My Mysterious Character Challenge Progress: Brainstorming, Sculpting, and Laughing

in OCD4 years ago (edited)

2000+ challengers and counting. I think it’s safe to assume that a lot of these challengers are humans.
Yea, I mean a lot of these challengers are ranging from a hobbyist who wants to win a new tablet, to an art student who’s looking to challenge his artistic skill, to a professional character artist who joins the contest in their spare time from working on their company’s tasks.

8-bit music starts playing
"A wild Nobody appeared!"

The contest has 5 categories, the 4 other categories only have around 100 - 800 challengers, and here I am barging into the Character Design category with 2000+ well-prepared challengers like nobody's business.


Mischievous: The Jester WIP hi-poly sculpt




Brought to you by MSI, Wacom, Procreate, Adobe, KitBash 3D, and Infinite Painter, Artstation presents: Lightbox Expo: Box of Mystery, a mysterious world where creativity is the way!

That is the theme of the challenge. The good news is, it lasts for 6 weeks!

That's a lot of time to thoughtfully design my character to the best of my--

...But the task is to make 6 characters!

Well...
shit


The challenge is to design 6 unique characters with predetermined archetypes; 1 leader, 1 brave, 1 joyful, 1 mischievous, 1 serious, and 1 wild character. That's one chara per week. Here I am with my problem with working within a short deadline. What a time to be alive!

But but butt! This is a challenge after all. If it's easy then what's so cool about it, right? Do you find breathing awesome? Exactly. Maybe this is also to challenge myself to work within tight deadline, but either way I'll jump in anyway. I'll whip myself if I have to.

So here's the result of the first 5 lashes...


DONT LAF!

I decided to start with the mischievous character, and he is a jester. A demonic, twisted jester with a maniacal laugh and evil jokes and tricks.

That's because I've been wanting to make a jester character lately, and I thought it's a good idea to start where my best interest lies. Though that's a very rough sketch and only one perspective, it does get the juice to flow better. Here's the keywords for the whole characters.


I find actually moving your hand to write rather than to type feels different. But still couldn't bring myself to write the whole backstory

The title for my submission is called The Damned Throne Room. The story behind the characters is a story of betrayal in the kingdom. Specifically, as the name suggests, within the throne room. Hence the list of the chosen characters. It says one of the ideas is "villains", but it's actually more of heroes turned villains in the unfortunate circumstances rather than a group of evil created for the sake of being evil.

Did the jester kill the king? What was his motives? What sort of conflict within the throne room did this jester get himself into? Or perhaps they are cursed by the true evil being behind the curtain? Who is the real traitor to the crown?

Possible story writing will possibly, very possibly come after I finish the challenge, so... who wants to read my newbie broken engrish fiction again? Yaaay! Anyone? No?Just me?


First Iterations


He looked ridiculous with that WWE belt-looking thing I deleted it twice

This is the first iteration of the Jester and a little progress of how he got there, quite different from my awkward sketch as you can see, but still followed the general guidelines from it... if there was any guideline at all.

I wanted to make him look as creepy as I can without crossing the border into SCP-ish type of nightmare.

I know this one is still a very rough WIP, but when I imagined its final look he'll look just like any other jester. So, I decided to undertake this experiment and made him look like the...


Second Iterations

This was the first design idea of the second iteration. I couldn't get the idea of "a face should be on the head!" out of my head so I couldn't get ahead... head. So I kept it that way.

Butt! I find it kind of a bad design decision because:

  1. It makes the face on his torso looks shoehorned there.
  2. It's forcing the viewer to be able to move each of their eyes to different directions like a chameleon in order to divide their attention to two main focuses.

I mean, I'm not saying I'm excluding chameleons from viewing my work here, but--

I fixed it by making the mask on his head to look a lot simpler so everyone's happy.



At first I was worried if this look strayed too far from being mischievous despite my fascination towards this idea more, but thanks to the cool peeps at ArtBees for the feedbacks, I'm certain this will look more interesting.

He's more demonic, nightmarish, unpredictable, and seems like the punchline of his jokes will end up in blood.

And he's also more mysterious! Is the creepy face on his torso his real face? What happened to his face face? Is it alive? His shirt is alive? Or is it just a prop? Who knows. And I have plans to make his humanly arms look less like a normal human.




All view

This is the final look of the second iteration, which will likely make it to the final result. More things will be added as it's not final because sculpting is not the only process in 3D modelling, you know? You think the computer does all the things for you?! Fight me biotch I'll beat you up with my broken mouse!!1!11!!1

Anyway, that's pretty much the main things that I have in mind for this one. I'm pretty excited about this contest, especially knowing that my tablet will arrive soon, so wish me luck!

If you have any questions, feedbacks, criticism, etc, feel free to leave them in the comment section below. But don't leave your chameleon eyeballs there, I don't want that.


I thought his mask was creepy until I moved it and saw what was underneath





                            


Art commission info:
Character Portrait | 3D Print-Ready Model


©️ 2020 Rain | All Rights Reserved
Sort:  

Fight me biotch I'll beat you up with my broken mouse!!1!11!!1

Come at me breh!!! and I mean you, not the clown, that shit's scary!!!

I loved the detail of the hidden face beneath the mask, I feel like the psycho jester trope is really overused but yours somehow seems really flesh... It has an SCP Fundation vibe, LOVE IT!!

Thanks, man! I suppose it's from that face on his chest that he looks a little bit more fresh, which I'm glad I did. I hope it'll impress the judges tho.

Also, if that's the case then I'll come at you with the clown then lol

Hahaha there's a software named Procreate?
ahem

Dude this is really cool. Can't wait to see those other characters. That face-in-torso is a fine idea.

Hahaha, yeah, but I don't have this thing it operates exclusively on, which is iPad?
ahem

Thank you! I think the face-in-torso is the boldest thing I've done with designing characters. And hey, don't you want to join the contest? :>

I did go through the challenge, but now that you mention it, okay I'll join in. This is probably the boldest thing I'd be doing.

4-bit music starts playing
"A wild absolutely Nobody has appeared!"

Congratulations @rainite! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1750 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 2000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Do you remember that conversation we had a hundred million years ago where I told you that everyone wants to do characters and to absolutely pursue it with everything you have if that's what you want to do but as far as getting a job goes you might have to get a foot in the door doing the "less interesting" stuff and slowly weasel your way into characters? Now you see why? :D

I reckon if the Splinterlands Twisted Jester card wasn't somewhat family friendly it would look like this xD

I reckon putting the face on the shirt and having the jester wear a mask (or is it actually a mask? Dun dun DUUUUUUUUN) looks much cooler than the two faces or even that face as the face :D

How high poly is your high poly sculopt? Dammit I need to hurry up and fix my two sculpt meshes and then start a new one in Blender so I can see where my lumps are coming from! (still having lumpiness issues in the one I'm currently working on but they're actually smoothing out with some effort unlike in 3dC where I just could not figure that out).

Looking pretty kickass so far :D

Possible story writing will possibly, very possibly come after I finish the challenge, so... who wants to read my newbie broken engrish fiction again?

Me, me, me! On the subject of our jester friend here, he looks pretty fantastic, and another one of your great 3D models! And by fantastic, I mean I absolutely hate him/her/it. This is going to give me nightmares, so please fuck off and stay far away, Mr. Jester 😖.

I wanted to make him look as creepy as I can without crossing the border into SCP-ish type of nightmare.

Speaking for myself at least, you've failed 😆! He definitely looks like one of those SCPs that'll really put a Game Over sign over you right quick, if you were to make contact. I'm glad you brought SCP into this though, since I'll be needing to call up the Foundation to start containing him right away... Secure. Contain. Protect.

👋 Hi @rainite, I was flipping through the blockchain and stumbled on your work! You've been upvoted by Sketchbook / a community for design and creativity. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon.

Join the Sketchbook Community