Water cabbage

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

2.jpg


I don't know what they are called. But these are those plants who float on water. Are they water lilies or different species of the same kind? I don't know, I know nothing about plants. XD




1.jpg



I don't know why they exist. What's their purpose. Why they look like that or some shit. I just find them beautiful.




3.jpg


Which is why I believe that you don't have to understand something to find it beautiful.


That's like one of my mottos in life.

I am the kind of person who may not understand most things. I don't know everything and I am aware of it. But it doesn't stop me from appreciating things. It shouldn't.

Sometimes, I even don't bother understanding something. Like, you know that feeling when you are so astonished about something and you appreciate it and you love it, but don't want to look into it more because you know it will be too hard for you to do so, but mostly because it will be a lot better to keep it that way?

Some things I don't try to understand because I enjoy it being mysterious.

Just like a work of art. You don't have to fully understand it to find it beautiful. And also love. Love is always mysterious and I want to keep it that way. I don't try to understand why I have love for someone, but rather, I enjoy it being a puzzle than it being a solved and complete picture.


Although sometimes there are just things that are needed to be understood. And sometimes things are better when they are understood. But people should be allowed to enjoy things even when they don't understand the whole thing. :)


So that's it. I hope you like the photos of the water cabbage that I took at a mini pond. :p



EDIT: Lmao I just did a quick Google search about "water cabbage" and apparently that term exists and it looks like that is really called a water cabbage hahahha. I thought I just called it a silly name.

Sort:  

An intuitive guess :)

I feel the same about understanding. Often it's necessary and enriching, but sometimes it can put us in a box. I guess theres also a difference in understandings, if it comes from personal experience, it may be different from the mainstream understanding, but my be more valuable for you.

I feel that way about music. I studied music in college, but in some ways i feel like i am much more creative when i dont think about any of the book learning and just use my ears.

That is true and applies to painting as well! I noticed when I think about the technical aspects of painting, it makes me overthink and like you said, put us in a box. Like you know these are rules and even though they aren't supposed to be followed, you just kinda got used to it and sometimes we overthink it. I could say it was easier to make art when I didn't know how to do it correctly than going to art school lol.

I actually was going to say: wow, you freaking nailed it painting these..
But, they are pictures lol.. still nice :)