You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Outbound engagement (Thoughts from my car)

in OCD4 years ago

I'm aware of the risks. Different cultures, different sense of humor. Sarcasm is its own language.

It's good though to see posts like these from time to time, reminding people of the truth. I imagine if we had millions of consumers around, most folks could get by simply by sharing their work. Right now it's kind of a small town where everyone knows everyone, unless you're new. People do need to mingle.

I'll scroll through the recent work as well. I'd suggest people add some life and their own personality to their posts since again, people follow people, not posts. A picture of a tree is just that. I can't follow a tree anywhere.

Sort:  

I'm an Aussie...So this relates to me. We are well renowned for it. Lol.

Sarcasm is its own language.

Personality, passion and effort is what I look for when I curate...There's not enough of it though. IT's not even that difficult to apply, although I believe society is getting dumber, so...Maybe I'm asking too much.

Self-irony is common in Canada. I might insult myself or talk about a rough patch in life, maybe be openly frustrated; many things. I'm laughing about it but the response can be anything from "hang in there, don't beat yourself up, quit acting pathetic..." and so on. Totally missing the invitation to come laugh with me. Self-irony is a tough one to accomplish in writing since many add their own tone and state of mind to the words they read, yet I still do it.

Personality, passion and effort is what I look for when I curate...There's not enough of it though. IT's not even that difficult to apply, although I believe society is getting dumber, so...Maybe I'm asking too much.

You're not asking too much. I don't have high standards but at the same time, I won't be lowering them. I look for a lot of the same things.

I think the ability to laugh at oneself is a very important skill to have, and yet, many don't understand when people apply it. I guess it depends on one's upbringing and experiences. I just wrote a piece about my childhood, it will post around this time tomorrow night I guess...It opens up a little about my childhood and is an insight into why I am who I am now...It's a little sad, but I don't necessarily see it that way because what happened to me as a kid shaped me into who I am now, and I like me. That's why self-irony is so easy for me to do, because of my experiences in life.

Dropping ones's standards is perpetrating a self-crime and should be punished with self-flagellation. Lol.