You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Inexperienced internet clowns

in OCD4 years ago

Perhaps, they don't have partners or children, maybe it is part of the reason some people are so aggressive.

And they also do not contemplate their future self and whatever values they might picked up along the way and whether those values will justify their aggressive behavior in the long run. Perhaps that rush of the moment is too much to bear and the thrill of getting away with it induces some sort of self-justification.

Dan Ariely did an experiments on a group of young bright minds. A set of questions are to be answered while they are normal and while they are sexually aroused. Questions like - Will you always use protective measures? Will you force yourself onto a woman?
Turned out their conscious answers contracted that of aroused state significantly.

I'm not drawing any conclusion here though. Perhaps these people need real life social interaction where they're not neglected. This brings me to another point of yours:

I think trolling speaks of internal turmoil and pain, personal suffering and lack of power to direct oneself - I could be wrong.

I don't think you're wrong. Because I've personally been there. Had some family issues growing up along with economic struggle. I started roaming online social media 14 years ago and as a teen I loved that anonymity—a username is all I needed. I posed as a much older guy and bullied others.
Looking back, I do not recognize the kid, nor his troubles.
Can't say if the story is similar in all other cases but it is likely.

However, I'll not entirely disregard the plausible conscious will to be malicious and dominating to others. Some are clearly like that.

Sort:  

Maybe it is that they have such a negative view of the future, that they figure this will be the best it can be now. The thrill of getting away with it is a good point - like shoplifters stealing a chocolate bar.

Perhaps these people need real life social interaction where they're not neglected.

Not enough hugs as children - or perhaps too many.

Looking back, I do not recognize the kid, nor his troubles.

This is important isn't it? Looking back and no longer knowing that person as you - though there that past is. We are always changing, but not always maturing or getting better.

Thanks for a great comment!

Reveal spoiler

ENGAGE 40

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.