Sort:  

I know it sounds crazy but I am actually excited for these times. Think about it, with deep fakes, shit content being the mainstream, the people who want to build themselves will have to become something else. This means, a new "new" which the AI won't be able the generate and perhaps the essence of being human. Perhaps I am romanticizing the thing and, we will just do things so stupid that people will know it's human, but idk. I have faith. Haha

Already happening on YouTube. The amount of rendered voices I accidentally stumble across with shitty generated backgrounds is beyond belief. Even people trying to be real content creators don't are not bothering to actually be on screen or use their own voices anymore. That way they can produce hundreds of videos in a few hours, instead of 1 video per week.

yeah man. Part of my recent purchase of older Nvidia machine learning cards was actually to play with GeneFace which is an audio to video "deepfake" technology from a team in China..

With a good speech synthesizer and enough videos to train GeneFace models on, a person possessing enough computing power can create videos that are basically imperceptible from the real thing with people they know saying whatever the hell you want.

Should be a hell of a tool to create and/or combat fake news / false narratives..!

There's a ton of both hilarious and scary Joe Biden deep fakes now lol... Damn if you could do that as an individual... the future is chaotic to think about XD

If you want the GeneFace code, let me know. Need a decent Nvidia GPU to run it though.

it was released by the creator then taken down because 4chan was going wild with it.. XD

I do have a copy of it though. lemme know.

Cool! For me though, I'm far too illiterate to even consider it. Best to stick with what I know and enjoy the outcomes of those who can ^_^