You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Call of duty

in OCD3 years ago

I'm no hero...But my mate certainly is. Thank you though, I'm pleased to see someone with so much respect for vets; K9 operators too.

Yes, it was Ramstein, he was operated on there an held until he was stable. One of his legs was gone completely and they trued to save the other but it had to be removed later.

It seems you've had a lot of experience...Your comment about the C17's...Most see these planes and think nothing, but like you say, their cargo is often dead and wounded coming in and boots about to hit the ground in the sandbox. Chilling both ways I guess.

The wives (partners) of military personnel serve in their own way, some would say it's even more difficult and I wouldn't disagree. You've had first-hand experience and know what it's like, what it costs. Respect Anna, from me to you.

I would like to hear your story, some of it at least, although I completely understand your reluctance to open up just yet. I don't blame you of course. It would be an interesting perspective though.

One of my good mates took his own life a couple years ago and I help his family a little...She has opened up about the situation but it's very difficult for her so I don't press the issue. She'll talk when she wants to, as will you. Just know that people will listen.

Can I ask? You're German or American? I'm assuming German. Don't answer if you do not wish to, I'll not be offended.

Respect to all who serve.

Sort:  
Loading...