May freewrite on art, COVID-19 and what comes next!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Freewrite time! You know why? My 2012 MacBook Pro is doing it’s very best to chug out a 37 minute video tutorial on editing underexposed photos. I was planning on posting that tonight, but by the time thing poor old thing is done encoding and it uploads to @threespeak, it’ll be far past my bedtime. About the only application that is able to run during this heavy video processing is my notes app, so I’m going to sit here and write. It’s really not a bad idea because my brain is kind of fried right now. All this technology; I need to unplug.

Some commentary on the last week, and the weeks leading up to it. When this pandemic got serious, and stay at home orders began, I got serious about converting our spare room in to a recording/streaming studio. I have this really good psychological alarm system when I recognize that a situation could potentially make me depressed. Usually, it’s not that hard. Just stay productive. This, though, was different. @caffetto is such a big part of my life and I’d be looking at weeks or months that I wouldn’t be there.

I decided my space at home had to be comfortable and able to capitalize on inspiration when it happened. @vermillionfox and I painted, rearranged. I hung all our antique frames as a backdrop. In addition to that, I’ve been working on converting the basement in to a writing room. I’m actually running to pick up a vintage chaise lounge/daybed tomorrow that will “almost” complete the ensemble. It turned out to be the right move. I actually love being home now.

Once the space was ready, the investment began. I spent a lot of money these last two months. All of my savings, which is pretty reckless considering the circumstances. I bought a Shure SM7B, a Manfrotto tripod and fluid head, over $100 in cables, an Elgato streaming capture card, and most recently, a DJI Mavic Air 2. I’m trying to shed my hatred of being on camera and speaking, which I am. I’m finally seeing results and I know I made the right decision. It’s an uncomfortable transition.

The catch 22 is now I do feel like I need a technology cleanse. Maybe not as much as @lovejoy. He just made a post on Voice about foraging for berries in the woods. I’m not there yet, but between the distance/virtual shoots and trying to pull of documenting the process for each, it’s just too much. It actually feels good to just sit here and write words straight from my brain. Tomorrow, I’m going to hang out with @vermillionfox and @guthrie and garden.

I’m kind of just venting a bit. I’m generally pretty happy with life, aside from the coronavirus and government overreach on a global scale. HA! “…aside from”. I have a couple of friends that are in a dark place right now. Extroverts that can’t hang with this kind of isolation. I think I made good choices; event he ones that were somewhat irresponsible initially. Getting my hands in the soil tomorrow should set things straight, and then I can get back to the art output. Thanks for reading.

Sort:  

It sounds like you have quite the setup there. I actually miss being in my office at work because of all the technology I have at my fingertips there. I have created a decent space at home, but it doesn't feel the same. Have fun working the soil this week. I plan on getting my garden up and running really soon.