You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Small town kitch and how many bees is too many? A look inside a hive

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

Wow, you got to see, learn and experience a lot during this trip. I totally understand your affection for bees, there is something fascinating about them for sure :) (I guess the transition from Steem to Hive must have been really easy for you :D)

Also, never heard of bat keeping and that one bat can eat 1000 mosquitos in one hour (sounds really incredible, was it really just one hour and not one day? :D)

Edit: Ha, just found this article, very interesting read...

Sort:  

Yes the transition was nice, I like the name "hive" better than "steem", it makes more sense to me at least. My obsession with bees probably has a lot to do with we only have a handful of native species including the large bumble-bee, most of them aren't from here but somehow survive our cold. The bat-keeping was definitely a first for me. I read the article, interesting read. I don't think there are very many long-term studies around them yet. At least here in Alberta anyway. It's all in progress. I can easily see 1000 "mosquito-size" insects being a thing, probably also depends what's on the menu, given our cold climate(there was still snow banks in some of the areas we visited, knee-deep in some places), we don't have as large of a variety of insects like other areas that are warmer, that may have a part to play with numbers too. we learned a lot of little things on this trip including some foraging and uses that I will get into in other posts, locals know so much and they live differently than we do here in the city. Very interesting I loved that town, I might consider moving there when the city outlives it's usefulness, it was a lovely trip.

DSC_5092 (2).JPG