New Orca in the Hive pond (though not a very bright one...)

in OCD4 years ago

Today I crossed the threshold between Dolphin and Orca, and now there's a new Orca in the HIVE pond: Me!!

Orca
source: https://images.freeimages.com/

The first I heard of Steem was in the blog of @organduo, on his website http://organduo.lt. I created my Steem account 10th of may 2018 and due to the waiting period involved published my first post on Steem on 27th may 2018. It was my first experience with cryptocurrencies and actually I really did not understand what Steem was and how it all worked. I just hoped I could perhaps earn a little money with corssposting the publications on my website, http://partitura.org.

For some 10 months nothing really happened. I created new scores, posted them on my website, posted them on Steem, and made perhaps a few cents with each post. And then, after 10 months one of my postings got picked up by one of the curation trails, and suddenly the reward was about 20 times higher than I had previously seen on one of my posts. And I realised that even with a niche product like new scores of unknown organ music, it was possible to attract some attention. Though it does take time and patient persistence.

I got really interested in the platform, started reading more about it, and decided to invest a little in it. A year ago, on 10 May 2019, I had enlarged my Steem holdings to 593 SP. And on 27th of May 2019, a year after my first post, I I had bought some more and held 2268 SP. And my goal for my second year on Steem was: become a Dolphin.

Things went a little quicker than that. With 10 cents a Steem near the end of 2019 it was too tempting not to buy some more Steem. And of course, the creation of HIVE and the initial airdrop did help as well. In exactly two years after I created my Steem-account, and Within two years after my first post I now cross into 'Orcahood'.

image.png

And tough I am an Orca now, I'll readily admit I'm not the brightest one. My growth towards Orca could have gone even faster if I had realised 7 weeks ago that power downs are not additive. That's something I found out only just now. So I am in fact only powering down 25.000 SP instead of what I though I was doing: 10.000 + 25.000. Should have checked the numbers.

Now I have to decide which is better: continue the current power down or start a new one for everything that is left now. Guess I'll first pull all delegations and when that portion of my SP is back I'll decide on the the remainder of the power down.

Sort:  

Wow, congrats! Nice to reach such a milestone. I hope to become a Dolphin this year, so I'm pretty far behind...

Good luck with that. I am currently a minnow, but I am powering down. I already wrote the reason in another comment under this post.

Thanks!
If you're powering down on Steem and the price of Steem doesn't plunge to near zero you might come a long way to that goal. A few weeks ago, when the price of Steem was still high and the price of Hive low I thought I might become double Orca. Sadly though, in all reality, that dream is out of the window.

Sounds like me. Om also powering down but the strength of Hive and the weakness of Steem doesn't help. Still, it's nice to see Hive doing well/better than Steem.
Hive on!

Congratulations. I recently started powering down both on the Steem blockchain and on the Hive blockchain because of the lack of support from other users. I have been trying on the Steem blockchain since 2017.05.17 (almost for three years), but almost (often literally) no one cares about my posts, no matter what I do, what I try, what I post, what I write about. People do not care about my posts. Not even about my Steem Monsters/Splinterlands card giveaways. Even if the card is rare. And I am not alone. I see a lot of disappointed users. Many people left and still leaving the platform. Very disappointing and very discouraging. I have reached the minnow status, but that is all. I am mostly earning cents with my posts. There is no reason for me to power up.

Now I have to decide which is better: continue the current power down or start a new one for everything that is left now.

Looks like you are successful both on the Steem blockchain and on the Hive blockchain. You posted this 24 minutes ago, and there is already a pending payout of $3.36 on this post. If I were you, I would power up.

Thanks for the congratulations and sorry to read of your disappointment.
The first year on Steem my posts were hardly read. I guess what saved me from disappointment was that I expected nothing. And I spent hardly any time on Steem. I just crossposted the publications from my own website and was gone again.
It was only when one of my posts suddenly made $2 that I got interested in the platform itself. After that first succesful post, disappointment kicked in when succesive posts again got only a few cents.
What kept me on Steem was that I started particpating in some music contests and got to know some more organists on the platform. Without that participation I probably would have lost interest too.
So I guess the trick is finding someting interesting to do or to read about here on Hive/Steem. Well, that's what worked for me, can't speak for you of course.

I've considered staying on Steem as well, but decided against it. Participating in two blockchain I'd stretch myself a bit thin. Hive takes more than enough of my time already, so I'll stick with just Hive.

Well an ORCA is an ORCA no matter clever or not!!

Yep, that's true 😃

Congratulations @partitura! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 900 replies. Your next target is to reach 1000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Revolution - Mission 1 - Communication
Hive Revolution - Call for missions