Traversing the Saint Croix River!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Hey, friends! I’ve been moving’ and shakin’ this last week. I was in a bit of a funk, which I found odd during Leo season […as a Leo myself]. I was short on creative energy and finding myself stuck with decision paralysis. Too many projects, all of them enticing, but not being able to commit to one. At @eos.detroit, we’ve been figuring out our Q3 art trajectory, waiting to hear from partners while deciding what’s best for us as a company and team. I’ve also been trying to catch up on lingering photography that I’ve still owed clients; from the quarantine sessions, mostly.

I finally emerged from the low when @roadscape, @lovejoy and some friends invited me and @vermillionfox to join them on on a canoe/kayak trip down the St. Croix river. I’ve only done something like this one other time in my life, invited by @bonni, my mom. It was a nightmare, honestly. @guthrie was terrified of dragonflies and they were everywhere. He had the closest thing to a panic attack I think a five year old is capable of, my step dad, in his 70’s, flipped his kayak, I jumped in to save him and fried my iPhone 6 in the water, all within 60 seconds or less.

This trip stared out precariously, as we all left the shelter of the pavilion. It had been raining on and off, but with a break in the weather, we thought we had it under control. We were wrong. Once we were all on the water, we were trapped in a torrential downpour that last 45 minutes. Our canoes were even taking on water and we had to stop to empty them out. Our friend Zoë managed to get me to laugh by screaming, “….this is like Apocalypse Now!”. It sucked for a while, but eventually, the clouds did begin to part.

▶️ Watch on 3Speak

I broke out the Mavic Air 2 drone. I’d brought it along hoping to capture us all together paddling down this beautiful river […and it truly is. @lovejoy told me he thinks it’s one of the cleanest rivers in the US]. I’m so glad I did. That, along with my D750, I was able to capture some great moments on the water with friends. I cherish memories much more than “stuff”. It was great for my mental and emotional health and I feel really fortunate to have good people in my life. Enjoy this little video I cut up and some photography from the day.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Did you hear, Ride of the Valkyries as the rain poured?

HAHA! My son just started playing Fornite and showed me you can do that during the helicopter rides. I had to show him that scene [before the bombing] so he understood the context. Yes, though, @tarazkp. It was definitely going through my mind, lol

I hear it in my head while reading this comment :)

What an awesome time you were able to have. It does look like a really beautiful river. It also looks like there isn't a ton of debris in it. Some of the rivers around here you spend more time dodging stuff than actually enjoying the river.

I think the Mississippi is like that here, @bozz, sadly. This was great. About 45 minutes outside of Minneapolis. It seemed untouched.

I can't believe how good that drone footage is :o
Also, how calm the water was!

Yeah, @tarotbyfergus. If you'd seen what we were trapped in an hour early, it wasn't calm at all, but once the clouds parted and the sun came out, it was amazing. That drone is probably still my best government cheese purchase, lol.

Exelente post, y una muy buena desicion, en todo esa travesia, gracias por compartir, te dejo mi voto y te sigo.

Very nice adventure, @kommienezuspadt!

I like this kind of "crazy" rides, haha!

Thank you, @wiseagent. Yeah. The trip gave us the full spectrum of the nature experience. We weren't spared the torrential downpour.

This is beautiful and looks so relaxing!

Thank you, @jangle. It was exactly what I needed.

Beautiful river ... will need to try there some day.

It really was, @offgridlife. Highly recommended.

Wow it's wonderful

Wow! It's amazing, i can't believe how calm the water was.

That’s a nice river. You paddle along the bluffs of Taylor Falls? That’s my favorite section.