My Changing "Backyard" Views

in OCD3 years ago (edited)

Is that by waving a magic wand, you might be wondering?

No, but the panoramic views are magical, picturesque, and gives me that otherworldly feeling I get from living a life on the paths less traveled and explored.

Here, I'll share with you the changing views of my "backyard" over the past 3 days, however, if you're so inclined and prefer to believe these changing views are magic, let me reveal how this trick is done:


Series 1: Monday's "Backyard" View

received_402676397550629.jpeg

On a mobile floating home that's narrow and long, we replenish and care for our boat engine, start the ignition, and we chug along canals, that used to be the main transportation in the industrial era across Britain.

received_410663129967877.jpeg

We cruise at our own pace, observing canal rules of slowing down while passing other boaters who are moored up for short breaks, or boats moored long-term at private moorings along the canals.

received_498005748165665.jpeg

The thing is, there are different ways of living aboard your boat; you have the options of being continuous cruisers - living in any one spot for 2 days, and as long as 14 days in a particular area or town, which is what we do, or you have the options of staying at an enclosed, private marina, or at private long-term moorings along stretches of the canals.

My husband @scubahead and I enjoy the freedom, and ever-changing views, locations, and ambiences, that one is guaranteed to experience while continuously cruising.

received_315565873356291.jpeg

received_218594966597296.jpeg

received_329366878807695.jpeg

Above were the surrounding views from my bedroom, and bow of my boat that were taken on Monday afternoon, when we decided to moor up for the day to catch up on some domestic tasks and boat maintenance which are essential parts of living on a narrowboat.


Series 2: Tuesday's "Backyard" View

Then comes Tuesday, we rise and shine to the gleaming sun and fresh air from the abundance of nature and a range of water fowls and birds that independently survive on their natural environs, and we say unspoken goodbyes and move onto pastures equally green.

received_340009974312286.jpeg

received_222206639515274.jpeg

Some days like today, we admire home owners perched happily in their backyard gardens along the canals (their views only changeable by narrowboats with boaters seeking idyllic and desirable spots for their backyards).

received_500912807690931.jpeg

Our backyard on Tuesday was along this busy path with walkways leading to supermarkets and shops for us to top up our supplies.

received_847822669177287.jpeg

This was different but equally beautiful and we got the chance to exchange pleasantries with neighbouring boaters which ended up in an extended coffee break and the tour of boat of a lovely couple, Robert and Janet who lives 6 months of the year on their boat for the past 8 years.


Series 3: Wednesday's "Backyard" Views

Wednesday, my favourite day of the week, and it must have been the god Odin who timed our schedule with this magical picture-postcard spot, of uninterrupted views of hills and pretty green grass.

received_4165001963568322.jpeg

I could feel my facial muscles flexing upwards by a happy grin from seeing what was spread before my eyes.

received_305114267906559.jpeg

received_853740275494261.jpeg

received_309903920779593.jpeg

received_475648680165329.jpeg

Yes, this was my backyard on Wednesday evening, and I captured these images immediately upon mooring up and assisting the skipper with securing the lines of the boat.

received_601085950786064.jpeg

Eleuthera!

received_270967771488094.jpeg

We quickly had our evening dinner of leftover spicy jerk chicken, baked with small cubes of sweet potatoes, whole onions, and fresh thyme, served with fluffy basmati rice with butter and hints of lemon juice, while taking in the views of our backyard.

received_316335326869281.jpeg

Before you know it, the sun's going down, and the skies are dramatic with beautifully forming clouds, which is making our hearts sing.

received_959702138152815.jpeg

It honestly looks otherworldly, and makes me happy to be in the universe, and a great sense of happiness knowing that it's my backyard.

received_501183374532326.jpeg

Feelings of freedom, and gratitude makes me content, and living a minimalistic lifestyle is like the icing on the cake. I never stress wondering if, or what my backyard view for the evening will be, I just take in every minute of precious moments along the canals.

One of my positive affirmations are the words of Wayne Dyer:
"The universe provides abundantly when you're in a state of gratefulness."

Thank you for stopping by, it was nice sharing my backyard views with you.

Sort:  

Hi @millycf1976,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Thank you so much for your continuous support :)

Is the path side of the canal always reinforced with a metal guard rail Millicent?
@millycf1976 These are immense images, I can almost smell the canal waters.
I envy your life now. Stay safe.

↑Upvoted↑ and ←Reblogged→


Ah, those horizontal rails indicate that it's a mooring spot, (the preferred ones),which facilitates boaters with the space to loop chains for securing the lines to the boats.
So late evenings, or whenever we want to moor up, we keenly look out for those rails. The best moorings have bollards or rings, second best has the horizontal metal rails that allow use of piling hooks, and least desirable moorings are unlined rough banks choked with reeds, nettles and silt.

Oh, I forgot to reply to your hello sent via @scubahead.
All good wishes :)

image.png

I swear those look like guardrails on a highway, here it would seem they serve to shore up the embankment
image.png
source
But I won't dispute your word, until I looked up close at this one, I didn't even notice the one on the reedy side, at least I think I see one over there.
Hug the big head for me ha ha ha image.png

Haha! I can see the similarity between the two.

That's good then, at least I'm not loosing my mind ha ha
image.png

Manually curated by ackhoo from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you so much @ackhoo and the @qurator team. I appreciate the support :)

Congratulations @millycf1976! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 3000 HP as payout for your posts and comments.
Your next payout target is 4000 HP.
The unit is Hive Power equivalent because your rewards can be split into HP and HBD

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Oh God, that was so wonderful of view ^_^ I really love it... looks very calm and peaceful...

Thank you. It is indeed! I remember the fleeting visions of these green sceneries wishing that someday I'd be able to be closer and really get to explore and take it all in. Now, 12 years later, and I'm living that dream every day while living on my narrowboat. Life is beautiful 🙏🏾

Wow it's the dream comes true, awesome!! ^_^ what a great experience, hope you always having an amazing day my friend...

Thank you so much,and all good wishes to you too :)

Such beautiful views, had to pause and study each photo. Thanks for linking me to your post here. I'm loving seeing this. I'm going to look and see if I can find a map of the canals there. That would be so interesting. Nothing like this in Canada.

Thank you!
Canada is beautiful though.
I'm happy you like the photos.
If you'd like, check out a vlog on youtube: JamCam and Cam - we be cruising. It's mainly my husband on it:)