Hive Creative Contest || Oh Brother!!🙀

in OCD4 years ago

When I was your age!!

The things we used to do!!

Back in the day!!

🙃

My kids may be tired of hearing me repeat my stories but perhaps you'd be interested 😁
There are so many but I'll share 3.

girlinwhitecapsleevedboatneckdressonleafbranch1267842.jpg
Photo by zorro zombie from Pexels

Climbing Trees
This was probably one of my favourite pastimes. But only when I visited my parents during the school holidays. I lived with my grandmother and aunties in a very tiny flat - 500 sq feet, one-bedroom, one-bathroom shoebox.

So when we (as in my brother and I) went to visit my parents who lived in landed property, in a small town called Bidor, we'd go crazy and spend most of our days outside. The house was a stand-alone, surrounded by coconut trees, guava trees, and a mango tree, flowers, vegetables, chicken coop - so you can imagine the space.

The mango tree was my favourite. I'd spend hours just sitting on the branch at least 3 metres up in the air, daydreaming, talking to my brother who had his own favourite branch just a little higher than mine. Sometimes we'd bully my sister who could get really annoying. She still got to live with my parents because she was not of school-going age yet - I wonder if that had anything to do with it😅. So, she would be crying wanting to climb up but unable to. We'd just tease her and sometimes eat a mango and throw the skin at her. Hey, it was just skin!! It didn't hurt!! But we would get such a scolding from Mum!!

gimmmmmm259.jpg

Photo by Tatiana Syrikova from Pexels

Now back to the flat we stayed in during school semesters. My brother and I, yes the tag team!! We wanted to own a shop and sell things. So we found an empty TV box, cut out a window on one side with the flap opening out like a table.

Then we set it up at the lift area. Brought out all our stationaries and tried to sell them off. We had one faithful customer (my brother's friend) who bought a tonne of things from us - on credit. So we'd write his tab up on this little Buku Tiga Lima (a notebook which is like a ledger). No, he never paid us and a few years back, he apologised.🤦‍♀

girlholdinggolfbag1325674.jpg
Photo by Jopwell from Pexels

The last story - So, I really didn't like staying with my grandmother and aunties and the feeling was mutual. Let's leave it at that. So I decided to run away. They adored my brother but our bond was really strong and he decided he'd run away with me.

So, we started planning. What would we need to survive? Where would we keep them til we were ready?

The plan - add to our survival kit bit by bit so no one would notice and we'd keep the stuff in our school bags. The only place safe, since we were living in a tiny house, that didn't really have a place to hide stuff.

So, in our survival kit - a Saree that would act as a tent. Onions and garlic because we need to cook, we were saving eggs for last. And before we could add more stuff, someone spotted the saree in my bag at school, took it out and waved it around. Kids made fun of me, teacher wanted to know why I had brought it to school and that was the end of our running away plan!!

Thank goodness that plan fell through. A saree, onions, garlic and eggs? Really?

❣️❣️❣️❣️❣️❣️❣️

We had such good times my brother and I. Hope you had a little fun taking that trip back in time with me. Thank you @zord189!! It was fun reminiscing😃. When I saw it, I knew I was going to take part.

Interested in doing your own little trip back in time, then check it out HERE
.
.
That's it from me. Thank you for reading. Til next time, Carpe Diem❣️

Sort:  

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Great memories, indeed!

The "survival kit" was epic. Glad it got busted before you were able to put the eggs. 😁

Yah it was so silly!!
But now, when I think about - it was such good times 😁