You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How it Went Down On Christmas

in OCD • 3 years ago

Inwasmok with it right up until you mentioned those fucking minced pies...Now I.want some, but have none in the house, and it's all your fault! 🤣 Love them!

Now, I'm sick of saying happy new year so I'll say...mirthful not so old moment in time instead.

Sort:  

I love it when people send me to the dictionary.

Mirthful not so old moment in time to you and Faith as well! Had to look that one up, mirthful, thanks!

Mince pies. Oh man. First time I had one was in England. I'm not much of a "pie" guy and never really been a sweet tooth so I assumed it was a pie-pie, not a pot pie type delicious pie. Pura's nana over there told us about them so we tried it—sold!!

She was so happy when she found some here. :attention Americans reading: They're available at Cost Plus World Market. She ran into a Brit at a market here a few weeks ago and asked him, he knew exactly where they were.

You're on your second week off now yeah? Probably about 7 or 8 more to go. How's that treating you?

I've been known to heat those fruit mince pies with custard, cream, icecream...Whever is around I guess and, of course, nothing like a coffee and a couple of fruit mince pies to put a smile on your dial right? You're lucky you found them over there.

Yes, we're into the second week now, back to work on the 7th although I'll do bugger all on the 7th and 8th, just hive posts from work instead of home. 🙂

We've been doing a lot of moving and organising and, relaxing, reading and watching some shows and movies, playing board games. It's been good. It's not been too hot here, although hotter than I prefer and we've gone to the beach a few times. Overall an enjoyable time.

You guys been well?

Yeah sir we are well. Thank you. Got a few more of those Corona virus cases getting closer to home. Wishing they'd reopen these gates at the same time is about as oxymoron as it gets. All things considered, we're well, can't won't complain.

You guys don't have kids either?

Nah, no kids here mate, wasn't to be. I lament that scenario sometimes, but considering how fucked the world is I think maybe it's best. It allows us some more freedom to do things, live life; More time, freedom and finances I guess.

Corona virus...I'm so over it. We don't watch the news much but it's hard to avoid the bullshit really. It seems a date change had zero effect on the situation as so many were hoping. 2021 will be better...Lol, sure thing.

We're not much affected really, just our travel plans which sucks ass with much vacuum. But, we can only ride it out.

Travel plans. I don't wanna sound like a female dog but it didn't take long being parked like this we're both "I don't feel like parking yet." I hope the ride is almost over.

It wasn't my thing either. I really saw it as the ultimate "I want." And even in my 20's or whenever, seeing everyone around me having kids, I instantly realized a buncha my peers who don't know shit are having kids who are gonna expect them to know something some day.

It's kinda neat though isn't it, seeing everything from this point of view? The way everyone's life changes (rightfully so) the instant they have a child. I can look at them and know when they stopped growing for themselves and started growing for their kids whereas people like us don't stop.

Good stuff. Good times, this life thing.

Yeah, it's a life changing thing and I'm sure there are more benefits than negatives but it just wasn't meant to be for us. Faith also never had that desire, the drive, to have kids like many women feel. If it happened it would have been ok, that it didn't is equally ok.

I've seen so many people pur their own growth and development on hold and that's fine, for them, as their kids sort of dictate it to be...But we've been able to be us, to grow and develop without that pressure or responsibility, and it's given us a full life I think. Not that the other way is bad, just different.

We have to make the best of what we have and nature decided we don't have kids, in Faith and my case, and so we do other stuff. And have cats.

 3 years ago (edited) 

Let's make sure to continue this one when we're diving.

I will make mince pies for both of you @dandays and @galenkp. I nearly didn't this year...but then I did. Will return with proof if you don't believe me!!🤭

Posted using Dapplr

Home made mince pies are the best! I'll take a few dozen any day! 😀

 3 years ago (edited) 

You mean they're able to be served without a box? Oh I gotta see this.