You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: G-dog's weekend-engagement week seven: What would you do if... [Answer - Win hive!]

in OCD4 years ago

Okay... There are a lot of historians in here, and that sure is enviable. I could choose the time of William Shakespeare, I spent most of my college life studying his plays. But really, if you put a gun to my head and said you get to pick one place and time, I'm a man of material means.

I'm taking my time machine back to 2009 and convincing myself to start mining the Bitcoin.

You see, back in 2009 I was involved in a lot of computer schemes, MLM marketing mostly, get rich quick kind of stuff. Sitting at my computer for hours on end clicking through the pay per click sites and things of that nature. I sunk a couple thousand bucks in to various money making opportunities which only served to make the people I sent the money to rich. One of them actually ended up getting arrested and going to prison for fraud, Wellspring Capital Group Blake Prater. I still remember that pretty vividly in 2007.

So I'm going back and mining, and telling myself to sell the 2017 top. Of course I'd have enough BTC to hold on to some for the future, but selling enough in 2017 that my family never needs to worry about money again.

I'd probably give myself a list including STEEM and a few other alt coins that I could invest in for long term growth.

Then the question comes up of trying to figure out who is Satoshi. Do I need that knowledge? I really kind of think I don't. I could certainly keep the secret, but being able to make my family secure is really the important factor here. Knowledge is great, but secondary. Who is behind BTC doesn't really matter in the long term. Though maybe I would tell Dan Larimer that partnering with Ned was a really bad idea and change the future of STEEM.

I'm probably over 200 words and thus disqualified from the contest, but it's all good. Fun to hypothesize!

Sort:  

200+ words...Totally disqualified! (Not really bro, I'm not that tough on people.) I set the 200 words so I didn't have to read War and Peace comments!

I'm taking my time machine back to 2009 and convincing myself to start mining the Bitcoin.

At last I see this comment! I had thought this would feature prominently but alas, you're the first to make the comment!

I think I'd be happy to take a thousand bucks and buy some in 2009/10...Mining is a bit beyond my technological capabilities I think. Still, 1000BTC at 0.01c...Yeap, I can do that.

I'm one of those historians you mention, but I can see the attraction to your plan...And especially after so many MLM false-starts!

I also don't give rats arse about who started BTC...Just that I have some...A time machine back to 2009 would solve many issues.

Good entry.

!ENGAGE 25

Hah. Yeah. I figure a lot of people at least thought about it. But they either didn't want to give the obvious answer and/or seem materialistic.

Thanks for the challenge. It's fun to think about!

Lol...I'm ok with a little materialism all in the name of fun. You're right though...Everyone was thinking it, you were the innovator that said it though!

Thanks for joining in this week, I think your first time. So welcome, and thank you.

I set the 200 words so I didn't have to read War and Peace comments!

Jesus man, way to take a sideswipe at the woodman ((I really need to work on that nickname!!!))
😂

I only have so much time in my day and at 50 years old not much life left ahead of me...So, 200 words per entry seemed ample.

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Wow I read this entry quite quickly, but I think I managed to follow the flow correctly... OMG I had no idea that Shakespeare invented Bitcoin then changed his name to Dan Larimer. Jeez I learn so much on the blockchain.

All joking aside though, how cool would that be to go back to the start of BTC and invest as much as you possibly could when it was just a few cents?

You could literally overthrow every government on the planet, start your own Supreme Galactic alliance and make Bill Gates mow your lawn!