You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My personal and Witness introduction to the Hive community

in OCD โ€ข 3 years ago

Very nice post @quochuy! I am reading it for the first time. Love to see good families. Looking at a map of where Wyoming is (one of my favorite states here ... ๐Ÿ˜‰) I see it is not far from where I visited Australia in the late 1980s. Very memorable ...

In looking through my current list of Witness votes, post HF 25, I freed up a couple. And I have now voted the MVests over which I have control in support of you being one of our all-important witnesses.

All the best to you and your loved ones, for a better tomorrow! ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ™‚

Sort: ย 

Hi @roleerob, thanks for having read this post and considered my witness, much appreciated.
Up until I moved here, I didn't know there was a Wyoming outside of USA ๐Ÿ˜… and actually, this is the case even for many Australian outside of my region (the Central Coast).

Interesting to know you were aware of Wyoming, the state here in America @quochuy. As an American, I am not really aware of how well known our states may be to the rest of the world. Wyoming is very sparsely populated, but has some of the most beautiful mountain scenery in our country.

My visit there, in the late 80s, was to Wyong, which is just north of you. So ... Wyoming ... Wyong ... I do not know the Australian origin of these names and if there is any link, given they both start with Wyo ...

I'm not even sure where I know Wyoming from, probably movies or documentaries. Maybe docos about the Yellowstone National Park.

I did some research:

Wyoming gets its name from a green valley in northeast Pennsylvania originally purchased from the Iroquois by a Connecticut land company. An Ohio congressman in 1865 first proposed the nameโ€”but later, after he saw our dry, wide plains, he wasn't so sure he'd had the right idea.

It derived its name from an Aboriginal word meaning โ€œplace of running water.โ€ The town of Wyong was proclaimed in 1888.

Very good to know. Appears, as is often the case, the native people were the source of these names. Interesting that a short name - Wyong - somehow represented "place of running water" to them! ๐Ÿ™‚

And "green valley?" Well, I have personally traveled over just about every section of paved road in the state of Wyoming and ... Yes, the Ohio congressman you cite had reason for his second guessing himself ... ๐Ÿ˜

Thanks for the exchange! ๐Ÿ‘ All the best to you and your loved ones, for a better tomorrow! ๐Ÿš€๐Ÿ™‚