You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Obstacles to putting pen to paper — why we don't write

in OCD • 4 years ago

You hit the nail on the head again @d-pend (hey! that rhymed 😄)
I am my own worst critic is my favorite thing to inhibit my
Creativity, and it is true; nothing I do seems to be good
Enough for me and my standards. Accepting a "pat
on the back" (compliment) has always been
Difficult (to say the least) for me, even
When deep inside I know what I
Did or said was Worthy of
Said praise. I learn still
Each day, and take it
Into myself as a
Whole. I hope.

Sort:  

I'm right there with you Jerry. Thanks for the reply! !engage 30

Thank you Daniel, when I saw the notification, I thought you were coming to reply to my second reply on the "Cautionary concepts" post.
I regret that I didn't get back to actually read it closely until tonight.
I tried to "Artfully" reply with something in kind, yet with an underlying meaning.
But yes, I think that WE ( or I am at least) am never satisfied with our work.
I once had a pencil sketch taped to the side of a filing cabinet in our dining room.
Every night as I sat eating supper, I would study that sketch, get up and added a
Little more lead here, erase or smudge/blend a little there.
That went on for months. I won an award at a nearby college for that drawing (I was still in highschool) and I carried it with me for 20 yrs or more in my moving around.
Finally, a vengeful landlord let his minions destroy many of my works in an eviction.
That was a horrible night for me.
(sighs) Sorry for being so long winded. Good night my friend



@jerrytsuseer you have received 30 ENGAGE from @d-pend!
View and trade the tokens on Steem Engine.


This tip bot is powered by witness untersatz!

@jerrytsuseer,

Jerry ... stop picking on Jerry!

As Aristotle opined 2,600 years ago, Virtue is to be found between two extremes of Vice.

You will find very few great artists that are not self-critical for it is that self-criticism that drives them to perfect. And make no mistake, one does not achieve perfection without striving for it. That said, when perfectionism becomes pathological, it paralyzes, and hence becomes counter-productive. At some point, you simply have to say "no more," publish and live with the consequences.

If, at first, you can't find that balance on your own, find a mentor with a mouth bigger than your own. Everything has its place, including tyranny.

Quill

What an unusual reply! Enlightening as well.
If only I could put that admonition into play, but alas, at this late stage of life,
I seriously doubt I could effect such a significant "self change". I've been trying to
Do just that for years, (and believe it or not, I am really a lot better now days)
And I HAVE "said no more", published (or rather posted) and am still living with
The negative repercussions
(rocketing around inside my own head, echoing with cries of: "You should have left out that last paragraph" etc...)
but I take your meaning @quillfire, and I REALLY do appreciate the comment, encouragement and input.
Thank you so much!!