Thoughts from my village - RIP Aunt

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Hello everyone.

I was at my village (Konitsa,GR) for my aunt's funeral yesterday (RIP AUNT)

IMG_20200712_192926.jpg

She died 2 days ago at the age of 86. She was my grandfather's younger sister and she lived a really happy life. She had 4 kids who gave birth to 10 grandchildren so you can safely assume that she passed away in peace and fulfilled.

She died from cancer. She started getting weaker and weaker all of a sudden the past couple of months and since she was really old there was no point in trying to save her with chemotherapy, it wouldn't work.

My aunt was Muslim and it was the first time I attended a Muslim funeral. It is quite different than a Christianic funeral. More than 100 people gathered at her hourse before she was take to the graveyard and after the ritual the Muslim priest asked us if she was a good woman 3 times. I later on learnt that this is a tradition in Muslim culture and if no one has a complain about the dead then they are accepted to "heaven".

IMG_20200712_193240.jpg

I really loved my aunt but I also couldn't see her suffering so passing away fast and painless was better for both her and all us (her relatives).

I haven't "lost" many people in my life until now but the one's I lost were really close to me. My aunt's death had me thinking about my choices in life. She was a simple woman. She never wanted riches or big houses etc. The only thing she wanted was to take care of her garden, drink a Greek traditional coffee with her neighbours and everyone to be healthy. She was always smiling and turning negative thoughts and situations into positive ones.

Shouldn't we all be like that?

Money, fame and flex are fun but there is no point in accumulating all of these if you have no one to share them with. You can't hug your house nor you can say I love you to your fat wallet. Well, you can but it definitely won't answer you back.

Accumulating wealth is not bad by all means. I want to be able to live a comfortable life but the thing I want more is to be able to share my wealth with the people I love. Seeing my mother smile and telling me that she is proud of me is priceless. That's what I want to achieve too, to be able to say the same things to my children one day and in the same time provide them with everything they need.

Life is a game and we need to achive the most we can before it's game over

IMG_20200712_192419.jpg

We took the dog out for a walk with my father after the funeral. "Aoos" river is "Biggie's" (my dog's) favourite place to play and mine and my father's favourite place to walk.
We found some wild mint while we were walking alongside the river.
It smelled so nice.

IMG_20200712_192434.jpg

We didn't stay for long 'cause it was already sunset and wild boars come to the river after sunset to drink water and eat. My dog is a hunting dog and once he smells the wild boars he goes crazy and wants to chase them.
Once he just run away from me and my father near the river and returned 30 minutes later with wounds all over his body and full of blood.
We immediately took him to the vet and he told us that these are wounds from wild boars lol. He also told us that he was really lucky to survive from such an attack!

IMG_20200712_192618.jpg

It was time to return back to Ioannina city after having some fun near "Aoos" river.

IMG_20200712_193152.jpg

It was a weird yet an educational day. Thanks for reminding me what matters most in life aunt.
REST IN PEACE AUNT (1934-2020)


Thank you all for reading and supporting me guys. As a full-time online hustler, upvoting my content allows me to keep doing what I love.
Much love to everyone and always have fun.
*
@Knowhow92

Find me Here

🏡 Hive: https://www.peakd.com/@knowhow92
☕️ Ko-fi : https://ko-fi.com/knowhow92
☀️ Lbry : https://lbry.tv/@knowhow92:d
📹 Dtube :


📷 Instagram : https://www.instagram.com/haris_housos/
📹 fTR_Crew Youtube channel : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCVrLX4OeK23BFsj7FQcAH2g
📹 Knowhow92 Youtube channel : https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCJTNnvAHca8jcxaBpWn-bzA
📱 Twitter : https://twitter.com/theocharis_ch

Sort:  

Sorry for the loss of your aunt man! That’s a tough time indeed. I’ve lost most of the older family members like that who are important to me and it’s sad for sure. I’m glad that she didn’t have to suffer. Doing chemo is often times worse than doing nothing at all because of all the awful side effects, which you would then end up seeing so I’m glad your family didn’t make her suffer through that, seriously.

We don’t tend to appreciate the life we have in a lot of ways, at least I didn’t until we had our son. I don’t know if you’re going to marry your girl and have kids but things like that change you and you have a different perspective on life and things of that nature. It’s not all about having the biggest house, the fanciest cars. It’s about being happy, having loving people with you and feeling good in your situation. That’s what matters the most, in my opinion.

I’m glad you had these meaningful thoughts, even if the situation wasn’t ideal, it’s good to take a step back to appreciate what you’ve got.

Thanks for the awesome comment bro! I lost my father's sister from cancer some years ago. She was only 55 and it all started as breast cancer which some months later mutated to brain cancer. She was doing chemo and she didn't make it. I still remember visiting her to the hospital with my father at her final days and it was a really "bad" experience.

We have no plans to get married or have children for now but I can definitely understand what you are saying! We must be happy with the things we have and not be greedy. Love is all man

No matter how rich one can become, no one can live forever. A rich lonely man may not be a happy man and a poor man with family and friends may be rich in relationship.

!tip

Definitely agree my friend and thank you for the tip! Love is all that matters in the end..

Brother, I am very sorry, as you say, I was already an older person and lived his life very happy, sometimes older people are so wise, they have a lot of knowledge, it is very nice to enjoy everything we have with the people we love, our relatives, life is a journey full of lessons brother, a big hug my friend.

Thank you for your supportive message brother. Older people can teach us so much G and death is a part of life so we must accept every loss.
A big hug to you too my friend 👊👊☀

I am so sorry for the loss of your aunt, let her rest in peace. The most important thing that matters to me is what we share with others, and what we gain from them. If you gain wealth, power, fame ( they are all desirable), you are something to you. And that's fine, to feel important as a human being. But if you share feelings, experience, love, affection (they are very hard to find) , you are something to someone else and that gives you more physical and mental wellness. Remain as simple as you can...

Thank youfor your kind comment @puellacreativa. Asyou said, remain as simple as you can 💯💯💯

Sorry brother, she's in a better place now friend. :(

Yeah man, I am not sad at all! I would be sad if she suffered!
Thanks for your kind words Ramon