Inglourious Basterds's "Gorlami" Scene 3D Fanart

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

It's already Monday and I've had the ants in my pants since morning before I even woke up yet but the peeps on Artstation haven't announced the contest brief. Apparently it's because I live 8 hours in the future I'll have to stay calm until 9.00 pm my local time.

So, I have got time to finish the Inglourious Basterds fanart and share it here. Though, this is probably gonna be one of my works that won't make it to my portfolio. But anyway, here it is, the infamous "Gorlami" scene...

"Gorlami" scene final render




One thing I noticed only recently is how Lt. Raine gave away his disguise at his very first word in his conversation with Hans Landa by saying "Buon giorno" which means "Good morning" in English, while the scene happened during the evening.

Being a quirky villain, Instead of announcing "I know you're a spy! Surrender yourselves!" and apprehended the Basterds right away, Hans Landa decided to be like, now I know they are American spies, but I'm gonna have fun with them anyway, hehe. And went on with the "Gorlami" scene, which I find brilliant.


Realtime preview with EEVEE render engine


The dialogue piece written on the red background is the second idea for it. Initially, I would have put the dialogue in speech bubbles, which left the red background either too empty or with a big swastika symbol, which didn't look all that good for the scene.

The original title uses the font Egyptian Wide, but I used its free alternative instead--Fette Egyptienne--which can be found here. And no, I'm not Italian so I had to look it up to put the Italian version of that piece of dialogue.


Aldo de la Gorlami hi-poly model

Hans Landa hi-poly model

I'm pretty happy with the sculpts, but not as much with the texturing. I'm quite confused as to how can I practice texturing more often because texturing is 2 to 3 stages ahead of sculpting, not including the concept rating, which can be quite a long process before I get to that.


First iteration for the final render

Initially, I thought I'd make Aldo does that Italian approval hand gesture then everything suddenly Italian like the Basterds did in the movie, but that makes Aldo's knife won't have a spot in this rendered scene.

All in all, it turned out not as stylized as I imagined, but I'll carry on everything I have learnt from working on this fanart to the next ones.

But but butt! 🍑 For the next one, I hope I can write a story about the character again and let's see if my writing is improving or not. So when you do visit my post again, I suppose you might want to prepare for a headache.

Arrivederci~






                            


Art commission info:
Character Portrait | 3D Print-Ready Model


©️ 2020 Rain | All Rights Reserved
Sort:  

This is very cool ! 3D art is now evolving and much more realistic. I remember finding how to draw 3D was like finding a cool magic back then.

Thank you ^^
Do you do 3D art too? Good for you that your first impression was magical, for me the sight of the software's interface was very daunting and can be demotivating because of how difficult it was at the start.

I did in the past. As of now, I do art for fun only :D I think it would be nice if I ever take that more seriously.

How is the glove not falling down? XD

As cute as the hand gesture is I think it's much cuter and a bit better balanced with both of them very obviously hiding weapons behind their backs :)

I donno I think it's kind of smart to not let on immediately that you know who your opponent is when they don't know that you know, you might be able to find out more stuff that way xD

If you want to practise texturing more you can either download someone's free models and just practise texturing, or you can just keep doing little projects and picking things up as you go.

Alternately you can be a dumbarse like me and learn things while working on a big project x_x but doing it any other way is more sensible XD

theglove.png

In the movie the glove is partially slipped under the belt, but I guess it's just because it's too afraid of the punishment of falling down...

I agree that it's better to keep them hiding weapons, not obvious canonically but obvious to the viewer.

Hmmm doing small projects sounds nice, but downloading someone's models might be faster to get into it...
I think I'll be smart and choose to keep working on big projects! XD

LoL!

The good things about learning on big projects is that you're working on the big project. The bad thing about learning on the big projects is you'll get a good way through, then your skill level will suddenly jump dramatically, and then you have to decide whether you are able to fix your old models up to your new standard/level of ability or if it will be easier to scrap it and start again.

I've lost count of the number of times that has happened now but fortunately I seem to have plateaud somewhat as skill jumps are not as drastic these days and I can probably get away with not fixing things I notice (but I do anyway because reasons).

Another neat illustration! It looks pretty great, and that use of the red backdrop for the dialogue is a neat use of the available space to make the scene more wholesome! It's been a while since I last watched Inglorious Basterds, but out of all the scenes, this is one that I've remembered fondly. I cracked up when I heard Brad Pitt's heavy American accent trying to speak in Italian XD

Thanks! I'm glad I decided to make use of the red background that way rather than slapping a big swastika over it. I'm not a language expert, let alone accent expert, but the first time I watched that scene and hearing Brad Pitt's hilarious dialogue I couldn't stop laughing. I could see the "By the gods, I'm so fucked!" on von Hammersmark's face XD

Lol, and all it took was "Bonjourno" with that thick American accent to get literally get me rolling on the floor laughing 🤣

👋 Hi @rainite, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community

I've been browsing there quite a bit, maybe I'll post there too sometimes... :>

a very successful drawing. congratulations. I watch your work with excitement..

Thank you very much ^^