The morning light casts the best shadows - more musings on light and photography

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

The bedroom window faces mostly East. As a result, the morning light, particularly in Winter, sneaks its way over the mountain, spilling through some foliage and scrubland, scatters across the foothills, and then makes its way through the trees.

Along the way, it nourishes a veritable forest of leaves, vegetation and growth, which is a strange concept in Australia, but the energy contained in that morning light feeds more plants and leaves that I could ever fathom counting.

Meanwhile, my alarm blares, to wake me for work. Each and every morning, when the cloud cover doesn't obscure the sun, scattering its rays away from the window, I'm met with the shadows cast by those light rays that didn't get to continue their journey onward through the universe.

20200709_081502.jpg

This is the essence of photography. You're capturing the never-ending dance of photons - whether they're emitted by a distant star, an artificial light, or have bounced off a reflective, shiny surface. While you're not generally encapsulating them on a physical substance these days, digital photography captures the impression those photons leave through much the same scientific process.

Expose something sensitive to light, to light. Process the "damage" the light has done to that surface. Then, you're left with an image. Photography is a simple science, and an even simpler artform.

These images are captures of what the morning light does to the walls and doors of my house each and every morning, when a star, thousands of kilometres away, just happens to rise over a distant horizon.

Photography is more than just capturing an image - it is a piece of physical documentation of the world around us. Without light - there would be no photography.

20200709_081716.jpg

These wraiths of shadow are comprised of light's journey - through leaf, through atmosphere, through space, through window, through curtain. The negative space "makes" the image, and the place where light still touches allows that negative space to exist.

I'm excited that after tomorrow, I'll be off "work" for two weeks, and have some photographic escapades planned to help me get re-acquainted with my creative side some more. It's been too long.

Sort:  

I can't wait to see what you are going to make, but at least you got me with your words. It is so true, no photography without light, and the emotions that you feel are exactly the emotion I want to capture as a photographer. Photography is so much more than just taking a picture. You indeed capture the essence of a subject in that one moment, that one place. A moment in time is frozen forever.

@hetty-rowan, thank you so much :)

Sometimes, I go into rambling rants about the essence of things. I'm a deep thinker :D

The weather looks to be good for the first of my organised shoots, and I've just finished work for the last time for two weeks. A short break - but one that I plan to make the most of - some new faces, some familiar, but all the same, me, the camera, a person, and the unyielding light! :)

I blame wine for this comment not being a reply to the reply on my post.

A likely story.

The exact story. I have only but a glass left from the bottle I opened earlier this evening!

Oh damn XD are you good today? :D

Yep, I was at a friend's house for most the day eating curry and playing multiplayer games on the Switch and PS4. :)

Is that the wall or the curtain? Either way nice shadow show to get up to :) My curtains are too thick for that but I don't mind as they also conveniently help with temperature regulation XD

Yay for two weeks off!

The wall, or perhaps a door. Some white painted surface. :) The curtain has left its mark. :)