You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Weekend-engagement week five: Winners announcement

in OCD4 years ago

Thanks lady...Or umm, bug...Ah hell, just thanks! Lol.

I really appreciate you joining in...It's the people that enter and engage that makes it what it is. And...Yes a big thanks to the sponsors.

Sort:  

Both names works, hehe. I appreciate you holding the contest in the first place especially given how busy you were with the recent events and all your relatives visiting, it's a fun way to engage and loosen up. haha I hope you enjoyed your family time the best you could.

It gave me a good distraction to be honest and I didn't want to let people down by not doing it. I get a lot of enjoyment from it too and I think this sort of thing is good for the chain. It's a pleasure to do it and a pleasure to engage with folks like you.

Awwe, you are too sweet! I agree it's good for the chain, gets people communicating with one another, I noticed the comment per posts average is low overall and could significantly improve. I don't think anyone would have felt let down if you skipped because of circumstances but I understand needing the laugh and distraction it brings.

I built my account on engagement, leaving comments for people and engaging. It's so important. The problem is, people like you and I get it, many newbies don't. They leave comments like thanks and ok thinking that's engaging. It ain't.

You do a good job with it though, you're good to engage with.

Hehe, good to know I'm engaging! I always considered myself as mostly introverted. I could leave more comments around the chain being mostly the quiet reader but I have my moments and do try from time to time. Like you said, you and I get it, newbies need to learn that aspect for sure before being overly critical of the "rewards" and where they go. I also think the content delivery is important but it seems to be hard to get that message across newbies, some content is hard to engage with.

Like yours, my account grew from engaging others, that's the whole point of social media is to be social. I tried to stimulate engaging content creation contest by having a writing photography combo about something meaningful in their lives reserved to newbies and nobody entered, it had a decent prize pool and a line up of bigger accounts ready to vote on them too. I'm under the impression some of them think Hive is money for nothing and the chicks for free! lol

Interesting that you say about the comp thing. I've found that too, but I'm a sucker and keep trying. A chance to expose oneself to bigger accounts, engage, win rewards and advance ones account... Why the hell wouldn't people engage? It's weird huh?

I agree with your money for nothing comment. I never got any for nothing though, and I bet you didn't either. Reward for effort is my thing.

"Reward for effort" ...Exactly. I think anyone who is successful here worked hard and wrote a lot of posts or comments until their fingers fell off to get to the position they are. Relationships are important to building and retaining a following. It's like the iceberg theory, some judge at the surface but they don't see the work that has been put in long term and consistently, it's not an overnight success, plankton give up too easily these days. I wish they would give hive and themselves a chance, it takes a while to learn the groove of things around here but it's so fun and if an anti social person like myself can make it, anyone can!

I thought it was weird too, kinda disappointed. I ran it at a time where there was a lot of complaints about reward distribution and I even tried to fish them in as I welcomed them to the platform or saw complaints. Competitions are the best way to build a following early on even if we don't win, heck I still enter competitions and little games to meet new people. Guaranteed to meet like-minded individuals in niche areas and most of us who have been here a while take time to read every single comment left on a post.