The new normal life that I detest

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Hello Hive world! How have you been and how is life treating you? I hope you are all doing well in spite of the pandemic. I for one has been occupied more than I could imagine. Working full time from home made me realize that I have so much that I wanted to do on top of the office work and commuting that eat most of my time in a day.

Whoah! It's really been a long while since I made my previous post. I hope to get back on track with my posting with this comeback post.

Screenshot_20200601-222316_Samsung Notes.jpg

We started our enhanced community quarantine (ECQ) which is basically our lockdown last 15th March and ended yesterday 31st May. Starting today, the quarantine has been relaxed into what they refer to as general community quarantine or GCQ (I wonder how many acronyms we will have until the pandemic ends). With GCQ, selected types of industries are allowed to operate but on reduced workforce with maximum of 50%. Our line of business falls into those who can do this but thank God, our top management decided that we continue working from home until the 15th. I hope they will consider this until the pandemic is over because it is not comforting to go to work knowing that there is virus in the air.

Even with the relaxed quarantine, safety measures are still being imposed - mandatory wearing of face mask, social distancing, scheduled market day to buy essentials, no traveling to and from the city.

virus-4898571_640.jpg

Source

Many, even our government, are saying that these safety measures are our new normal. In spite of all those who say so from left and right, front and back, I refuse to accept the new normal. This is abnormal. This is not the normal life that I made sense of the world.

Quarantine in the province is way more relaxed than here in the National Capital Region because their cases were very few as compared to the latter. However, that did not comfort me at all. I knew they will exercise precautions but I still had to call my brother and remind him that they do not get so complacent; that they should still behave like the time of ECQ because we will never know which air carries the virus.

coronavirus-4937226_640.jpg

Source

Many of our netizens were also posting on social media that the GCQ is like a Survivor Philippines series wherein people fight for their lives to survive. It was hard thinking about this because our confirmed cases are still high. According to the numbers from our Department of Health tracker the range is around 500 to 800 cases per day. That is way higher than 300+ when we started the ECQ. Just for today, we have additional 552 new cases summing up to 18,638 cases in total. If it is of any consolation, that is much lesser than 862 new cases yesterday.

The continuous high number of cases every day made me wondering why the government has loosen the quarantine. I asked the question on Facebook and even my friends seem to have the same question mark in their heads.

With all the skepticism and worries in their hearts, people who had to go out to work are posting on social media as if they say "come what may" and accept whatever fate is waiting for them outside. If I were them, I will feel worried sick too but I do not think I will be going out just like that. I may push back at work. What I love with these people though is that they have the fighting spirit. I think this is what we need in this very trying times.

Stay safe, be strong and look forward!

Screenshot_20200601-222201_Samsung Notes.jpg

Sort:  

GCQ now in our place many people start to go to their work but no public transportation except for tricycles, going out of town work your going to Pay ₱70 each ride minimum.

If a regular worker earns ₱480 each day, - ₱140 fare - ₱100 food take home pay is ₱240 not enough for a family, but it is better than nothing.

Keep positive Stay Alive just a good motivation, thanks @macoolette

Laban lang Pilipinas.

That is very sad but true. Let us pray that "better thsn nothing" will eventually become just better.

Hey, @macoolette.

Lots of questions all around about the way the pandemic has been handled.

I don't the know answers, exactly, to why things are being let up now, especially in areas where the number of cases continue to rise. What I do wonder about, though, is how many people are actually being tested, so we know the percentage of those who are testing posting versus negative, and then, how were they tested—not all tests are for COVID-19 specifically, but most are for the coronavirus antibodies in general. So, people can be counted as having the new virus when in reality, it's possible they didn't.

There's less known than the unknowns at this point, and everyone wants to jump to a conclusion, or be the one with the definitive answer, while in the meantime letting a lot of misinformation and speculation make the rounds. Things could have and should have been treated much differently. The question is why this time?

And I agree with you, this is not normal, and I don't think we should just accept it without some major scrutiny.

Hello there @grenalbrethsen! How have you been? Long time no talk. It is good to hear from you again.

I thought I have a mouthful to say with what is going on but at some points I find myself just "staring" at the events and hoping that the normal life I knew would come back.

There were many calls for mass testing on social media but I did not hear any news from the government for a direct answer to that testing demand. I think we can not afford to test everyone. I read somewhere that just one test is very expensive that I did not bother remembering it. My mind refused to think that I need to be worrying about it.

There are cases of recoveries so I wonder what is making them recover. I did not hear or read any news saying that "this is how they recovered so this is what we should focus on." I heard from a colleague whose girlfriend is a nurse that everyone should focus more on immune system rather than worrying about washing hands and social distancing. He said that is because no matter how you wash your hands or stay away from anyone if your immune system is weak then you can still get infected. I think that totally makes sense. But again, I am not hearing or reading that from the news, even from medical experts. A big why?

Indeed, so many questions unanswered...

Hey, @macoolette.

I'm doing okay, all things considered. Living in the 'new normal' I guess.

It has been a while. I started work about a year ago, so my time's been limited to begin with, and then it seems I end up in one corner of the platform and apparently there's more than one. :)

re: mouthful

Well, there's been so much said, I'm not sure what else there could be to say.

re: the news

The idea that we were all locked down for no particular good reason, told to do things that might not actually help in the long run because we're not paying attention to the one that will—the immune system—doesn't quite fit where the stories have all been going, so if it doesn't fit, don't report it.

re: testing

I've heard costs all over the place. Doesn't make much sense, but then, not much of this does.

re: recoveries

My assumption has been, they just naturally recovered, perhaps with some medical attention, but mostly on their own, depending on the severity of the illness. Most of us end up getting rest, drinking plenty of fluids, etc., more than we spend at a doctor's office or hospital getting treated for, say, the flu, the common cold and so forth.

So, anyway, as you say, so many question unanswered, and even the ones that are answered can be suspect, too.

they just naturally recovered

Natural or nature per se is science so why can't they find something out from that? Ah, just one of the many unanswered questions. I never felt more uncertain in life than this trying times.

re: find something out

Well, I think that's the idea. They've been taking blood from those who had the virus, and from that, they're supposed to be creating a shot. I guess it takes time to come up with something that works, potentially up to 18 months from the time they start putting together a vaccine.

It's great that you started posting again after being absent for a very long time.

I agree with you, "the new normal is abnormal". In Thailand, the quarantine has been relaxed, too; many shops and department stores can be opened again, we can travel to and from the city, etc.

But, as you said, "we will never know which air carries the virus", so we have to keep safety; wearing masks, social distancing, scheduled market day to buy essentials", etc.

I do really hope that we can conquer over the virus and everything would be back to a real normal very soon.

Yeah! "Stay positive.....Stay alive". Take care... ;)

Yap, it's been a while that O haven't written on the blockchain. Ican't believe I was able to do it when I can't last a day without posting before. 😄

It's good for you over there that you folks can travel to and from the city. We still can not. I haven't been home to the province in more than three months because there is no bus transportation.

Ah, I really hope and pray that this will be over soon. You too, take care...

Oh! I do hope you can come back home to the province very soon.

Stay safe and healthy! ;)

Curated and reblogged by @ASEAN.Hive on behalf of the ASEAN Hive Community.
⋆ ᴀ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ғᴏʀ sᴏᴜᴛʜᴇᴀsᴛ ᴀsɪᴀɴ ᴄᴏɴᴛᴇɴᴛ
⋆ ғᴏᴏᴅ, ᴛʀᴀᴠᴇʟ, ᴘʜᴏᴛᴏɢʀᴀᴘʜʏ, ᴘᴏʟɪᴛɪᴄs, ᴀʀᴛ, ᴍᴏᴠɪᴇ ʀᴇᴠɪᴇᴡs & ᴍᴏʀᴇ
⋆ sᴜʙsᴄʀɪʙᴇ ᴛᴏ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ʜᴇʀᴇ
⋆ ғᴏʟʟᴏᴡ ᴏᴜʀ ᴀsᴇᴀɴ ʜɪᴠᴇ ᴄᴏᴍᴍᴜɴɪᴛʏ ᴠᴏᴛɪɴɢ ᴛʀᴀɪʟ

Thank you very much! 😊

Good morning (here), my friend. Yes, the "new normal" in the "post-COVID" world, is not healthy. Not even close ... I have written about this extensively here on Hive, so I will not recreate it in this comment.

It is good to see you are well. We are fine here, as well. At least as far as COVID is concerned. The economic impact? A far different story and still in only the very early days of what is coming ...

Until "next time," take good care of yourself "over there" @macoolette!


P.S. FYI, sad day for me, this past Saturday. For the first time, since originally investing in the Steem blockchain in August 2017, I am powering down. At 100%, as I am resolute at this point, that I am done with the Steem blockchain.

It is good to hear from you too @roleerob! And it is better to know that you are doing well in spite of the pandemic.

Economically, I think we are hit real hard. I saw news about our government borrowing tons of money for the pandemic. I can not fathom what is going on. Or, maybe my mind refuses to accept what is going on. So many questions unanswered but what can I do? Wait and see like everyone else...

I did not check your wallet but apparently we did the same thing last Saturday (my time at least). I powered down at around 95% because the rest is delegated and a small amount is left to keep the wallet its purpose. I have been juggling on the question about stating on Steen but I immediately made the decision to power down when I checked my wallet with zero earning in the last few days and my VP at 100%.

Steemauto has ceased operation on Steemit. I did not put my money in there just for socializing so not earning a single cent in days is too blunt to me. I learned steem-support will develop the same function of steemauto. Maybe that will help grow the small amount that I left in my wallet. It's another wait and see...

Yes, we are "in the same boat" @macoolette ...

"... our government borrowing tons of money for the pandemic. I can not fathom what is going on. Or, maybe my mind refuses to accept what is going on. So many questions unanswered but what can I do? Wait and see like everyone else..."

... as well as many all over the world. While I cannot know, I do not believe this was pure coincidence. And, I assume like you 😉, "they" did not ask for my thoughts on what should be done. We are just expected to comply. With whatever is coming, as a result of this "unprecedented" response, to what man has faced from the beginning of time ...

My choice on leaving Steem is similar to yours, since I am "in here" first and foremost, as an investor. Long "over" the idea that there is (at least under all the different experiences I have had for my first 2 years ...) a very nice ROI on my efforts, at least I would like to pretend there is some ROI!? 😉

After the latest "volley" in the "war," I decided I had "seen" enough, when HF 23 appeared. Sad to me how much those who were once people I had some respect for have been willing to compromise their values, just to try to appease the ONE vote that matters on Steem ...

Well, that's enough out of me for now, my friend! About to head out into my garden, where there is still some semblance of peace. And, I can pretend I have a teeny, tiny bit of influence over what is happening ...

P.S. On the ROI question, you may wish to look at requesting your UpVoteShares to be refunded on STEEM. I did ...

I would say my ROI will be the airdrop from Hive. 😊 My Steem wallet value is just about the same as what I spent to buy Steem and that already includes my earnings in two years. Maybe my shares of upvoteshares will be the Steem ROI because those were not included in my computation. I thought of keeping the shares active so that I would have at least one vote when I cross-post and not have my post look pitiful on Steemit. 😄

Yes, of course that is up to you @macoolette.

" ... so that I would have at least one vote when I cross-post ..."

I would just encourage you to take care in this, as there are a (seemingly) growing number of "vigilantes" roaming around both blockchains "administering purity" tests, as to which "side" you are on. As part of that, those found to be posting on both are being penalized, once uncovered ...

One of the reasons I am "down" and "out," although I will likely maintain somewhere around a minnow stake, for resource credits to comment here and there and provide a "teeny weeny" bit of support ...

Not sure where else to write this comment, my friend. I "see" that you have chosen to power down here on the Hive blockchain? Are you leaving us @macoolette?

Not to invade your privacy or anything, but I was saddened to see that this might be happening. I hope this finds you and yours doing okay and this decision is not due to some crisis in your life.

For me, this emphasizes the limitation of these "virtual worlds." Someone can just "disappear" without us ever knowing what might have happened. While that can, of course, happen in "real life" I think we can both agree that is much, much less likely ...

Well, anyway, wanted to "stop by" and let you know I was both thinking of you and concerned about you.

Myself i don't like the new norm one bit will be glad when it gets back to normal. Stay safe and take care 😊

I guess everyone would like to the old normal that we all knew.

Thanks for dropping by.

And really hope it gets back to that. Have a great week and take care @macoolette 😊

Just trust the Lord and have faith, let the holy spirit of the Lord God in heavens will protect us all..as the Lord in heavens has this purpose why this happens. he teaches us how to value life.

we should love our life and help those people who are in need.

this virus kill so many people.

even doctors and nurses are infected and some lost hope.

but I tell you this,

God will make a way where seems will be no way, his working behind your back, and make you a good future ahead of you.

let us pray that the Lord God will finish this epidemic.

we heal as one.

Love the way you write.

Thank you. 😊

Visited and vot

Thank you. 😊

Congratulations @macoolette! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 78000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 79000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing HiveBuzz Shop - Offer gifts with your favorite badges
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

updated

Truth 💯

Congratulations @macoolette! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Inaanyayahan ka po namin na bumisita sa Pilipino community. Eto po ang link... https://peakd.com/c/hive-155603/created

Pwede ka po magsulat ng tagalog at ibang Pilipino dialect. Aasahan ka po namin.

Salamat po.

I love the way you smile 😊😍♥️

Screenshot_20200727_011711.jpg

As you've said "Stay positive... Stay alive." is our best defense against this global pandemic. We have all our share of this concern and on the other side of this pestilence is the serendipity and self-discovery of our other hidden personality. Positivism had led me to discover my art in Pottery.

@Maccolette, Why not writing any more or busy?

following you now

Love the way you write @macoolette...........
Are you still active on Hive???

Kaht dto sa HK.. Strict protocols dhl sa high cases ng covid . Although it's getting back to normal pero hndi parn mawala ang pangamba na anjan parn ang virus

Why did you stop writing for so long?

Hey there, just out of curiosity I checked your account and I can see that you did not claim your free DUAT tokens for the future Ragnarock game, in the near future when the game will be available you'll be able to exchange your duat tokens for ingame nfts, 112 duat tokens for 1 nft. You can go here and claim your 6125 duat tokens:

https://ragnaroknft.info/