The problem with not needing to work

in OCD3 years ago

A friend of mine has moved jobs, again. This is the third move in around a year, as they are apparently struggling to find a position that suits them. They are talented and have experience, but I think the main problem is that they are also very picky - because they don't have anywhere near a desperate need for an income.

This is a good position to be in and one I want to be in also, as I would like to have more freedom to pick and choose what I am willing to do for an income. However, there are risks associated with this also because, the problem with not needing to work is, many don't.

IMG_20210901_152751.jpg

This doesn't sound like much of a problem, does it?

I mean, why work if you don't need to work? Why do things that you don't like to do, or put up with a less than ideal boss if you don't need to? After all, the benefit of being able to pick and choose what work we do, means being able to choose not to do all the things we don't like doing.

There are several problems with this.

No ideals

Firstly, all jobs are less than ideal. Every job is made up of a range of tasks on a spectrum of what one wants to do or not. Some jobs have a really attractive high-point experience, but are surrounded with a lot of "low-point" activities that have to be done to have the possibility to participate in the highs. Most jobs have waves of "good and bad" tasks to do and which valence each have, depends on the individual doing the tasks. I hate paperwork - I have colleagues that love paperwork. I still have to do paperwork.

What this means is that in order to have the good experiences, we have to be willing to at least "put up with" some level of tasks that we dislike. It might be practical tasks that are prerequisites, or the task might be putting up with a terrible boss, but there is always something.

When we choose to not do something, there is an opportunity cost, meaning that not doing takes away our options to do other things. This isn't a problem, as limitation is required, but sometimes what we miss out on is not always intuitive, meaning that we might not realize we are limiting ourselves to reach areas we may actually want to be.

Reliantly "free" to choose

Now, this is a pretty big issue to think about when choosing not to work, as we have to consider what is giving us this superpower. If you have millions in the bank and never actually have to have an income again, pick as you want. However, if your freedom is actually reliant on dynamic conditions, it is good to think about some middle ground, before burning bridges.

For example, my friends ability to choose is dependent on her partner earning well and being in a very secure position, but "security" is never guaranteed, so if for example their working conditions change or they got divorced as a couple, the financial security disappears and then, they are subject again to the "have to" of work, and after all that freedom to choose, they might be pushed quickly into having to take something with far less possibility, far lower highs and far more lows than they previously had - and turned down. I have found, this can be pretty rough to come to terms with for many people.

For a closer to "crypto home" example, I know many people who have chosen to quit their jobs and live off crypto at the highs and then struggled through the lows, often ending up with or near nothing before heading back to work. I assume, that in itself can be spirit-breaking when realizing that as the next wave of bullrun starts and a person would have ended up comfortable for life - they now have to work instead. Which sucks.

A loss of Rep

Now, you might not care what people think of you - but reputation does matter in the employment arena, or at least, an impression of a reputation matters. It becomes a red flag when people are constantly chopping and changing jobs, and if people are changing due to not wanting to do the low tasks, it doesn't really make for good reference recommendations. While "not needing to work" under certain circumstance nulls the need to impress, if one does need to find work, it can come back to haunt.

People say "forget the past", but the past matters in that informs the present and indicates the future. Personally, I would be very wary hiring or recommending someone who changes their jobs too frequently, as they are either too picky with their conditions (and nothing is ideal), or they are forced out one way or another. Often, it is a case of both, where a persons demands based on their feelings of entitlement, cause others to become "less than welcoming".

I heard a story just last week of a person going for a job and when asked to give information about themselves, they would respond with a question of their own. Rather than asking about the job or the team, all of their questions concerned things like breaks and holidays. Yes, these things are important and are a decision maker for many with options, but perhaps saving it for the second round of interviews would be better - rather than being excluded in the first.

Too many options?

Many people (my friend is one) also suffer from a problem of having too much opportunity, making a decision to commit hard and lowering the bar required to exit once a decision is made. It is like a dating app, where there is always another option waiting and when the choice ends up being "not the one", it is easy to start scrolling once again. The problem is much the same too though, as eventually, suitable options dry up.

I know of a couple of people who have been playing the "employment dating game" for the last decade and now they are in positions that they could have been in at the very start, a random job that is further from their ideal than they have declined in the past. At least in my experience, this has left some of them feeling quite bitter about the world and with the sense that it is unfair and they are victims of the system.

The deadend of privilege

Perhaps they are, like all of us, victims of the system, - but this is something we all need to negotiate for ourselves. When we make our decisions on what we do, we are also making the decisions on what we can't - so if we end up in a corner, it is possible that it was us who held the brush and painted the floor. It is much easier and feels better however, to blame others, the market, the establishment, the rich, the privileged - but often we do not see our role in these systems and, our own privileges.

Myself, I want to get into a position where I don't have to work also, but I am also the kind of person who will likely work all of my life, regardless of what resources I have available. Yes, I want to pick and choose, but understand that just like people, there is no prefect, everything comes with some level of upside and downside. It isn't just about finding a balance between the two to maximize, it is about working out what we value and whether we want the upside enough, that we are willing to work on the downside. Our inability to evaluate what we value is one of the reasons that many of us "win" what they want, but still aren't happy, as we aren't actually winning at what we value, even though we are maximizing what we think we should value.

Not needing to work might be high on many people's hierarchy of wants, but considering that if the journey matters, we are always under construction. This means that we are all works in progress, but avoiding what we don't like, is going to leave us feeling eternally incomplete.

Always searching. Never content.

Taraz
[ Gen1: Hive ]

Sort:  

Well, I have always thought to leave work after earning enough money for living the rest of my life, not caring the retirement. Nevertheless, If one got used to work, it might be boring after at one point, supposed they r at mid-age.

The idea of living off crpyto sounds sensible, but risky at the same time. We can see it could happen in few years, who knows.

Your friend is lucky. People in my country are already ready to have a job even under min. salary. Changing a job three times in a year, interesting.

Nevertheless, If one got used to work, it might be boring after at one point, supposed they r at mid-age.

A lot of young people don't seem to want to get used to work - yet they still want all the money benefits.

Living off crypto is far too unstable for me at least - I would need to be a whale of monumental prportions to pull that trigger.

As said, they are privileged, but might not know it.

I always wanted to have that life where I do not have to work, like a retirement life but I don't have that luxury as of now. Might be with the current pace it will take another 25 years to be able to do that.

Who knows, a little market bump and things might change. Well, that depends on what you are holding or selling 5 or 10 years though....

That's true and that's why I am in holding period and not selling until it's very urgent.

Never afforded the luxury of not having to work, corporate most the years, studying to further knowledge and status within. Every position will become boring...., it is how you plan ahead to hopefully be able to enjoy the golden years.

Some are fortunate in earnings able to take time, middle class rolling stone gathers no moss still applies today, as it did then!

@tipu curate

I think I would get bored or warped if I wasn't working at something useful. I am not saying that has to be as an employee - but sitting around with no real purpose sounds terrible!

Totally agree, only time off is travel, feasting the eyes, but then camera and hands are still busy... 😄

Myself, I want to get into a position where I don't have to work also, but I am also the kind of person who will likely work all of my life, regardless of what resources I have available.

I thought this about myself too. I loved working. It gave me so much sense of purpose and accomplishment to run and own food businesses. My reputation in the town (NYC) was really good - my name regularly appearing in the NYTimes especially.

Then I retired. That all went out the window. I am now a nobody, and I find I like it. I have time to pursue artsy hobbies. I started blogging. It's a good thing I probably won't need a job again, because when I think about having to be somewhere, even if it's at home, producing for 7 or 8 hours a day, I can't imagine it.

So I can understand your friend. But I'm certain that, if the necessity arises, she will too.

I find working a good way to meet interesting people that I might not actively choose to meet otherwise. Though, I am in an area where this is possible, not all jobs allow for it.

What I do value though is being able to gain new perspectives and experiences and I think if there is no need to do anything, many end up doing nothing. Not all, but many. It is especially easy in this on-demand consumer life we have built to avoid doing anything of purpose.

I have found in the hospitality industry that having held a variety of jobs can be very attractive to employers, also the ideal for me would be to run a business where I can employ someone to do the jobs that I dislike

it isn't bad to have had many jobs, especially when younger - but when it comes to career ages in the 40s, changing too often indicates a few things, including an inability to make decisions that one can stick to for a significant period of time.

Haha, I wish, I have been let go from my last 2 casual jobs for not showing enough respect, that is being mildly critical of the supervisor. As in, "Well now I will be on an increased rate because you didn't agree with me about having a break after I had been working for 2 & 1/2 hours"

I also think one of the real reasons people tend to switch jobs is that they don’t find the fulfillment in those jobs however as you’ve mentioned there’s always one thing you might not like to do with each job and it’s just the truth. People should just decide what they can put up with and stick to it.

Anything can be fulfilling just about, but it depends on what you focus the attention on. Most focus on the negatives and how hard they are, without considering the positives they enjoy.

You are absolutely right, pick out the positives and move

Jobs are always less than ideal. Whatever you decide to do, make the decision and stick with it!

Unless it is a bad decision - then change! :D

lol true

"employment dating game" Its so interesting line ..yes its bitter truth about jobs where some people are too choosy and treat job employment as Tinder Dating App where keep finding new one for dating untill get satisfied with their comfortability.

I find they often run out of quality partners - as the market learns they are not the type to settle down.

My personal opinion as a person who works after graduating from university is the following: every person should go through the stage where he works a job that is low paid, and the salary is not enough to cover all his needs, because it motivates a person to educate himself, to learn new things that would help to change the job, much higher paid and providing much better working conditions. If a person starts in a high paying job early in his career he loses His motivation to improve. And isn't that the point of life - to learn every day.
Also, I think that not the work has to suits you, but you have to suit the work. And you have to earn a great satisfaction from your work, actually it has to be more like a hobby to you, and not feeling like obligation. Thank you for your post, amazing work as always! :)

I think people should have to work before graduating from high school. Everyone should have odd-jobs, fast-food positions, paper routes - it teaches a lot.

Love what you do - and work every single day of your life :)

I remember coming across a few people who said they quit their jobs during the days of $5-10 steem,that did not work out so well.

Seriously when people talk about job fulfilment and the likes, they imagine a work filled with zero stress and perfect synergy. Real life doesn't quite work out that way. We may find faults in our jobs but it is possible to derive a sense of satisfaction from it.

I like the idea of picking and choosing, but the reality of it doesn't hold up. We are spoiled for choice in nearly all things now, yet are getting unhappier, no matter how much we choose.

A lot to think about here @tarazkp - thanks for sharing these insights.

You are welcome. :)

I actually don't have to work, but, I do and I like it. I have worked hard to get where I am and it is very satisfying on so many levels. Professional, personal, and otherwise.

I take vacations and at one point traveled extensively for work, which with COVID, I am glad that isn't possible. I am pretty sure I would have not anyway. Every position wears after a while, but, I have found positions, just like a person can evolve a bit, making it more interesting or different or even challenging.

I am taking the opportunity to use this money to further build my portfolios so when I decide to quit and take that world tour all at once. Life has been good and I am always grateful.

I have several members of my family (there are nine siblings) that don't really need to work, but, made it a life-long venture to spend everything they had and change jobs when they felt like they had enough for a long time. Whatever the heck that is supposed to mean. Why not save until you never have to work again and then live on a semi-budget?

Not working for someone or an organization is not such a bad thing so long as you have something to do that not only pays bills, but also gives you passion

Hello, tarazkp, yeah, its true, the concept that you brought up here, jobs and businesses are something that needs consistent work in progress, with little contribution each day,brings up a larger part, reputation building is also a key factor to expand business and really helping them to grow above,
Thanks, again dude.