess what I mean is that I read quickly but also absorb the material effectively; It means I churn through a lot of books. A lot.

I like many different books although history, war and fantasy are my favourite genres; It's always been difficult to define my main reading-interests though as I read very broadly. I try to stay away from the intellectual stuff though, as I'm not that smart...But smart enough not to pretend to be.

Today I thought it would be cool to share what I am reading right now and to invite others to do the same.

With lockdown around the world, and people probably having many more idle hours on their hands than usual...Well, we have to do something right? Reading seems like a pretty good option - One can't stare are YouTube and the TV or computer screen all day right? Right?

So...Here you go.



Vlad - The last confession (C.C. Humphreys)

Dracula is a name that seems to inspire horror, dark sensuality and deep depravity in people's minds. The story of Dracula has been told around the world for many years, a folk tale to scare children and adults alike...But what of the real Dracula?

Vlad Tepes, [Vlad III Dracula], commonly known as Vlad the Impaler, was the Romanian ruler of medieval Wallachia. Vlad was known for his abject cruelty and his penchant for impalement, among other things, but those two dark attributes being foremost.

The book Vlad takes the reader beyond simple cruelty though, and portrays him as a man, not simply a monster; Much more than a tyrant, crusader, mass-slaughterer, torturer and murderer...But also a lover and person with hopes, fears, dreams and desires...Like you and I.

The story is told by his closest confidants: The only woman he loved, but sacrificed, his closest comrade at arms, and his priest who betrays the secrets of the confessional to reveal the man behind Vlad Tepes, The Impaler.

The book burns with passion, hate, horror, betrayal and love and is full of graphic examples of Vlad's cruelty in torture, battle and in making examples of his enemies, [and sometimes friends.] One such element is the extremely graphic and detailed explanation of impalement - Not for the feint-hearted. The reader feels like they are there at the impalement a willing, but horrified, witness. There is many such scenes of horror and disgust.

The author takes the reader deep into a world of action, romance and intrigue through amazingly real characters and a story-line that twists and turns keeping one on the edge of their seat and hungering for more.

It is brutal, masterfully written and incredibly difficult to put down.



So, there you have it; This is what I'm reading at the moment. I'll be done in a day or so, maybe today in fact, and will move on but for now I'm engrossed in one of the most interesting and captivating stories I've ever read.

How about sharing what you're reading during the lockdown?

I'm not a fan of ebooks preferring the physical feel of a book in my hands but with many online sources there's no shortage of books to read and really no excuse not to be reading something.

Feel free to comment here and maybe consider doing a post about what you're reading right now.


Design and create your ideal life, don't live it by default - Tomorrow isn't promised.

Be well

Sort:  

Reading a book is a good habit. However, Nowadays my reading is limited to posts on Hive and answers on Quora. I prefer watching videos to reading a book.

Yes, that seems to be the way of it these days for most.

Oh man if we would only have one more Vlad Tepes in this country... He was one of the few leaders of Romanian territories that really fought for its people and land and not against it. During his reign in order to prove that his bloody methods actually worked, to make people honest again, he left a golden cup near a well with the famous known consequences for the one who would have stole it, and it staid there for years. The second day he was killed it got stolen.

With my people you can't turn them around other than by such methods. I know that we're living modern times, but the rooted behavior from those times hasn't died with Tepes. I always put him among Decebalus when counting the few true leaders that these lands had.

Here you have a Romanian movie scene in which he punished some of the thieves, beggars and other scumbags that he could gather tricking them into believing that they were actually invited to a party.

The actor playing the part of Vlad Tepes in my opinion portrayed him quite accurate. By the way, his name Dracula in Romanian is similar to Devil. He seemed to be a Christian though according to some historical data.

Here you have the entire movie with subtitles if you are interested in watching it. The quality is pretty poor but it might offer some details about him that the book won't.

I forgot...

photo_2020-03-27_12-33-40.jpg

The second read of it...

I'll check it out.

@for91days books are available for free till month ends. I think I will check that out it starts today!!!

You might as well if you have the time. Thanks for replying, I appreciate it.

Yes, I am also reading some story books by Mr. Humayun Ahmed, the renowned author of our country. This is a great way to transform lazy times nicely.

It's a great way to pass some time and take ones focus off the negativity of the situation, if only for a while.

Yes, its true. Besides with I am also trying play some indoor game with my son. :D

Hopefully you're finding enough to keep him occupied.

The newspaper's been an excellent reading material lately. I also looked to my right to find Liar's Poker by Michael Lewis which I never finished... I suppose now's an excellent time.

There's no better time than now to read something that you enjoy.

Thanks for replying, I appreciate it.

I probably should read some during all of this. I have just been trying to find crap to watch on Netflix or something, but i am quickly running out of stuff to watch. Luckily I get breaks from being home and still go to work, so I am not completely going mad yet.

Between Lego, reading, posting, TV and worrying about how I'm going to pay my mortgage I have enough to do. I'm still working from home too, for now, and so am keeping busy. I have to make some more ammunition too so that will give me something to do I guess.

It's an odd time, and I think over the next few weeks will get worse...Still, we'll deal with it and come through, even if a little beaten and battered.

Thank you for responding.

Hi @galenkp, your post has been upvoted by @bdcommunity courtesy of @hafizullah!


Support us by setting us as your witness proxy or delegating STEEM POWER.

JOIN US ON

This global lock down has it own advantage as I believe those that have been craving for holiday at least to be off the clock and possibly read some books. I always have a story book to read most especially for my student, but I'm going to read the power of subconscious mind. I started reading it some months ago but couldn't read it through.

Yes, some need an excuse to read although I suspect that those who don't find reading important enough to do in a normal environment will probably not do so in this abnormal environment. Good luck with your book, maybe you'll get through it this time.

Some fantastic reading material, and I too prefer physical copies than e-books. The smell and feel of paper, ahh... 😊. My reading material consists of Sherlock Holmes, and a lot of it. I've a compilation of the original short stories, and also some of the newer spin-offs. No matter how much I read it, I never get bored. Favourites include The Five Orange Pips, The Speckled Band, and The Boscombe Valley Mystery.

I haven't read any Sherlock Holmes myself but can see the attraction. Maybe I'll grab one and have a go.

If you get the compilation of short stories from the original Sir Arthur Conan Doyle collection, you'll be entertained for a while 😅... Plenty of good stuff there.

I'll check it out. I use bookdepository.com and they have almost everything.