Patterns Series, A Painting of Thoughts

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Pineapples.jpg

Art and writing became the outlet when emotions overwhelm me.

I find myself pouring myself into creativity and exhaustion, transforming thoughts into concrete symbols and patterns through art and poetry.

When my mind is drowned in thoughts, I no longer have an urge to speak, not because of anger but of the lack of words to say.

It’s the stimuli of the emotion that bother me than the emotion itself.

Emotion for me can be understood, but it’s the stimuli that is difficult to comprehend.

I observe the behaviors and the motives of people that it pains me that they think that I can’t know.

I may be silent, but it doesn’t mean I can’t think and I may be stubborn, but it doesn’t mean that I’m stupid.

I keep asking myself why and it triggers the emotion to build up, then I realize that I’m already sad and/or angry.

It’s the pattern that hurts me, the repeat of things that I dislike but is difficult to accept why it’s done.

About a year ago, my colleague gave me a piece of advice, “Things will keep happening until you learned your lesson.”

And I kept thinking about that until I had a grasp of its context.

Sometimes, life is like a video game, before you advance to the next level, you must complete the goal, otherwise it will keep restarting until you learn why you failed the level.

It’s in us to decide to adjust or confront, as we blindly reconcile with our insecurities and fears.

But as we choose to think maturely, to reconcile our differences, it’s always best to communicate, find a common ground, and compromise.

Pineapples.jpg
Pineapples in the Sky
Watercolor on Paper

I made this painting at a time that there was anger inside me, there is a boiling of emotions that ought to burst into words, but can't be formed.

Pineapples in the Skies has no deep meanings, I was merely painting weird-shaped fruits that I thought were pineapples, maybe were pineapples, doesn't look like pineapples, and OK these are pineapples.

It best represents my thoughts about the people's behaviors, it shows patterns, it repeats as it is already wired deeply in us, it can be good or bad—or crazy. It can be irregular, but if you look deeply, there will always be a pattern hidden in it.

View original: Patterns Series


PREVIOUS POST
Daydream Series, A Painting of Dreams
In that dream, I saw swirls of storm in blue and black. Like storm clouds grueling, marching on the horizon—waiting to bring heavy downpour.


HiveHealth BETA
Check your performance in Hive, find out your top performing post, and more. TRY IT!

HiveHealth Weekly Reports (2020-08-01)
Welcome to HiveHealth's weekly reports!


Curious about Crypto?
Buy and Sell on Coinbase
Get Started


About Me

@oniemaniego is a test engineer, but outside work, he experiments in the kitchen, writes poetry and fiction, paints his heart out, or toils under the hot sun.

Onie Maniego was born in Leyte, PH. He grew up in a rural area with a close-knit community and a simple lifestyle, he is often visiting his father's orchards during summer and weekends, which has a great impact on his works.

Don't forget to vote, comment, and follow me.


Not yet on Hive? Earn while blogging.
Sign Up

Sort:  

👋 Hi @oniemaniego, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

Congratulations @oniemaniego! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 150 posts. Your next target is to reach 200 posts.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!
The HiveBuzz Shop - New Items and Designs