You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The problem with not needing to work

in OCD3 years ago

Myself, I want to get into a position where I don't have to work also, but I am also the kind of person who will likely work all of my life, regardless of what resources I have available.

I thought this about myself too. I loved working. It gave me so much sense of purpose and accomplishment to run and own food businesses. My reputation in the town (NYC) was really good - my name regularly appearing in the NYTimes especially.

Then I retired. That all went out the window. I am now a nobody, and I find I like it. I have time to pursue artsy hobbies. I started blogging. It's a good thing I probably won't need a job again, because when I think about having to be somewhere, even if it's at home, producing for 7 or 8 hours a day, I can't imagine it.

So I can understand your friend. But I'm certain that, if the necessity arises, she will too.

Sort:  

I find working a good way to meet interesting people that I might not actively choose to meet otherwise. Though, I am in an area where this is possible, not all jobs allow for it.

What I do value though is being able to gain new perspectives and experiences and I think if there is no need to do anything, many end up doing nothing. Not all, but many. It is especially easy in this on-demand consumer life we have built to avoid doing anything of purpose.