A Cormorant seabird in trouble! Behind the Photo!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

IMG_9386.JPG

After the meeting something said to me drive back home via the beach road!

We attended a meeting today, to discuss Papillon's new activities at a range of old age homes and it seems that we are going to once again become very busy here in our new town as the need is dire.
On our way back from the meeting, the unexpected happened and thankfully we won the challenge.
Have a look at the challenge!

This post is also entered into the #behindthephoto contest hosted by @nelyp

Here is the link to the contest;
https://steempeak.com/behindthephoto/@nelyp/behind-the-photo-contest-edition-6

IMG_8992.JPG

As we were driving along, I stopped the car as I saw this. A cormorant sitting on the sand!
That same something told me that things were not right here.

IMG_9002.JPG

We walked onto the beach and I saw that this little guy was in trouble, as no cormorant will allow a human being to come near them!
They normally fly away as soon as any people are near them and they always sit on the rocks in the sea!

IMG_9101.JPG

Of course all of the birds flew away when we approached the cormorant!

IMG_9185.JPG

I gently picked him up and placed him in the surf!
You can see that he tried to swim away, but no luck!

IMG_9187.JPG

The sea simply started to wash him out again!

IMG_9323.JPG

Here you can see that we had a rough sea today agitated by strong winds!

IMG_9160.JPG

So here the little guy came slowly towards me again!

IMG_9388.JPG

Marian ran to the car to fetch a towel and the phone!
I wrapped the little guy in the towel and Marian started phoning around to find out where the bird hospital was located.

IMG_4320.JPG

A few of you know that we saved this young Pied crow towards the end of last year after a storm blew him out of the nest, but I had no idea what or how to help a cormorant.
Fortunately we found a contact and took the cormorant to a local vet from where he would be collected by the ocean seabird rescue services.
Job done, all was well and we returned home!

IMG_9648.JPG

And finally, now, with the moon peeping at me behind the trees outside the study window, I know that I will sleep well tonight. Another little life was saved.

Note: All photos are my own and taken with a Canon Powershot SX60 HD.
Photos are unedited and cropped for uploading purposes.

We view all life as sacred, and will move mountains to help where we can. Be it human, be it animal, be it anything; as long as we can we will always do our best to help.
There is so much hurt, pain and fear in life and so many that suffer alone, I think about the old age homes and old people that suffer from severe loneliness and stress. Not only old people, but so many others have their own issues that they struggle with everyday...with no one to turn to, and tears in their soul.
A kind word can create miracles.

Hope that you have enjoyed the pictures, and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

Connecting the people of #STEEM across South Africa. #steemsa JOIN US ON DISCORD (South Africans Only) JOIN US ON TWITTER JOIN US ON FACEBOOK

center>signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone</center<

steem verified!.png

Sort:  

Well written thoughts.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you and glad that you liked the post my friend!
Blessings!

Another touching post and shows the compassion of you both

Blessings
have a good weekend

Ha! Thank you JJ and I am sure that you will do the same.
May you guys also have a good weekend.
Blessings!

thanks, planning a nice lazy weekend :)

Good on ya mate. Clear the decks upstairs in the brain loft and just let all things be.
Enjoy!

Thats exactly what I have done today :)

👌 ❤️ 👌

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

Thank you for the kind support!
Blessings!

You two are true heroes! Thank you! And thanks for posting to #featheredfriends. !Tip

Thank you my friend and we only do what we have to do.
My pleasure to post to "featheredfriends and you can look forward to a lot more.
Thank you for the kind tip.
Hope your weekend is good.
Blessings!

🎁 Hi @papilloncharity! You have received 0.1 STEEM tip from @melinda010100!

@melinda010100 wrote lately about: Shadow Photo Contest-Round 105
Win Sbi And Estm
Feel free to follow @melinda010100 if you like it :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Thank you kindly Lady @melinda010100
Blessings!

Loading...

Love to watch videos of cormorants diving for their fish.
Did you know that Chinese fishermen used them, with a cord around their necks so they couldn't swallow the fish? They'd bring the catch back, then the fishermen would share with them.

image from pixabay

Thank you cuzzy, I read something about it years ago and thank you for the reminder.
They share with the cormorants like we share with the squirrels with the nuts from the trees.
Blessings!

fg50uf.png

What a beautiful descriptive photo my cuz.
And of course they will have to look well after the birds, as it's their livelihood.
I cannot say that I like the idea very much, as I like to see all wild animals free, but such is life.
Blessings!

Yes, but we train dogs to serve as guides and to sniff out explosives,
They can even tell certain diseases, and when someone is about
To have a seizure. I think if we live in COOPERATION
with nature, and the fishermen don't abuse the
Cormorants, noosing them shouldn't
Be a concern. After all, Dogs
Cats, chickens and cows
Were all originally
Wild animals.
Right?

You come out with the most amazing things and so arty my cuzzy.
We were also wild animals once and look at what we are doing to ourselves!
Blessings!

Well, yes you are correct. We seem to make a mess of everything we touch.
The whole planet is infected with a plague of humanity.
What do you think Mother Earth will do to
Rid herself of this plague?

Did the vet say what was wrong with the cormorant? There is a reason for everything in life. I am glad you followed your instinct and drove by the beach. You were meant to save that life. ;0)

Nope, we had to drop the bird at reception for the seabird rescue service to collect and to take it to their own place my friend. I have learned never to question or ignore my instincts and many times with amazing results.
Just so glad that we could get the bird before the dogs or other predators got to him.
Wherever he is, at least he is safe now.
Blessings and thank you!

Hi @papilloncharity.

Could you be so kind and add the link to the contest, somewhere in your post (it's one of the few rules we have)? The link is here: https://steempeak.com/behindthephoto/@nelyp/behind-the-photo-contest-edition-6

Thanks!

Ooops! I am indeed kind enough to add it my friend and done!
My apologies, as it is a first post.
Blessings and thank you!

You’re sensitive souls, bless your hearts.

I’m a bird lover, too, and am fortunate to live by the ocean.

Thank you for the kind words and glad that you also love the birds my friend.
Blessings!

Blessings, to you, too 🙏🏼

Congratulations, your post has been upvoted by @dsc-r2cornell, which is the curating account for @R2cornell's Discord Community.

Manually curated by @jasonmunapasee

r2cornell_curation_banner.png

Thank you kindly for the support @jasonmunapasee
Blessings!

It is amazing how animals know when you are there to help them, well done seeing the bird stressed out and getting it to the vet.

Elderly desperately need assistance, it is almost as if forgotten once placed into some homes.

Thank you Lady Loan and I think that whenever they are desperate that they are at their most vulnerable. I didn't take a photo of the couple with the 3 dogs that came along (not on leashes) as I had my hands full with the bird.
Glad that nothing got to him in the end.

My plan is simple. Fire up the elderly in the churches to visit the ones in the old age homes and I already have a few buy ins.
They are reserved people, but introductions will work wonders I hope.
Blessings and hope that you guys are all well.

Keep the old folks busy they learn to love going to visit making friends, arranging some to read to the very old helps them get through extremely long lonely days.

One thing my aunt who made 100 lamented was not being able to get out and see life on the move, still being active right to the end she used to read to those who no longer could. Her other great enjoyment was knitting, scraps of wool would be brought to her to help in making squares for blankets to hand out to those who never had.

Again you know exactly what I am talking about Lady Joan.
A rejuvenation of community love needs to be built here and we will start small as usual, but with the knowledge that the big picture is going to be difficult to sell. I have been given the one home to start with and watch this space as there are many others.
Blessings!

Start small is always easier, building love and trust back into a community is no easy task. People are suspicious of each other, some even jealous, most have little so working on a small base will give you time to explore how to maximize the effects.

Warms my heart to see someone caring enough to stop because of concern for a wild creature! I'm so happy you were able to help him!
May there be much more of that compassionate caring arise in the world which would make it a better place for all of us!

Thank you my friend and I am sure that you will do the same.
We pray that one day a huge wave of compassion will cover this world.
Blessings!

Bless you - we were just talking about how most humans has lost compassion - something that is suppose to be build into all of us without even thinking about it. So sad...

Thank you and that's exactly why I am doing these type of posts my friend.
In hope and prayer that compassion will be ignited again.
It is there, I know it, but it needs a rejuvenation.
Blessings to you guys!

Howdy sir papilloncharity! What a great deed that was, well done and good for you guys to tackle the old folks home issues!

All to God's glory my friend.
I am not being humble here when I say that we are nothing and that God is everything!
Blessings!

I understand sir papilloncharity and I agree!

👌 ❤️ 👌

Thank you my friend and glad that you liked the post!
Blessings!

 4 years ago  Reveal Comment