SUPERNATURAL TWIST OF LANGUAGES

in OCD2 years ago

I have grown more in love with local languages in recent years. First, because it amazes me how creative God can be and how He can never be stranded in difficult times. And second, because it's beautiful to just listen to the twist and turns of the lips to words you can't make meaning to.

FB_IMG_1656372544987.jpg

Growing up, I liked English language, because I was afraid of being identified by my tribe the moment I opened my mouth to speak, so I had to learn to speak right. But recently, I care not😀. If you don't already know I am from Akwa Ibom, I might mix a little Ibibio for you 🤣 (well, not officially though).

I was singing some worship songs the other day while going about my chores and a beautiful Ibibio song came to mind so I sang it. It really hit differently. It struck a deeper cord because 'the meaning was more meaningful than what I could say in English' 😂. It gave me a clearer understanding to what I was saying than the English I was trying to sugarcoat for God.

There are certain things said in local dialects that you find difficult to translate in English. Sometimes, we try to find a variant but it doesn't do justice to the original word. There are even some words used in the original bible that the English translation didn't do justice to.

Is this post to discredit English?
Of course not. It's a wonderful language too.
What I'm saying is, local dialects are beautiful too, even to God.

Our parents prayed in their dialects and they didn't die😅.

It's not every time you try to polish your English before God, when 'Jehovah Mmudim' would have been just perfect for the job.

Yes, God already understands what you are trying to say, but e get some kind words you say and you feel relieved😅, like you've struck the main cord. And if it is in a local dialect, why not?

It's ok if English is the only language you understand, don't feel bad, use it. But if you understand any local dialect, I think you should try it in your quiet time with God.

You can take a break from the 'iko mbakara' and just say, 'atad owo ataha ofong nkin obufa abasi'. You'll see how He'll be smiling. Ok, now use your own 😀.

God understands your local dialect and it'll just be beautiful to use it with Him. It might even help your understanding and prayer life.

I hope you got value.
JESUS LOVES YOU. I LOVE YOU TOO.

Sort:  

Hi @promo-nigeria and congrats for working hard in order to improve your English language skills. I know what it means as English is not my first language either.

However, I think this post would be better in the Self Improvement community, where you can motivate those willing to improve.

OCD is for topics that don't fit anywhere else.

I see you're new, so here's the list of communities we have on Hive

https://peakd.com/communities