You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The new normal life that I detest

in OCD4 years ago

Hello there @grenalbrethsen! How have you been? Long time no talk. It is good to hear from you again.

I thought I have a mouthful to say with what is going on but at some points I find myself just "staring" at the events and hoping that the normal life I knew would come back.

There were many calls for mass testing on social media but I did not hear any news from the government for a direct answer to that testing demand. I think we can not afford to test everyone. I read somewhere that just one test is very expensive that I did not bother remembering it. My mind refused to think that I need to be worrying about it.

There are cases of recoveries so I wonder what is making them recover. I did not hear or read any news saying that "this is how they recovered so this is what we should focus on." I heard from a colleague whose girlfriend is a nurse that everyone should focus more on immune system rather than worrying about washing hands and social distancing. He said that is because no matter how you wash your hands or stay away from anyone if your immune system is weak then you can still get infected. I think that totally makes sense. But again, I am not hearing or reading that from the news, even from medical experts. A big why?

Indeed, so many questions unanswered...

Sort:  

Hey, @macoolette.

I'm doing okay, all things considered. Living in the 'new normal' I guess.

It has been a while. I started work about a year ago, so my time's been limited to begin with, and then it seems I end up in one corner of the platform and apparently there's more than one. :)

re: mouthful

Well, there's been so much said, I'm not sure what else there could be to say.

re: the news

The idea that we were all locked down for no particular good reason, told to do things that might not actually help in the long run because we're not paying attention to the one that will—the immune system—doesn't quite fit where the stories have all been going, so if it doesn't fit, don't report it.

re: testing

I've heard costs all over the place. Doesn't make much sense, but then, not much of this does.

re: recoveries

My assumption has been, they just naturally recovered, perhaps with some medical attention, but mostly on their own, depending on the severity of the illness. Most of us end up getting rest, drinking plenty of fluids, etc., more than we spend at a doctor's office or hospital getting treated for, say, the flu, the common cold and so forth.

So, anyway, as you say, so many question unanswered, and even the ones that are answered can be suspect, too.

they just naturally recovered

Natural or nature per se is science so why can't they find something out from that? Ah, just one of the many unanswered questions. I never felt more uncertain in life than this trying times.

re: find something out

Well, I think that's the idea. They've been taking blood from those who had the virus, and from that, they're supposed to be creating a shot. I guess it takes time to come up with something that works, potentially up to 18 months from the time they start putting together a vaccine.