Android

in OCD4 years ago

Android - Liquid ink, micro pigment ink pen, Hahnemühle 300 gsm watercolor paper, some pose inspiration from this

Drawing an android was on my backlog for some time now. As I was watching Dark on Netflix thanks to @tarazkp recommendation, which is pretty great btw and quite a mindfuck, I began sketching this bulb/acorn droid head. It amused me as it has this blank, resting bitchface, I’ ma fuck you up expression, maybe you can even hear her say Hasta la vista, baby, and she probably uses her hair as a shield and a cloak at the same time, so I kept working on it.


I don’t even remember when was the last time I used liquid ink for anything, but since I had a brand new liquid paintbrush just sitting around and waiting to be tested, I went for it. What I love about the ink, is the depth that can be built with it and the boldness of it. I mean, I still am clueless about the dark arts of proper inking, but it was a fun medium to play with, and the thick watercolor paper was perfectly suited for it as well. And, because of quarantine madness and potatoing (that’s a word now) in place, of course, I coated the dried liquid ink with more ink using Sakura’s 0.25mm line Micron pen which turned out to be a pretty cool effect even though it took a while.

Speaking of potatoing, I am glad that spring is not canceled and I am fortunate enough to have a garden that soon will require a lot of time spent outdoors which is something I need and crave for existence to be more enjoyable. I am an introvert and I am usually fine with not being around people as much, but even I feel the weight of the extra social distancing and I still do enjoy some good conversations with my people and quality time spent together now and then.

At the same time, everyone should take this thing seriously and understand the importance of why social distancing is the measure to be taken. I know it’s extremely hard. Especially emotionally, when you are kept apart from your loved ones and all you want to do is be with them and hug them, but remember that’s to keep them safe or at least to try. Stupid fucking virus!

How are you guys doing? What’s keeping you sane? Sometimes I wish I could wish bad stuff away! You know? I wish I could Hasta la vista, baby to it!

The tools

Song of the day: F.O.O.L - Revenger

Sort:  

Wow nice one. Thats so detailed. Very cool. Also, this is the first time I've heard the phrase potatoing and I must say i immediate love that phrase and plan on using it in the near future hahaha XD

Thank you so much @leaky20! It was fun to poke the paper for a while, took my focus away from the world even if just for a while.

Ahaha glad you appreciate my silly invention. Hope potatoing goes viral lol

Hope you have a lovely week ahead! :)

That looks good, it's fun to watch the details in the close-up photos. The details are not only important as details, but they make the difference in the total expression of the drawing. Like in this, how they have made the android look more alive.

Also, having a garden is the best.

Thank you @apsu! You know, I usually add the close-up photos because it is also one of the ways I look at my works as I work on them, I usually hover above with my nose only few centimeters away, spotting every tiny detail and trying to perfect them or make them to create some sort of flow that makes the entire piece fluid if it makes sense.

Cheers to the gardening! I'm so excited! ^^

Do you have a lot of experience in gardening? I can't pretend that I would be an expert, but I'm just real excited trying to plan "companion plant" use as I've read a bit about them during the winter. Like how tomato & basil growing together are beneficial to each other.

I've been gardening since my childhood. My granny had the land and my mother was always gardening. I learned most of it from them. I would not call myself an expert, but I certainly enjoy taking care of plants and they seem to like me too because of that. I am still learning a lot every year.

Ahaha, been growing my tomatoes together with basil for a while too. They really are a perfect fit not only in the greenhouse, but on the plate as well. :)

That sounds great. Well do you have any good tips, as we've had an apartment with our own garden for only a while now :)

The worst thing with home grown tomatoes is that after eating them, the regular store-bought tomatoes lose all their value. Tomatoes grown home are so much better.

Um no idea what would be good tips, but keep the soil all puffed up (dunno how to better explain) around your plants and don't water them during mornings or middle of the day, but rather afternoon when the sun is starting to go down as then the plants manage to use most of it and less moisture dries up due to the sunshine. I am sure you already know this tho.

Are you going to document your gardening on the chain as well?

Oh, the store-bought taste like water, practically tasteless xD

Coool! She is awesome! I think I would like to get to know this android, I think she looks like she might have some interesting stories, but maybe she would probably fuck my shit up instead if I approached :D

I have a certain appreciation for ink and pencil drawings, you know, the monochrome stuff, because I think it is amazing how much can be created within the limits of that spectrum, with only the dynamic of light vs. dark to work with, and still it is possible to create clear shapes and even what looks like reflections of light off of shiny parts or something. That in particular is really cool to me; It's hard for me to even imagine working in negative space like that, like how do you even decide where not to draw?

I really like that you did the close-up shots as well, since we really get a good look at the little lines you drew over the ink, I think it's a really cool effect. You always put a lot of effort into taking the perfect pictures of your pieces and even the materials you used and it just makes the whole thing awesome; it's art on top of art.

Speaking of potatoing, I am glad that spring is not canceled and I am fortunate enough to have a garden that soon will require a lot of time spent outdoors which is something I need and crave for existence to be more enjoyable.

Lol, "potatoing." I am really looking forward to the gardening posts and pictures (lots of pictures please?!) I think maybe I will try to grow a few things of my own also ^_^

How are you guys doing? What’s keeping you sane?

Sane? What's keeping me sane? Well... who says I am "sane" at this point? xD But well, to distract myself from the inevitable insanity, I am doing some long-overdue house cleaning, working on some coding projects, and eating a lot of rubbish.

Mostly that last bit. -_-

Lol, yea something tells me she is not the super friendly type. She's pretty mean.

Negative space stuff is tricky, I want to learn more about it, because I certainly dunno how to do that xD I guess I sort of understand how it should work or the main mechanics of it, but that will need some more work and practice.

At first I thought about doing the dots, but I wanted something different than that this time. I am glad I chose the lines, it is like an extra layer of texture.

Gardening madness incoming soon, that's for sure and a lot of pictures, yes! ^^ Oh, oh and I would love to see what you grow too!

Rubbish eating is mandatory for the apocalypse ahaha

If you an artist, your days are pretty much quarantine, that's what i love to joke with these days.
But to be honest, this is not the quarantine you choose to be in, so now it's even hard for us who are used to stay in house and work for days when something is occupying us.
And it's even harder now when spring has come.
Must say, love your patience in this piece you made. Close up parts show very well how much effort you put in it.
Like meditating.

For sure! It's like getting lost in your own private universe where time does not exist. Forget eating or anything too once you step in there.

But lately I feel more and more trapped or I am trapping myself as I read and consume the horrors of the world and find the difficulty in believing them too sometimes when looking at the sunshine outside my window or hearing the bird songs that don't seem to have lost their joyfulness.

Aww thank you @jungwatercolor! It is my meditation, no doubt.

Hope all is well for you and your loved ones! Also, wonderful to see your masterful works again, now on Hive! ^^

Don't watch to much news, it's something not good to do. To be informed ok, but going to much, believe me it's bad. I was in that position month a go and got myself panic attack.
Paint, draw, save yourself with that.
And meditate trough paper, pencil, ink.
This thing will end and your work will last :)
Stay safe!

#posh because she will knock that virus in the teeth