You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: ENGAGE ON HIVE: Finding Beauty In Lockdown. The Most Amateur Photographer You Will Ever Meet!

in OCD4 years ago

It's been a good time for people to activate things in their life they might not have found the time to do...Of course those things are severely limited through lockdown measures I guess.

I've done a lot more reading (of books) than I would usually do with about 19 new books under my belt since Mid-March. I have also played around with some photography, macro to be exact.

I'm not photographer though and as yet haven't got anything I'd want to share. I'm more of a point and shoot hope for a decent result sort of snapper. You have thrown down a few decent pics here though, and isn't that the great thing with digital? You can take as many as you like. Back in the day (I'm 50) it was different when one had to pay for processing.

It seems you've got a lot on your plate with work, family and of course the blockchain but it's cool that you clearly bring it all together and weight it according to priorities and importance. That's an important skill.

I feel really disappointed that there's not going to be 100 winners for this little posting initiative, just two. There's been a gazillion good entries and it will be difficult to select just two. The good thing is that I have left the judging up to the other three delegators. I am shortlisting and they get to select the two winners. I hope that everyone who participated is proud of their entries and will continue to produce such fine work...And have fun too.

P.s. I had a pair of pants that were a little bit pants although I wore those pants until they were dead as I didn't want to waste my purchase. Lol.

Sort:  

Haha. You never cease to amaze! Even whilst drowning under the workload of the contest hear you are writing awesome comment all over the bloody platform lol.

I've done a lot more reading (of books) than I would usually do with about 19 new books under my belt since Mid-March.

Nice! That is a huge passion of mine, I love words, expressions and interesting 'turn of phrase', reading a wide variety of books aids this no end. The expansion of the mind is immense too. Macro, oh wow! that is a massive goal to try soon. I just love the amazing 'alienesque' insect shots in stunning detail that you don't usually get to appreciate.

Back in the day (I'm 50) it was different when one had to pay for processing.

Yup ((almost 48)) I remember waiting with my ticket at the local chemist/pharmacy the only place in my town where processing was done. The pain as you hand over a fortune and realise the film was spoiled or your thumb was constantly over the lens 😂

I feel really disappointed that there's not going to be 100 winners for this little posting initiative, just two. There's been a gazillion good entries and it will be difficult to select just two.

Nahhh. Don't, that's the nature of contests right. Most of us enter knowing the odds are vastly against us but then I don't think trying to win is really the point. It feels amazing to be engaging a lot and writing often again. This in so many ways is the actual reward.

I remember the old Chines proverb I think it was Confucius who said it...

"Pants must be worn until value has been realised."

Sorry to go onand on ((it's a curse!)) now you have to read my rambling response... ugh...

Thankyou so much for the engagement, it is more than appreciated my friend 😎

One cannot argue with the logic of the wise Confucius right? I am glad his, and my own, core-values align. Lol.

I think the best way forward here is to find reward in the things we can actually control, and that's our own writing and the amount, and effectiveness of, engagement. If we put our feelings of reward in other people's hands we are sure to be disappointed at some stage. Better that we control the controllable's including where, and in what we draw satisfaction and reward from as individuals.

I don't know how many times I got my photos back from the shop and looked at them thinking, why did I even bother. I still do it now, but can erase them and have another go. Talk about progress.

Thanks for your reply. All the best.