My Hive Introduction

in OCDlast year (edited)


Image courtesy of Amazon.com https://www.amazon.com/Brave-Not-Perfect-Fear-Bolder/dp/1524762334/ref=nodl_?dplnkId=b7526a7d-0775-4dc3-951e-63994e51a26d

Brave, not Perfect.This is how I choose to live. This is how I now describe myself. I was gifted a book with that title written by Reshma Saujani a couple of years back because I was having an existential crisis. When I first saw it, I was honestly insulted. A self-help book? Seriously? But eventually, I got around to reading it and once I started, I couldn’t put it down. The stories and messages really resonated with me and they really changed my perspective on life.

All About Me
Hi everyone, my name is Kim and I was invited to hive by @outwars. I was born and raised in the Philippines and then moved to California after I graduated college. I’ve moved around quite a bit and am now settled in Hawaii with my husband and two daughters, along with our 2 rescue dogs.

Professionally, I am a nurse, and I have been practicing for over a decade. But when I am asked to describe myself, my response is always that I am a mother of 2. I honestly never wanted kids but now? I am completely in love with them. They really do change you.

About my existential crisis, I came to a point where I felt that I have compromised on everything and didn’t really get to just go after what I really want. Then one day, I woke up and love happened and I am not where I truly want to be. I’ve always joked about how I seemed to always get the opposite of what I say. For example, I never wanted to be a nurse, it was a stepping stone for medical school but here I am. I never wanted to be in the US and dreamed of living in Europe, but here I am. I disliked doctors and yet, I got married to one. Thus, the crisis. But I have since chalked it all up to everything happening for a reason. I love my little family and if it weren’t for everything I had to go through, I might not have ended up with them which would have been devastating.

Passion-wise, I’ve always wanted to be an actress. Not for the glitz and glamour, but because I enjoyed the escape it provides, getting to live as someone else for a little while. I did end up doing some things but I never really got to pursue it because it was viewed by my family as a hobby and not a real career. I remember Jokoy’s comedy bit about Filipino parents “shitting on their children’s dreams” and it hits a little too close to home. Honestly, when I graduated high school, no one thought I would be in the healthcare field. I was always branded as creative because I loved performing, although, I did always have a good head on my shoulders.


Image disclaimer: this was taken over 10 years ago so I do t look like this anymore but a girl can dream.

Recently, I came into another crisis, getting post partum depression after my second child. That coupled with the pandemic exacerbated my mental health issues and I was extremely depressed and anxious. Recently though, I rediscovered my creative side and found that it helped with my anxiety. Being who I am, I voraciously watched and read and researched everything I could find about what I can do with my art that a week later, I’ve opened an Etsy store with designs I created from my photos and some graphics, submitted photos on a few websites to be considered for stock photography, and I have written and illustrated 3 children’s books that I self-published on Amazon. Yes, I have been busy and I’ve continued to be.

Needless to say, I am a go-getter. I go 1000% at everything I do and I don’t accept failure. This is of course not healthy but I can’t help it. I often find myself completely immersed in creating more designs and products on Canva, writing more books, editing photos on Lightroom, and researching about SEOs and advanced optimization until 2am because I have to constantly improve and produce and succeed. What can I say, I am a Leo born on the year of the Tiger. Go figure.

So, that is what you can expect to read about from me. My (mis)adventures in the world of small business ownership, what I’ve learned on this crazy journey, and perhaps a few posts about how overwhelmed I am (looking at you @emotions and feelings community!). But I will also post about motherhood, mental health, and movies and tv shows since all that makes up about all of what I do. I am also a foodie/alcohol lover and an avid traveler so I will post about those too.

I hope to be able to bring valuable contributions to the communities I join and to be able to use Hive as an outlet and a listener. I look forward to reading everyone’s posts and getting inspired and motivated.

P.S. I would absolutely appreciate getting feedback about my work and I am open to any tips or advice or even just words of encouragement.

Thank you!

Sort:  
Loading...

You are very much welcome to the WeAreAlive tribe, good to have you.

I send you a very warm welcome to Hive! Thank you so much for sharing so much about yourself in your introduction post! Hive is a huge, rapidly-developing ecosystem, with a lot going on, so it takes time to take it all in and learn it well. Take it one bite at a time, and you won't be overwhelmed!

There are several things I could say from what you wrote, but for the moment I'll just say that I think you'll easily find your place and flow here. Failures are part of success, stepping stones to success, not the opposite of it. They are how we learn and grow.

I also live in Hawai'i, but likely very differently from you. I live off-grid in an intentional community, way out in the jungles of Lower Puna, on the far eastern tip of the Big Island. I can't imagine living anywhere else, or in any other way.

I hope that your time here is fun, meaningful, and fulfilling! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

I agree with what you said about failures. I’m continuing to learn and remind myself of that. Again thank you so much for the warm welcome. It truly is wild here but I am having fun exploring. People have been really kind and welcoming this far, offering tips and help and advice so I don’t feel too overwhelmed.

Absolutely, you're very welcome! Hehe...it is wonderfully wild here, yes! It's great to hear that you're having fun exploring, as these is so much to explore! I'm very grateful that people here have been kind and welcoming to you! The whole basis of Hive is that we are all in this together, and that we rise by lifting other, so helping others here is a very natural thing, which is beautiful! I've been collecting lots of useful information to help newbies orient, if you'd like it. Lots of very useful reads! 😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

I would very much appreciate anything you can share for sure, thank you!

Loading...

my name is Kim and I was invited to hive by @outwave

Hello Kim, welcome to HIVE! Good first post! Keep at it, don't get discouraged if you don't get a lot of interaction or upvotes right away, but keep posting and you'll build a good following!

!ALIVE

@kimbuhay! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ironshield. (8/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Thank you, I really appreciate the encouragement. I’m not worried, I just love being able to write about things I love and share them with others.

Welcome to hive, your work is awesome and supperb. I will love to see read more from you

Thank you, I appreciate that! I will try my best not to disappoint!

Warm welcome to hive friend.

Hive is a great blogging blockchain. Congrats and welcome to hive.

Welcome to Hive my friend look forward to following your journey
@kimbuhay
As an extra reward for spotlighting on @heartbeatonhive here are some tips have a blessed and wonderful day
heartbeatonhivesentyoutips (6).png
!ALIVE
!CTP
!PGM
!PIZZA
!MEME
!BBH

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS tokens to @benthomaswwd

remaining commands 2

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


@kimbuhay! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @benthomaswwd. (8/20)

@kimbuhay! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @benthomaswwd. (8/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Welcome to Hive my friend have an amazing weekend
@kimbuhay
@tydynrain nominated you for a prize in the draw
!ALIVE
!BBH
heartbeat-on-hive-nomination.png

@kimbuhay! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @heartbeatonhive. (3/20)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

@kimbuhay! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @heartbeatonhive. (3/20)

😁 🙏 💚 ✨ 🤙

Welcome to Hive @kimbuhay! 😃 Hope you find it to be an enjoyable journey into the communities here, have you ever tried short form blogging too? 😉 Warm greetings from @dbuzz, cheers! 🥂
received_313866740146440.webp
D.Buzz is a great place for you to freely express what you want with our microblogging platform. Feel free to make an introduction post and let the community know who you are. 🐝
!ALIVE

@kimbuhay! You Are Alive so I just staked 0.1 $ALIVE to your account on behalf of @ilovewintergem. (1/10)

The tip has been paid for by the We Are Alive Tribe through the earnings on @alive.chat, feel free to swing by our daily chat any time you want.

Sorry about my comment above, that was for someone else. But thank you! Yes, I am definitely grateful to be alive. I will check out your page for sure!

👍🙏😍

Thank you! I don’t know about short form microblogging, but would definitely love to learn more! I’m always interested in expanding my knowledge so I would appreciate any links or reading material.

Thank you! Um, I might’ve posted my response to you on another comment. Whoops! Sorry about that. But, I wanted to say that I don’t know about short form blogging but I most definitely want to learn so any information you can share would be much appreciated!

Welcome to Hive! I hope you can explore the different communities here, and I know you have a lot of things you can share. There is something Cathartic to writing about our experiences, and I hope you enjoy them as I have.

Thank you! I agree. I appreciate you introducing this wonderful community to me. I’m still a bit tentative but you’re right, I do have quite a bit to share so I’m sure I’ll get there!

Congratulations @kimbuhay! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You received more than 10 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 50 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

HiveBuzz rewards participants in the Afri-Tunes Anniversary event
Keep Hive Buzzing - Support our proposal!
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Thank you! I really appreciate everyone who upvoted and responded. It’s validating and feels wonderful to be welcomed.

You are welcome @kimbuhay! It is great to see you are doing your first steps on Hive! Great work!

Hello @kimbuhay! This is @traciyork from the @ocd (Original Content Decentralized) curation team. We noticed you shared your first post here on Hive and introduced yourself to the community - congratulations and welcome!

Speaking of community, we have many different ones here on the blockchain, devoted to all kinds of interests. Here's a link so you can check them all out - Hive Communities. Based on what you've shared, I think you'll find these interesting to start off with -

Motherhood Community

Haveyoubeenhere Community

Emotions & Feelings

Also, as Hive can sometimes be quite confusing, the newly launched Newbies Guide should be helpful to you, as it is a growing repository of useful and easy to understand posts about how the Hive ecosystem works. For instance, there's a post in the collection called 3 things Newbies should do in their first week on Hive that you might find helpful.

Please be aware that Hive is a bit different from other social media platforms since you are monetizing your blog, so it is important not to include content that you don't own without sources (and it shouldn't exceed 50% of the post). For more information, check this post - Why and How People Abuse and Plagiarise by hivewatchers.

I'm sure @outwars will continue to help you as you begin your Hive journey, but if you have any questions, feel free to hop into the OCD Discord server and we'll do our best to answer them, and again welcome to Hive!

Thank you! I appreciate the warm welcome I’ve received so far. The learning curve has definitely been a bit overwhelming but @outwars is a great mentor so I am not quite as lost as I would normally be. I did join a couple of communities already except for the have you been here so I will definitely check that out. I appreciate you reaching out and offering to help! I know I’ll need every tip/advice/help I could get!

Welcome to the Hive community @kimbuhay!
We sincerely hope you find everything you are looking for and have found a new home here.

Seven suggestions to consider:

  1. Guard your passwords carefully, and only publish with the posting key,
  2. Use your active key only for wallet transactions, Keychain, Peaklock, and Hivesigner,
  3. The master password and the owner key are only used to reset compromised passwords,
  4. DO NOT lose your password or keys; copy and store offline,
  5. Do not publish other people's work, be it photos or written, without credit, and be sure to source all of your work, even if it is your own.
  6. An introduceyourself tag is used only once , and
  7. DO NOT OPEN any links in memos or comments that you do not know who they belong to. If it sounds too good to be true it probably is, so the old saying goes. There is nothing free here.

I found you because @brittandjosie and @jamerussell from @heyhaveyamet presented and promoted your publication to get more exposure and help you grow faster.

If you find yourself overwhelmed and need some guidance, or if you have any questions, there are informed Hiveans available who can help you; you can click to go to The Terminal in Discord here:

Have fun and happy Hiving!

Hi, very nice to meet you and thank you for such sage advice! I will keep that in mind for sure and will take them to heart. Thank you @brittandjosie and @jamerussell for the promotion, I really appreciate you guys and am looking forward to your reading more of your posts too! Will definitely check out @heyhaveyamet and the other suggestions. You all make me all warm and fuzzy!

Thats great a warm welcome is what you need here
Good luck

That's so funny that you've always seemed to get the oppisite of what you wanted !LOLZ but it sounds like you have a nice life, also your dogs are so cute!

Being creative you'll love it here, there are tons of writing communities and also tons of art communities and a lot of really great people who will give feedback on posts, and let you know tips and suggestions to improve yourself.

I joined about a year ago, and since then my writing has improved so much, and I've met some really cool people.

Some advice would be explore a little bit, post in a few different communities to get a feel for what's out there, and don't worry if a post of yours doesn't get a lot of votes; it doesn't mean it's bad, it's just bad timing.

!PIZZA !LUV !PGM

Sent 0.1 PGM - 0.1 LVL- 1 STARBITS - 0.05 DEC - 1 SBT - 0.1 THG - 0.000001 SQM - 0.1 BUDS tokens to @killerwot

remaining commands 0

BUY AND STAKE THE PGM TO SEND A LOT OF TOKENS!

The tokens that the command sends are: 0.1 PGM-0.1 LVL-0.1 THGAMING-0.05 DEC-15 SBT-1 STARBITS-[0.00000001 BTC (SWAP.BTC) only if you have 2500 PGM in stake or more ]

5000 PGM IN STAKE = 2x rewards!

image.png
Discord image.png

Support the curation account @ pgm-curator with a delegation 10 HP - 50 HP - 100 HP - 500 HP - 1000 HP

Get potential votes from @ pgm-curator by paying in PGM, here is a guide

I'm a bot, if you want a hand ask @ zottone444


Thank you! Yes, it really seems that way, everyone has been so kind and welcoming. And yes, I’m definitely more interested in feedback and learning to improve, not so much on the views since I know that if I put out stuff of quality, then those will just organically happen. Appreciate you stopping by!

That's the best attitude to have! It's a really fun place with a lot of cool people! I'm looking forward to seeing what kind of content you put out!

PIZZA! PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@benthomaswwd(8/10) tipped @kimbuhay (x1)
killerwot tipped kimbuhay (x1)

Please vote for pizza.witness!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @thekittygirl on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, and each individual living their best life. Come join the Inner Blocks Community , and check out @innerblocks! #lifehappening