You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The many natural faces of the beach!

in OCD4 years ago

Circumstance and tradition holds them in my place my friend.
There are no better options for them anywhere else, as all of the prime land is occupied. Sad that what we regard as haggard is natural and home to them.
I think that we are in a similar situation regarding the middle class and this covid thing certainly hasn't improve matters.
Many small business owners lost it all due to the sudden lengthy shutdowns.

Sort:  

COVID-19 has certainly accelerated the gap-expansion between the social classes, although here classesis not really a term used despite there being distinct lines between them. I am of the middle class here, a working person, mortgage, modest savings and the expectation that I will need to work to retirement age and probably beyond. Many of my peers, other middle-classers, are falling away and back into what could be called lower-middle-class and beyond. Some rise, however that is not usually due to effort or strategic planning. Luck plays a hand, inheritance maybe too.

I'm not sure where it will lead, the middle-class decline, the closure of mum and dad businesses owned by the middle class and also upper-middle-class. I presume it will lead nowhere good and will see our economy and standard of living shrink back to that of other countries who have struggled with these issues for some time.

Thank you for responding.

A great worry indeed, as covid is destroying communities and the economy of many countries.
Ours was on the brink of a recession and bankruptcy even before it started. Now we are really in a hole.
Personally I have never considered retirement, as I will just continue until I drop.
We have no pensions in any case and if we had, the government would most likely have stolen it. Classes have always been a big issue here and lately the race thing is another match to the fire. Politicians now have much ammo to sow dissent between races in order to sweep the majority up to vote for them.

It is now 25 years since this new government is in place and they have very little to show for it.
But such is life and we carry on regardless!

Australia is not a perfect county but the more I hear about others I feel more content here. We have problems of course, but they are not as huge as other countries and I am glad to have been born here as opposed to other places. I guess it's what one gets used to though.

South Africa, this beautiful country is a mess and it's on its way to become a dump.
Corruption is the name of the game and now I my turn not to want to rant:)
So many of our people are emigrating to Aus that one of these day a SA province will jump up there lol.
I was saying to Galen that soon we will be playing rugby against ourselves hahaha.

Humanity likes to think its so clever, but in reality humanity is simply destructive. Progress to me isn't building skyscrapers whilst destroying that which came before.

I wonder if SA would be able to beat SA in the rugby? Call it a draw?

Hahaha, a good chirp about the SA vs SA.
Progress here is destroying a forest to replace it with shacks.
To improve the quality of a nearby river with tons of plastic, old car tyres, engine oils and other "healthy" goods. A sacrilege.

I wonder, although I shouldn't because it is a futile musing, where it may all stop. Of course, the answer is when it's all gone...Or humans are.