Only boats allowed to swim here now!

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

The intricacies of professional fishing!

Lockdown has closed the beaches to the joy of birds and boats, hahaha!


Image alt text

The intelligence of seabirds can never be underestimated!

We popped down to the ocean again today once the clouds have cleared. As the beaches are closed, we stood on the promenade and a very unusual sight was waiting for us. Where there are normally people swimming around, there was none, but in its place was a boat with twin Yamaha motors. But what was this guy doing? Come and have a look!


Image alt text

What? There's normally many children playing here in the shallows, but today there was this boat that confronted us! What was that guy doing with a lace curtain? Did his wife send him out to do the washing? Lol.


Image alt text

No, that was a net and the guys were catching small fish to use as fishing bait for the big fish. Keep an eye on that bird!


Image alt text

How's that? The bird scored a fish and he was off before the other birds saw him!


Image alt text

Right, they were done and preparing to take off on their trip!


Image alt text

I could have ended the post here and pray for big upvotes, but it's more important to do a decent post and to also show you some zoom power!


Image alt text

Look slightly to the right of the two fishermen at the left and you will see where the boat was at this stage!


Image alt text

Here's a closer look as the boat passed between two canoe fishermen. Zoom 1.


Image alt text

Another shot as the boat traveled into the distance!


Image alt text

A closer look at the boat. Zoom 2.


Image alt text

There's the boat at the tip of the fisherman on the left's fishing rod!


Image alt text

I closed in on the boat here for my final zoom. Zoom 3!


Image alt text

Finally, this guy has an inflatable and his bike on a trailer. What a way to be kitted out for some ocean fun.

This is the thing about living close to the ocean. One has the need to be properly geared up for all of the adventures, but it is frighteningly expensive. I can look on in amazement, as once before in my life I also had everything that my heart desired. But of course I was not a happy guy and it all fell away.

Now I have nothing, but I am happy??? Yes, I went flying, mountain climbing, surfing, fishing, rafting, camping, you name it. Too many adventures to mention and did many unbelievable and crazy things. But today I am only a shadow. A man that works in the background and that keeps to myself in my private time.

The one pleasure that I have is my camera, I don't drink or party, hardly ever go out to visit anyone and I am quite comfortable with my life. Of course the charity work keeps me going, but it is only the best way to keep myself busy. The thing is that I so wish that I had this same contentment earlier in my life. Is it sane to have nothing and to want nothing?

And That's All Folks

Note: All photos are my own, unedited and only cropped for uploading purposes. Camera used: Canon Powershot SX60HS

We hope that you have enjoyed the pictures and thank you for visiting a post by @papilloncharity

PHC-Footer-05.gif

signatureTeam South Africa banner designed by @bearone

steem verified!.png

Sort:  

Manually curated by ackhoo from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

A kind thank you for another nice surprise!
Blessings to you guys!

Definitely worthy of... 'some'..... upvotes! :D That's some zoom power!

How does that go now... ~ The more you have, the more you want, but the harder it is to grasp happiness... ?
How's about: The less you have, the less you want... probably the happier you are too... ?

Yeahhh, something like that... :) Have a happy day, my friend!

Thank you my dear friend.
A lesson well learned at last.

The less you have, the less you have to worry about and this allows you more time to be happy!

May you also have a good weekend!

Very wise and very true words Mr Papillon, what an awesome morning you had, makes me long for the beautiful Cape again!

So, I presume that you didn't go and hire a wheelchair yet?
You know that you are most welcome in the Cape anytime, covid or no covid.
I can even smuggle you in hahaha.
Stay well my friend.

Thanks for sharing your creative and inspirational post on HIVE!



This post got curated by our fellow curator @hafizullah and you received a 100% upvote from our non-profit curation service!

Join the official DIYHub community on HIVE and show us more of your amazing work!

Thank you kindly @diyhub and @hafizullah

You are welcome. :D

👌 💪 👌

Wow happy to see the seabirds around you.Though the lockdown is closed but it is not totally safe till now.So people are hesitate about going outside or not 🤣🤣

As long as masks are worn and there is no close contact it is safe outside my friend!

I love the beach scenes! Good to see a little bit of life returning to the beaches!

Strangely it doesn't seem to be like before and I think that this covid thing has a lot to do with it my friend.
We are anchored since that visit as water everywhere and the winds are not very friendly, but I am not complaining as I get out now and then at home here.